We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge hotel with a really nice ambiance.”
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Arras, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Huge hotel with a really nice ambiance.”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a seriously big hotel but the staff are so helpful and friendly that there is an atmosphere of a small personal hotel. Really enjoyed my short trip.the only downside was using the shopping centre car park as a hotel guest wasn't clearly marked but one we figured that out it was very straightforward.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Meghan,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel. I was particularly delighted to read your feedback that you found the service offered at our hotel to reflect that of smaller, more intimate properties. We take great pride in providing a genuinely friendly service and it was a pleasure to share this feedback with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel very soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,126
    480
    147
    43
    25
See reviews for
371
715
53
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
co galway ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We visited this hotel on sunday evening 6th July 2014. Had a drink in the bar and then decided to have some food in bar. Food was lovely, we were served by two lovely young gentlemen, very pleasant and chatty. Their names were Joshua and Jason, i made it a point in asking them their names as they most defiently deserve a mention. Lovely lads.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheebacostello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear “sheebaCostello”,

Thank you for visiting our Sheraton Bar and I am delighted that you found the experience to be so positive. It was a great pleasure to share your feedback with Joshua and Jason. Both receive regular compliments from our customers and are highly valued members of our team. You are very kind to mention them in your review and I am sure they received a genuine lift from your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Bar very soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Whilst tracing our ancestors in ireland we stayed at this hotel...
we didnt find much to do in the city itself but our hotel stay was special, very good staff ensured we had a nice stay, our breakfast was really good and the rooms were clean and cosy, and it was at a reasonable price too.. there are some nice ancient sites on the surrounds of the city and staff were good at pointing us to these sites, but the city itself wasnt so stimulating... i would stay at this hotel again as it was very cosy

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patrick k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed for one night in this hotel .Its situated in the middle of town attached to a very busy shopping center. We have absolutely no complaints about this hotel except you need a good since of direction to find your way in and out of this hotel,its so confusing trying to get back to the hotel from the center.The Hotel is very clean, the staff are excellent.The reception staff are very helpful.The breakfast was very good.We may return some day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridget o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strabane, CO.Tyrone
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Had a one night stay in the Shearton, the room was lovely and the staff were very nice. The room was very clean and comfortable and had all amenities. The hotel is in a good location and has underground parking in the shopping centre which is free to hotel guests. It also has a very nice leisure centre. Did not eat in the hotel as there was a number of places to eat nearby. This is the only hotel to stay in when in Athlone you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hondacrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My Brother had his wedding reception in the Sheraton Athlone Hotel on Saturday last 28/06/2014, I have to highly recommend this hotel, the service on the day was top class, with 300 guests at the wedding, I'm sure its not an easy task for any hotel to cater for, however this did not seem like a problem for the Sheraton Athlone, my family received a huge amount of compliments from guests on the day regarding both the food and venue itself(the room looked amazing). Speaking with my brother after the wedding, he said that the hotel was a pleasure to deal with ever since they decided to chose the Sheraton Athlone as their wedding venue, the wedding planner Gavin was extremely helpful and was always available to offer advice and support with planning their big day! In my brothers words ,both himself and his wife were treated like royalty. I would highly recommend the Sheraton Athlone for a Wedding Venue or any other function.

Room Tip: The Bridal Suite was Amazing, the views are unreal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank summertime87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great Hotel in general! Lovely food, great location and fantastic interior. Athlone itself is a lovely town however there isn't much to do there so I don't think it would be at the top of the family getaway list more of a quite relaxing weekend hotel.

Room Tip: Go up a few floors apparently the view gets better!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waterford-365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.4 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Property: Sheraton Athlone
Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing