We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2014

A group of us stayed at the Sheraton in Athlone last weekend to celebrate my mum's birthday and to enjoy some retail therapy. The facilities in the hotel were great but what made our stay so enjoyable were the fabulous staff that we met. All the staff we met were so genuinely welcoming, friendly and professional - it was a level of hospitality that we have not encountered anywhere else. A special word of thanks to Ciara and the bar staff who looked after us so well and who organised a surprise personalised dessert for my mum on saturday afternoon. We enjoyed our stay so much that we have already re booked to go back again during the mid term break with our families. Can't wait.
Susan

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,973)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,178 - 1,184 of 1,976 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed for three nights.Requested a room with a view but unfortunately we were not allocated one and had to pay for an upgrade. The room was clean ,spacious and we had a view of the town.The staff was friendly and the service excellent. Breakfast was excellent with a good selection of food.If we are in the area again we have have no hesitation in staying in the Sheraton .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DD10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Myself and my husband had our wedding reception in the Sheraton in August. The whole weekend was amazing. The staff were just fantastic they catered to our every need.Bedrooms were perfect and food was delicious. Such a fabulous hotel. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwren13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Just spent a night at the Sheraton. Room on the 8th floor was lovely. Bathroom was spotlessly clean with a very luxurious finish. No minibar in the room. Ate in the hotel restaurant which was very reasonably priced for a delicious meal (2 starters, 2 mains and a glass of wine for €50). Staff were very friendly yet professional. Leisure centre was lovely but there was children's swimming lessons on in the morning which meant there was alot of noise and half of the pool was occupied by them. Great location for shopping or casual dining with The Athlone Shopping Centre attached to the hotel. All round it was a very enjoyable stay. A really lively spot!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank aoifebunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We waited to be seated for 5 minutes as there was nobody around to greet us even though we could see a couple of staff sitting around. When two waiters turned up at the same time they apologised for keeping us waiting. We were seated and bread and a jug of water were served to us immediately. The meal was enjoyable and even though there was no vegetarian option on the set menu ,the waiter checked with the chef on what he/she could make me, it turned out to be a vegetable stir fry with rice. we were a party of four and none of us had a complaint about the food , it was just the surroundings. We were the only customers in the restaurant so there was no atmosphere at all. Then a few people started coming in carrying trays of food and we discovered they were coming from The Harvest Cafe which is situated on the same floor and has its own seating but for some reason they chose to sit in the restaurant. Quite a few people passed through as we ate our meal and I felt it was an odd set - up. Either you pay to dine in the restaurant or you pay to eat in the cafe. Our waiter was lovely and friendly whilst we ate but when it came to paying the bill we couldn't find him. I describe it as a strange experience because I don't think they are used to customers coming in and being waited on , just the customers who arrive in from the adjoining cafe. I expected more from a Sheraton Hotel and it was a hit or miss experience for me. I would not bother coming here again but would find a nice little cafe of which there are many in Athlone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed here recently with a friend & I would recommend it totally as staff were
friendly & helpful. Rooms were so spacious & comfortable, we got a particularly nice room on Level 4 with a beautiful view over athlone & all this for a very good rate for a one night stay.
The complimentary parking is also a bonus!
Perfect Stay

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

I recently spent 1 night in the Sheraton sharing a triple room with two friends.
When we checked in, reception was far from busy but we were not asked had we stayed in hotel before or were we familiar with the facilities.
We were not told what time breakfast was served at, where the leisure centre was or any of the basic information you would expect. The room was lovely.
There were only towels for two people as a triple room is a twin room wid a camp bed added. I might add the camp bed has a superior mattress which is very comfy. I rang looking for extra towels which took ages to arrive.
We did not eat dinner in hotel but breakfast next morning was excellent.
However another disappointment next morning when we got up early to use leisure centre only to be told the lights were not working and it was therefore out of commission.
Having stayed here on a number of occasions before, I won't be going out of my way to visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eimear99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,191 reviews
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
3.4 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: £60 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing