We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely fresh modern hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Rathfarnham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely fresh modern hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2009

great location great staff well above average standard

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murf1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,104
    473
    145
    41
    24
See reviews for
364
702
52
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
barca
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights during Feb and had a great time.
The spa was fantastic, the staff were so friendly and very professional.
I must apologise to my fellow spa companions as i fell fast asleep in the relaxation room and snored my head off.
We didn´t eat in the restaurant but we did drink in the bar.
They had a great guitar player on Friday called Finbarr who had the bar rocking.
The Sheraton also has a great leisure centre which helped soothe our heads the following morning.
The hotel is attached to a shopping centre which spent a few euro in before we went home.
If I was to be critical about the hotel it would have to be the breakfast on Sunday morning the queue was out the door but we went down very late.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank higgenbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2009

I stayed here for one night. I was travelling alone and I wanted a central location in Athlone to do a spot of shopping the evening I arrived. The hotel is actually located unobtrusively in the shopping centre so it was perfect.
I found the staff on the reception desk on arrival to be great, but when I was leaving to be a little slow, but I was in a hurry, and they forgot to add on room service I had received but it was all sorted out in the end.
The Spa was the highlight of my trip here, the back massage I had was second to none and the Spa area was very relaxing, much more so than it's sister counterpart in Foto Island. The gym staff were very helpful and their equipment was top class The room in the Sheraton Athlone was also more spacious than in Foto Island.
My only fault would be the smell on the corridors on arrival, it seemed smelly on arrival but it wasn't there on day two.
I would definitely go back with a group of girls for a night out/shopping/spa treatment.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malibugirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2009

stayed in the sheraton recently to celebrate my birthday. found it to be an impressive and relatively new hotel (as evidenced by the plush carpeting when you first enter the lobby). would def stay here again, it had everything needed for a relaxing wend away... comfortable and spacious bedrooms( with spotless bathroom and essential soft fluffy towels!!) leisure facilities, spa treatments and wifi avail, fab wine and cocktail list avail in bar. lovely restaurant with efficient and prompt staff.i would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. a relaxed break with helpful and courteous staff who look after you so very well.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noddyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2009

I'm just back from a girly night in the Sheraton Athlone & could not be happier with our stay. It had everything you would want shopping, spa, leisure centre, good food & great service in particular Leo in the Bar who really looked after us. This was my second time staying in the Sheraton the first being on a family break & I would definately go again its a place that suits everyone.

Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Deeruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Co. Kerry.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2009

We stayed in a Deluxe Room in the Tower. The room was amazing, very spacious, large bed, views spectacular over the town. Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast very good. Wished I had more time there but will definitely return.

  • Liked — Spacious Room with all facilities and amazing views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KateKillarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights in Dec 08. Nice new hotel in a central location in Athlone. Hotel shares a nice big underground carpark with the adjacent shopping centre.

Check in was fast and pleasant. The receptionist arranged a porter to show us to our room as it required a trip on 2 different lifts. Room was modern, spacious and clean.

Breakfast at the hotel was average. We had barfood on one occasion and dinner at a function also - both were of a very high standard.

Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Location. Modern & clean
  • Disliked — Breakfast could have been better.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank leex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.4 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Property: Sheraton Athlone
Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing