We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding”
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wedding”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Just wanted to write a review on this even though didnt stay at there overnight but attended a family wedding there yesterday and I just wanted to say what a fantastic day we had there. Everything was so nice about hotel. Think its the best place I have been to for a wedding. The food at the reception was just fantastic, the staff were just so nice and friendly and helpful, the two guys in the gym who I spoke to regarding an enquiry about my sons training were so helpful and friendly. Nice to see such pleasant staff in such a big hotel. Well done all, couldnt fault this place.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank kazmwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear “Kasmwalsh”,

I am delighted to read that you had a fantastic time at your family wedding. I have passed your comments onto our Chef and his team, the Banqueting team and the team in Sheraton Fitness. They were thrilled with your comments. We are working hard to become one of the best wedding venues in Ireland and it is wonderful to receive such positive feedback.

Please pass on our sincerest thanks to the Bride and Groom once again for choosing to host such an important occasion in their lives with us here at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

I do hope the next time you visit Athlone you will have the opportunity to stay over.

Kind regards

Grainne Cornally
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,124
    480
    147
    43
    25
See reviews for
370
714
53
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights for our anniversary. Booked the studio suite. Amazing views over Athlone. Really clean and spacious. Unfortunately the Jacuzzi didn't work, apparently they ere waiting for a part to arrive. Other then that great stay and the cocktails in the bar were really nice. Didn't eat in the bar, but only because we went out to other restaurants near by, 5 minute walk. Next time we stay will make sure to try the food in the hotel. Looked great from what i saw.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMCD44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

I normally stay here when I travel to Athlone for work. It's in the good location: Close to the bus stop and next to the shopping center. It also has a nice swimming pool.
Sometime the check-in and check-out can be slow. They only have one person to take care of it even when there are many people waiting in the que.

In general, I prefer Sheraton Athlone than Radisson Athlone

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Jian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here last weekend and I must say I am extremely impressed on a number of fronts. Where do I start? Well, let's start at check-in and a personal welcome from the hotel manager and director, Johnny O'Sullivan who I must say is a very impressive figure. Obviously I would never stay in a hotel without having first read the reviews posted on Tripadvisor and one of the things I always look out for is the responses by management to the reviews. I was impressed with this manager's responses and it was nice to have that sense confirmed when I met the man himself.

Check-In and Check-Out was very efficient and a very special mention of Sean and in particular Natasha who is a very impressive and customer focussed lady.

The hotel has a great Leisure Centre with a lovely Pool and Spa and a visit here is a must. The L'Escale restaurant (see separate review) is beautiful and everywhere you go in this hotel you will experience service of the highest quality. A fantastic team of engaged people dedicated to making your leisure time very special.

Rooms, especially in the tower are excellent, large and spotlessly clean. Hotel location is excellent and within easy walking distance of Main Street and many places of interest. If in Athlone, this hotel is a must stay.

Room Tip: Tower Rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulNimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I am from the U.S. and I have stayed at this hotel on two occasions. Both were positive experiences. During my most recent stay, I fell ill and the hotel went above and beyond to help me during the difficult time. They called an ambulance, stayed with me until the ambulance came, they were very helpful to the other travelers in my party by making sure they had everything that they need and when I returned from the hospital, the manager called my room to see if I was okay, offer me complimentary lunch, offer to help with my luggage when ready to check out etc. When I checked out of the hotel the receptionist said that the manager wanted to see me and once again he came out to check on me and make sure that I was okay.
I truly appreciated knowing that while in another country, the staff was there to help me.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dayna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Dayna,

Many thanks for posting review. I was sorry to hear you were unwell during your visit here and I know the team here were genuinely interested in your welfare during your stay. I am glad to read that we were able to offer some comfort to you and your party whilst you were here. I do hope you will be able to return to our hotel soon and enjoy your stay to the fullest.

Kind regards

Grainne Cornally
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here overnight with my 4 year old daughter. The room was excellent, it even had a choice of children's tv stations for her age group. We had a meal in the restaurant which was super. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ciaran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballaghaderreen, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as my wife was on a course in the hotel. Check in was quick and and the reception staff were very pleasant and helpful. No problems with giving us a late check out the next day. The room was fabulous although the view was not the best. A full glass wall looking out to apartments on either side. Beds are big and comfortable. I would have liked the mini bar to have been stocked but it wasn't. Again only a small flaw in what was a very enjoyable stay. We ate in the bar for lunch and the chowder was very nice. Hot and full of flavour. The staff were very attentive and pleasant. Breakfast the next morning was fresh and there was a very good variety. So many hotels get this so so wrong but this is one of the better hotel breakfasts we have had. Our waitress Laura was excellent. The bar is a nice relaxing place for a coffee if you have a free half an hour.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear “Patrick S”,

I am delighted to read you and your wife enjoyed your stay at our hotel and in particular your very kind comments regarding our breakfast offering. This is an area we have been focusing on to ensure we are providing the right amount of variety and the freshest of ingredients to our guests. The team were delighted to read that our efforts have been successful. I have passed on your comments to Laura, an excellent member of the team, who was delighted with your feedback.

Patrick I do hope I will have the opportunity to welcome you and your wife back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Grainne Cornally
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.4 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Property: Sheraton Athlone
Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing