We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms in the tower”
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great rooms in the tower”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great location in the middle of the city, excellent rooms in the "tower" provide great views, good breakfast buffet, fantastic gym facilities, complimentary parking. Shopping Arcade is next door. Discounts available from the front desk.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower provide great views and super beds The Snug Bar offers great value in cooperatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hans-Cristian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,187
    503
    155
    47
    27
See reviews for
393
762
55
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Nice hotel with great service from friendly staff, we stayed on a two nights plus one dinner package in a deluxe tower block room, well worth the small extra charge for the great views. Dinner in the hotel’s La Provence restaurant was good with a great selection for all three courses. The pool area is small but has good facilities.
Two small points, firstly the addition of swimsuit dryers spinners in the changing rooms as found in many hotels would be appreciated, lastly at breakfast there was long delays at the hot food section due to there being only one toaster and it positioned at the end so guests had to toast their bread whilst standing with their cooked breakfast resulting in the breakfast being nearly cold by the time they got to their table, two toasters in a separate position as in other hotels would solve this.

Room Tip: the higher up the tower block the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Derek,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to provide us with a review of your experience. We greatly appreciate your custom and are very pleased that you enjoyed your time here so much.

I am delighted to read that you found our La Provence Dinner offering and the facilities in our Sheraton Fitness Leisure Club to be of a high standard. I look forward to sharing your feedback with Juraj, Ross along with their teams.

Thank you most sincerely for your recommendations which we are in the process of examining. I do hope that these items did not cause too much of an inconvenience during your stay.

Thank you once again and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Athlone very soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Returning for a 2nd birthday celebration in July and really appreciated the air conditioning this time as
our visit coincided with a mini heatwave by Irish standards. Found all hotel amenities as efficient as on
the previous visit and on this occasion particularly appreciated the fact that the local rail station was
within a few minutes walk which made a day trip by train to Galway fairly straightforward.

Room Tip: tower rooms need 2 lifts and some corridor walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samos1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear “Samos1304”,

Thank you for your very kind review and thank you most sincerely for returning to the Sheraton Athlone Hotel again recently. We are very grateful for your repeat custom.

I am delighted to read that the weather was so good during your visit and I hope you had the opportunity to enjoy some of the wonderful outdoor and water based activities which are on offer here in the Lakelands and Inland Waterways Region.

Thank you once again and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again at some point in the future.

Your Sincerely,
Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Visited the Sheraton Hotel for Bar food in the last few days with my son. I found the bar to be bright and inviting. The staff were well turned out and a good menu for a bar. When our food arrived it was freshly cooked and tasty. The floor manager was present and was very helpful as were the floor staff. I will return again when in Athlone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank galwaybay17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear “Galwaybay17”,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to our Sheraton Bar and I do hope that you have the opportunity to return very soon.

It was a pleasure to share your feedback regarding the bar food with David, our Bar Manager, along with our bar and kitchen teams. It provided them with a very welcome lift during this busy season and they were very proud to receive your feedback. Our Sheraton Bar menu is proving extremely popular and we are developing the menu all of the time so I look forward to your feedback when you have the opportunity to return.

Once again thank you for your wonderful review.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Just back from a very enjoyable midweek break. We are a young easy going couple and the hotel suited us perfect. Located in the middle of the town the hotel is a ideal for getting about.Bar menu has large selection (try potato skins)and hotel lobby is massive. Quick easy check in. Beds are ridiculously comfortable could have slept all day. Pool area is fab. Choice of 3 mini pools away from main pool.
The only down side of our stay was the hotel restaurant. Food was average but service was very poor. Opted for a two course meal c/w tea/coffees. Starter was ok but took another 25-30 mins to get main course. Restaurant was busy and there seemed to be a VIP/large group in, as this took 2 managers and most of the servers attention. No one at all approached us or our end of room. When mains was severed it was without veg/potatoes. Girl that served us went MIA and it was another 5mins before we could get the attention of a staff member. When mains was finished it was a 15 min+wait and no one had collected our plates/clear table/asked for tea and coffee so we paid and left. Man on till didn't seem to be to bothered as I told him this. Slightly disappointed way to finish our stay so avoid main restaurant and go to bar or down town for food.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Brian,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel and for providing us with such a comprehensive review of your experience. Your opinion is extremely important to us and it is most welcome to have the opportunity to improve our service based on your feedback.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our bar menu offering and found the facilities around our hotel to be comfortable and enjoyable. It was a pleasure to share your feedback with the team at our weekly review of guest correspondences.

As you can imagine I was very disappointed to read about your experience in our La Provence Restaurant and having reviewed it with Juraj and his supervisory team we have identified the night in question. This has allowed us to implement training in certain key aspects of the service and to refresh our customer care courses, particularly on occasions where large groups could cause an impact on the enjoyment of our restaurant by our leisure guests. I do apologise most sincerely on my own and the team’s behalf.

If you have the opportunity to return to Athlone in the future I would be very grateful if you would contact me on generalmanager@sheratonathlonehotel.com so that I might apologise in person and ensure that your experience in our restaurant reflects our normal high standards.

Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrule
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

4 of us stayed on a girls weekend recently and after a minor mishap, due to a mix up at the reception desk we were treated with the upmost kindness and generosity. The staff, namely Sean (management) went over and above to make sure that we were compensated and made sure that our stay was enjoyable and we will definitely return to this hotel for hospitality reasons alone. Mayo guests

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Marlene,

Thank you for this wonderful feedback following your recent stay with your friends here at the Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

Your positive feedback is most welcome and also very encouraging. I am delighted to read that Sean and the team resolved the matter so effectively and would like to thank you for being so understanding. We are very lucky to have a wonderful team who are motivated and focused when it comes to delivering top class service to all guests consistently.

We are delighted to read that you hope to return in the future. Thank you again and the very best of luck to Mayo in the upcoming All Ireland Finals!

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan,
General Manager,
Sheraton Athlone Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed here the last two nights with my wife.We were upgraded upon checking in to a fantastic room in the tower section of the hotel. I don't know why they decided to upgrade us, maybe it was my QPR jersey that did it ! We were in Athlone to see QPR play Athlone Town in a pre season friendly. The room was huge with everything you needed including internet acccess on the tv. The breakfast was superb with a great selection, staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel location is hard to beat, i parked the car in the car park and didn't need it untill going home. We will definitely come back to stay here again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ferrybankcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear “Ferrybankcat”

Our sincerest thanks for taking the time to post your review following your stay at our hotel. I am delighted that you experienced our deluxe bedrooms in our Sheraton Tower – the tallest building in Athlone. I hope you were able to take in some of the great views of the surrounding lakelands and waterways region. Our tower rooms provide views of 5 surrounding counties and are a source of regular positive feedback. .

I have passed on your kind words to the team, in particular to the breakfast team who are so dedicated to ensuring that all of our guests receive a variety of options. They were delighted to receive your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you and your wife soon.

Kind regards

Grainne Cornally
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,099 reviews
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.9 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Property: Sheraton Athlone
Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing