We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheraton Athlone
Nearby Hotels
US$331
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Athlone Springs Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Prince of Wales Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creggan Court(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Cooneys Hotel(Ballymahon)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,075)
Filter reviews
2,075 results
Traveller rating
1,289
536
164
54
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,289
536
164
54
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshopping centreharvest cafetower roomsla provence restaurantdeluxe roomfloor to ceiling windowslovely hotelhotel barcentral locationleisure facilitiestop classbar foodstayed here for two nightslovely roomwould highly recommend this hotelspa treatmentslast weekend
Filter
Updating list...
1,226 - 1,231 of 2,075 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here during the bank holiday weekend. We really enjoyed our stay.

If you are going to stay in Athlone it is worth paying a few quid more to stay here, conveniently located in the centre of Athlone, free parking in the multi-storey car park is available for guests.

The Sheraton is part of the Athlone Town Centre Development, built on top of the shopping centre itself, another shopping centre (Golden Island Shopping Center) is a 10 minute walk away. 2 nightclubs are located 5 minutes from the hotel. The best bars are located a 10 minute walk away across the bridge. No taxis are required staying here.

The hotel building is brand new, there are proper 4 star rooms which have a contemporary feel, there is a seprate shower and bath, air conditioning is provided which works perfectly (i have a thing about fans and air conditioning) it is one of the few 4* hotels which actually has it and it works, if you want to heat up or cool down the room, it can be done in a matter of minutes. Also there is ventilation in the bathroom which makes a change from many hotels which I have stayed in recently.

The room had a nice tv entertainment system and good wifi. I cant fault the rooms. We stayed i the tower on the upper floors, our room had a great view of Lough Ree it was quiet as well.

The hotel staff are nice and helpful, the food is ok in the bar, there is a cafe located in the basement of the hotel, part of the shopping centre, it has an all day carvery, soup sandwiches, cakes etc..

Suggested itineraries; go go shopping for the day or take a cruise up Lough Ree and use the hotel leisure centre to unwind, go for dinner in Kin Khao, a Thai Restaurant across the river, this is located in Athlones version of Temple Bar, all the best bars are located near the restaurant i.e. Sean's bar, Maguires which serves craft beers amongst others, this is the area to go to at night.

There is the Piano Bar and Karma Nightclubs to go for a dance later in the night which are located near the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

If Ireland were a diamond ring, the Sheraton Athlone would be the 2 carat sparkling diamond perched proudly in the centre. Having travelled extensively and stayed in every type and class of hotel I am rarely surprised, but this hotel has left me astounded. Quite simply because they do everything right.
From the moment we arrived we were given a masterclass of good old fashioned Irish hospitality. Everybody was so warm, friendly, helpful and genuinely interested in our enjoyment of all the hotel had to offer and could not have possibly have done anymore for us. No corners were cut as regards personable and genuine interaction with guests.
Yes, the true magic of the Sheraton Athlone is it's staff. But the hotel itself is a very close second. It is immaculately clean, perfectly adorned and decorated and our room was so relaxing we didn't want to leave. The beds are seriously comfortable, it's just as well I don't have one at home or I would have way too many black marks for being late into work ! There is a wonderful, solid, classy feel to this hotel and it permeates throughout. The pool and communal facilities were spotless. Even Sean, the guy at the leisure club desk was ultra friendly and full of chat.
There were several high points to our visit, but the highlight has to be the dinner we enjoyed in the Provence restaurant. The menu is very eclectic and nicely seasonal and local. Lots of nice seafood touches which suited us. Though one member of our company had the excellent steak. We were treated so well and a very big mention goes to Ozz our very funny waiter and all round good bloke.
I could not recommend the Sheraton Athlone any more highly. Suffice to say we have a new favourite hotel and town in Ireland and will be back very soon. Please refer to my other recent reviews for more info on Athlonian hostelries. Thanks to all the staff at the Sheraton for making our visit very special and memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up and towards the back of the hotel. though I do think all rooms here are good. We were in 311 and it's super spacious and very quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank irishrover8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel was a pleasure to stay in. Reception was friendly and efficient, the rooms were spotless and the food in both La Provence Restaurant and the breakfast room was excellent. I didn't get to use the spa but it looked terrific.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We went there for Valentines weekend (2014), the design of the hotel is really nice, great for holidays and for business, the staff of the hotel is really nice, the food was great,
We used our Starhot discount so the price was more the amazing, over all really recommend this hotel,
Also a friend of mine went there for stag party said it was a great hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naomi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

After a long overnight drive from London, three of us turned up at reception without any booking, greeted with warmth and great professionalism by the staff. Quickly had us accommodated in three rooms together on the same floor in the tower. Rooms were pristine and modern, very large comfortable beds, ample desk space and wired internet connection along with pretty fast free wireless connection for keeping up with work. Bathroom was spacious with good range of toiletries and ample new towels.Shower was excellent. Great views from the ceiling to floor windowed wall out over the Shannon.

We stayed for three nights in May 2014 in order to attend a funeral and it was a nice haven to come back to each night. Ample secure parking in the underground car park.

We only had the buffet breakfast here each morning, and it was always hot, fresh and tasty. A good range of cold meats, cereals and fruit also.

If I were to be picky, it would be the lack of bottled water in the rooms, but there were plenty of vending machines dotted about nearby ,otherwise highly recommended.

Room Tip: the higher up the Tower ...the better the view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBK_Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews