We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming ... but cold!”
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2008

Stayed here with my wife over a long weekend. For a five star hotel it fell short of the standard required. Our room (in the tower) was...well...roomy...and nicely equipped... with fantastic views from a long glass window....but when the temperature dropped outside, the heating inside couldn't cope. We asked for a heater; it never arrived. Also got a bit tired each evening of having to request from room service the small stuff house-keeping had forgotten; soap, tissues, etc.
Breakfast good; evening meal no better than average. The ``Irish'' cheese selection turned out to be chunks of smoked cheddar fresh from the fridge.
Staff all friendly; if not always competent in English. My lasting impression: an expensive, stylish, but chilly hotel.

Stayed: October 2008
1  Thank JDROFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,959)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,873 - 1,879 of 1,959 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2008

This is our second time staying here.
We stayed back at the start of the summer just after the hotel had opened and re booked for a get away week end.

It was just as good as we remembered the pool and the rooms are still fab.
We only had breakfast in the hotel as we went down the town for dinner but it was delicious.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerandMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2008

We stayed in th Sheraton, Athlone over the bank holiday weekend as part of a group of 8 people, occupying 4 Rooms. In general, the hotel was fine, very clean & centrally located within the town. The rooms were very nice, some with very good views of the Shannon etc. Our first negative comment would have to be on the difficulty of actually finding the hotel once you got into the basemet carpark shared with the Town Centre shopping complex. A few random A4 paper signs sellotaped to columns & walls wereas good as it got.
When you actually got into the hotel, it was very disjointed, in that you couldn't get on one lift & travel between the rooms & the carpark/shops. A journey between our room & the carpark involved 3 lifts & a lot of walking in between, not at all ideal for parents of young children or people of limited mobility.
There seems to be a policy of not replenishing the consumables in the bathrooms of the rooms during a 2 night stay, I have never come across this before, & if it is a policy, its pathetic! On the day after our 1st nights stay, our room was cleaned, shampoo, shower gel, tissues & toilet paper were not replaced despite the fact that they were needed, this was repeated in the rooms of other members of our party also, which signifies that it wasn't an oversight.
We ate in the hotel on one of the nights, and the food was quite good. Breakfast was an altogether different experience! On the first morning, the hotel was very busy as it was the Bank Holiday weekend & there was a wedding the previous day. The experience started with a 10 minute queue to be shown a table, the dining room was far too hot, at a guess 30 degrees. There were far too few waiting staff to deal with a dining room at capacity. When you did manage to collar a waitress to ask about the lack of orange juice, lack of fruit, lack of cup & saucer on your table, the standard line appeared to be " My colleague is getting it" In most cases, that colleague didn't arrive!
They seemed to be totally overwhelmed by the volume of people expecting to be fed which shouldn't be the case as we were all registered guests of the hotel. There were a lot of frustrated patrons airing their views to reception & management staff on Sunday morning.
In summary, while its a nice hotel, well located, we won't be back

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayoJoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2008

Had to go to Athlone recently for the night and decided i would try out the new Sheraton. I was a little worried as it is still a fairly new hotel that there may still be some teething issues. Nothing could be farther from the truth.
Everything was fantastic. Checked in at lunch time and went straight to the lovely open plan bar for lunch. The food was delicious and the service attentive.
After this headed to the spa and availed of their great express treatment deal, 2 mini treatments for €80.00. I got a massage and pedicure and it was just what I needed. The spa is spacious, the relaxation room.. I could have stayed there all day.
The bedrooms are lovely, beds really comfy. The separate bath and shower is great aswell.
What I thought was quite unique was that the audio from the tv can be turned on in the bathroom, so you can listen to your favourite radio show whilst showering!
Staff on reception at both check in and check out were very polite and friendly and efficient.
I enjoyed my stay so much I have already booked by next one!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nellypizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2008

A few of us checked in here to explore area for a weekend out as well as shop.Were not sorry on any account, rooms were fantastic and food gorgeous.Shopping in Athlone was magic with great choices. A day trip to Clonmacnoise is a must and not that far away .would recommend anytime.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank asdukey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2008

Stayed in the Sheraton in Athlone last weekend. It was my first time staying in a Sheraton and I was impressed. The staff was efficient and friendly and I really liked the decor - modern and tasteful. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom spacious with a separate bath and shower. There is internet access from the bedrooms and from the free internet pods in the lobby. The location is very central and the hotel was easy to find and easy to park in. The hotel is attached to the new shopping centre in Athlone so between that and the spa and pool, I was happy!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbug33Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2008

This is a gem of a hotel, in the heart of town and a stone's throw from the banks of the Shannon.
Ovreall, the decor is very tasteful, colourful and upmarket. Our bedroom was plush and spacious and the beds were something else! Our bathroom was extremely sleek - clearly no expense was spared in the finish. The staff was very friendly and discreet. The breakfast was lovely with lots of choice. You line up for your cooked breakfast which is a great idea as it means you can choose exactly what (and how much!) you want. The grub was great, a particular highlight was the scrambled eggs - they were were deliciously creamy. I didn't make it to the spa but I have to say I really enjoyed my visit to the pool - it's so new, spotlessly clean and has lovely water jets, a good sized kids pool and a HUGE jacuzzi. The pool's dressing rooms are totally cool, complete with glossy hot-red high-tech lockers and lots of power showers. I will definitely go there again for a night away from it all.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmerB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,164 reviews
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.4 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: £63 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing