We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed here for one night as my wife was on a course in the hotel. Check in was quick and and the reception staff were very pleasant and helpful. No problems with giving us a late check out the next day. The room was fabulous although the view was not the best. A full glass wall looking out to apartments on either side. Beds are big and comfortable. I would have liked the mini bar to have been stocked but it wasn't. Again only a small flaw in what was a very enjoyable stay. We ate in the bar for lunch and the chowder was very nice. Hot and full of flavour. The staff were very attentive and pleasant. Breakfast the next morning was fresh and there was a very good variety. So many hotels get this so so wrong but this is one of the better hotel breakfasts we have had. Our waitress Laura was excellent. The bar is a nice relaxing place for a coffee if you have a free half an hour.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear “Patrick S”,

I am delighted to read you and your wife enjoyed your stay at our hotel and in particular your very kind comments regarding our breakfast offering. This is an area we have been focusing on to ensure we are providing the right amount of variety and the freshest of ingredients to our guests. The team were delighted to read that our efforts have been successful. I have passed on your comments to Laura, an excellent member of the team, who was delighted with your feedback.

Patrick I do hope I will have the opportunity to welcome you and your wife back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Grainne Cornally
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,082 - 1,088 of 1,959 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Modern typical Sheraton offering in the centre of Athlone. Very comfortable, largish rooms; excellent fixtures in large bathrooms. Front desk excellent at arrival and leaving; chatty but efficient, was very impressed. Bar nice and good service. Big negative is the "restaurant"; amazingly old fashioned food and service. Guys running around but achieving little. Ordered steak with chips instead of mash and sauce on the side. Got no mash, no chips and the sauce all over my steak. Clearly threw away the order after he took it. When I was finished, I found it impossible to get my bill; waiters nodded to me, to get it but never delivered. Eventually, I got up and went to the till, where several other people were paying too. So, clearly they were suiting themselves, not delivering bills and letting people come to them. There is no need for this; so old fashioned and poor. These guys are used to serving large buses of senior women wearing sailor hats (that was who was there during my visit); they have clear forgotten how to do their jobs.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank mukdennnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear “Mukdennis”,

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review and I am delighted to read your comments regarding our efficient and friendly reception team. The team pride themselves on exceeding our customer’s expectations and we were delighted to receive your feedback. However I am disappointed to read about the service you received in our Restaurant and I can assure you this is not the standard of service we aim to deliver. Your feedback was very beneficial for us and has been reviewed thoroughly at our Management meeting and we are currently implementing training to ensure that this level of service is not repeated. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with an opportunity to improve on the consistency of our service.

I do hope you will consider staying at the hotel again and if so I would be grateful if you could contact me directly at salesadmin@sheratonathlonehotel.com as I would welcome the opportunity to thank you in person for the feedback provided.
Kind regards

Gráinne Cornally
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Only stayed for one night here on our tour of Ireland - wish it had been for longer. The town itself is nothing special, although the river walk is pleasant, but the hotel has to be the best in town, or for miles around for that matter. Our room was large and extremely comfortable, with a very well fitted bathroom. The location is good, with an underground (free for guests) car park attached to the hotel and a shopping mall. The bar food is excellent and the service was speedy. All the staff are very helpful (I had a problem with the wi-fi set up, but someone was sent to the room and it was quickly sorted). There is an excellent leisure/pool facility and a large gym - all free to guests. Would highly recommend the Sheraton and hope to stay again when in Ireland next time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RetiredTraveller225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a seriously big hotel but the staff are so helpful and friendly that there is an atmosphere of a small personal hotel. Really enjoyed my short trip.the only downside was using the shopping centre car park as a hotel guest wasn't clearly marked but one we figured that out it was very straightforward.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meghan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Meghan,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel. I was particularly delighted to read your feedback that you found the service offered at our hotel to reflect that of smaller, more intimate properties. We take great pride in providing a genuinely friendly service and it was a pleasure to share this feedback with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Athlone Hotel very soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We visited this hotel on sunday evening 6th July 2014. Had a drink in the bar and then decided to have some food in bar. Food was lovely, we were served by two lovely young gentlemen, very pleasant and chatty. Their names were Joshua and Jason, i made it a point in asking them their names as they most defiently deserve a mention. Lovely lads.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheebacostello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear “sheebaCostello”,

Thank you for visiting our Sheraton Bar and I am delighted that you found the experience to be so positive. It was a great pleasure to share your feedback with Joshua and Jason. Both receive regular compliments from our customers and are highly valued members of our team. You are very kind to mention them in your review and I am sure they received a genuine lift from your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Bar very soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Whilst tracing our ancestors in ireland we stayed at this hotel...
we didnt find much to do in the city itself but our hotel stay was special, very good staff ensured we had a nice stay, our breakfast was really good and the rooms were clean and cosy, and it was at a reasonable price too.. there are some nice ancient sites on the surrounds of the city and staff were good at pointing us to these sites, but the city itself wasnt so stimulating... i would stay at this hotel again as it was very cosy

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patrick k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed for one night in this hotel .Its situated in the middle of town attached to a very busy shopping center. We have absolutely no complaints about this hotel except you need a good since of direction to find your way in and out of this hotel,its so confusing trying to get back to the hotel from the center.The Hotel is very clean, the staff are excellent.The reception staff are very helpful.The breakfast was very good.We may return some day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridget o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,162 reviews
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.4 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: £63 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing