We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent....”
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
kusadasi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent....”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Arrived evening time to Sheraton hotel. Reception staff were friendly and fast. When I got to my room I found it a little cold so I rang reception. They sent me housekeeping staff (shenaide) who put on heating for me and put extra blanket in bed for me. Room was hot after 10minutes :-) . She was very attentive. Shower very good in toilet and very clean. Reception lady was very nice the next morning. ( Natasha) . Friendly and clean hotel :-)

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Fuat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,126
    480
    147
    43
    25
See reviews for
371
715
53
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Can not praise this hotel highly enough. We had a family occasion a birthday. 15 went for dinner the food and service were both top class.the staff are very friendly and welcoming.food was amazing and excellent value for money. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maidymhughes100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs. UK.
Level Contributor
654 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Modern hotel in centre of Athlone, linked to shopping centre. Contemporary rooms as you would expect in a Sheraton. Choice of restaurants - I had dinner in the main restaurant, food was just ok, vegetables overcooked. On the plus side service was excellent, staff were efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just back from 24 hours in athlone, but actually never left the environs of the Sheraton. Parked car then checked into a beautifully quiet and spacious room on the tower block of the hotel. It took two lifts to get there, a minor inconvenience for the exclusive feel. From free parking in the hotel, easy access to a giant shopping centre, a wonderful and lively bar area including live music and topping it all off in a very reasonably priced culinary wonderland aka La Provence Restaurant. The food was out of this world. My wife had a smoked salmon roulade with pesto on the side to start while I had mushroom soup. The mains were salmon again with a mango dressing and I had the venison with red onions and the usual addition of mash and veg. Fish is fish, meat is meat, veg is veg, but what they did with it to make the flavours just jump out and turn your tastebuds on their heads. The wine list was also very good. You couldn't make a wrong move. The staff in the hotel and restaurant also go out of their way to be very pleasant and helpful. I can't wait to go back and would recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed with friends in December and while the location was absolutely perfect I felt that it was a pity the service and quality did not match.

There seemed to be a wedding coming in to the hotel on the day that we were there (we did not see the bridal party arrive however) - I am not sure I would like it as a wedding venue ... entrance not 'special' and parking would be a nightmare for all guests I would think.

Bar drinks overpriced - I felt. Ordered glass of wine and, without being given any options to select from, bar staff automatically proceeded to pour what I think was the most expensive glass of wine. Luckily I stopped the pouring before it was too late and asked for a more reasonable (but still not cheap) glass. Because of this I did not enjoy it like I would usually enjoy a nice glass of wine.

The bar is very 'open' .. right inside the main entrance and not cut off from all the foyer traffic. As the hotel is joined to the shopping centre, there were lots in for coffees - place very crowded (good for business) and a little loud to be able to enjoy a relaxed drink.

I did not eat here on this occasion but have done in the past - fish very undercooked to the point that the chef himself came out to apologise and the meal was not charged for. I completely appreciate that these things can happen in businesses such as hotels ... it is not always possible to get it 100% right. It was very busy that day and I am sure that there was lots of pressure in the kitchen. To be fair - the situation was handled very well and staff were lovely about it.

Parking is in the shopping centre carpark - that is not a problem at all - it is conveniently accessible from the hotel.

Rooms lovely - spacious, clean and comfortable.

Would I recommend? For location I certainly would - no doubt. For bedrooms - yes also. Not so sure about the rest though.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlanesTrainsAutos09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

A BIG thankyou to Daniel Downey who so kindly arranged, got a quote and booked our taxi to see my wonderful Aunt in Brideswell Nursing Home, and who also stored our luggage for us, the Taxi driver was very kind a total professional and also came and collected us from the Nursing Home as we didn't have a car and getting there in the lashing rain without public transport would have been near impossible! also a big thanks to the lovely reception girls who also helped us this hotel and its staff are a shining example in these times when shoddy service seems to be the norm have recommended you all to my friends and family in London the USA and Australia

Maureen Downing and Paul Dunlop from London UK

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maureen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lifford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Excellent Hotel, outside appearance does not do this hotel justice. Interior is tastefully decorated and very welcoming. Staff very helpful & courteous. Rooms were very spacious and had all the mod cons and more with the ceiling to floor windows a standout feature! Ate in the bar on our first night and food was of a very good standard for bar food. On our second night we booked and ate in the main restaurant. Food, service and ambiance of the restaurant were excellent and would definitely be recommended. Overall a thoroughly enjoyable stay and will return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adagio989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.4 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Property: Sheraton Athlone
Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing