We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury on the inside, ignore its position in the town”
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2010

The Sheraton Athlone is not an attractive hotel, situated in a shoping centre in the middle of the town. Hotels like the Radisson Blu have a much better position. However, don't let the outside deceive. Inside, the hotel is first class. I stayed in a club room, which was huge with the most comfortable bed I've slept in for a while. Plasma screen tv, free wifi, nice toiletteires. Floor to ceiling windows, with a great view of the town and the river Shannon. I treated myself to a spa treatment, which was amazing. Good gym and swimming pool for those wanting to keep fit.
The staff were exceptionally friendly andI didn't feel at all uncomfortable as a lone female in the bar having a drink and a snack in the evening.
The only reason I diidn't give this 5 stars is beacause of its position - 4.5 stars is probably more realistic. If I return on business, would probably stay here again, due to the first class amenities and service

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisasplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,941)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Athlone
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,790 - 1,796 of 1,941 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2010

For New Years Eve 09/10, Myself and my family along with my sister and her family spent 2 nights at the Sheraton Hotel. The Kids had a ball age 10,9 & 7 at the kids club twice a day(free)-great leaders. We had a young baby 1yrs old and both nights we were able to avail of a brilliant Babysitter Amy (new years eve included) for just (10 euro an hour). We attended the Gala ball on New years eve and had a fantastic meal with great entertainment (65 euro per head) The hotel was spotless, most comfy beds, plenty of creams etc in bathroom,Free internet and free computers in lobby for residents use,The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating, Kids really enjoyed the pool, Fantastic breakfast. We will definitely return......When i arrived home i realized i had left my coat behind and they have offered to post it back to me!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetteorourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Stayed here in late December for 1 night - did not use the Restaurant or Room Service so can't comment but couldn't fault anything else.
Staff very Friendly in bar and Reception and hotel smack bang in the town centre with free underground Carpark so all in all great stay - only negetive would be that it is a little expensive for a regional town @ €140 for a Double!
Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cultchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

This hotel is amazing, i loved everything about it, its cool, retro, cosy, stylish, very romantic and the staff are excellent and would do anything for you. The food is to die for especially in there restaurant and the service you get is brilliant, i cant fault this hotel. Rooms are spacious and cosy and we had views all over the Athlone town with glass on 3 walls, it was amazing, the rooms are spotless and i never heard a bit of noise, and the beds are fantastic and comfortable.

Loved it..

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorr1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

we stayed at the sheraton for new years and i have to say i cant fault it, having two young boys with us we were delighted with the kids club it was fantastic for the 4 year old with morning swimming and evening play times, and on new years eve the club was on until 1 am although my lad was very tired and left at ten but the kids were having a ball
the staff couldnt do enough for you and were very friendly, i was wating a little longer than my friends for some bar food and the lad on the bar gave me a drink on the house even though i didnt complain
rooms are very nice and air con was easy to use if you wanted it warnmer or cooler and room had fridge which was handy for baby foods and bottles
i will be staying again and thanks to all at sheraton for a great stay
rooms were very nice

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Just back from Athlone and had the absolute pleasure of experiencing the Sheraton Hotel in Athlone. It's fab, right in the middle of town, linked to a shopping centre, has a gorgeous leisure centre and spa...myself and a 11 friends booked the spa privately for one of their really excellent packages Saints and Sinners I think it's called...anyway we drank cocktails (Pina coladas and Cosmos) while we had make up applications and our nails done. It was the best fun ever and we all looked quite glam as we hit the restaurant. There we had a spectacular meal and I must say the best seabass and crab I have ever had. The rooms are so modern with huge bathrooms, style and elegance, the beds were fab too (not that we spent too much time in them). I will defo be back and it's ideal for a girlie weekend or break, sure with the shopping only a lift journey away, where better to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madame72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2009

Stayed in the Sheraton in Athlone fo past two nights. we were attending a work christmas party and we also wanted to take advantage of the excellent shopping centre beside it to get the christmas shopping done. the hotel was a joy.check in as very efficient and alovely porter named luckas helped us to our room with our luggage,mostly shopping bags! He was very informative and recommended the spa to me partner, which she enjoyed on the Saturday, for something to do as i watched the match! The bar was lively and comfortable, and dinner in the restaurant was faultless. However the highlight had to be the christmas party on the 2nd night. The level of food and service was 5 star. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and management. It was refreshing to stay in such a modern hotel which still offers such a friendly and uniquely irish feel to it. we look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airmyles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,135 reviews
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.4 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: £63 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing