We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Stayed in the Sheraton recently attending an event locally. Hotel is very central and parking was easy enough. Rooms were spacious and spotless. Staff were very helpful and friendly at all times. Definetely want to come back for a proper weekend break and see more of the area (had never been in Athlone before). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penflex10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,144
    484
    150
    44
    25
See reviews for
375
728
54
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2010

just stayed at the Sheraton Athlone with a friend. Had a fantastic spa treatment, my first ever, and it was AMAZING !! the treatment, the facility, the leisure centre, the staff, the bar, the room, in particular the bathroom...best shower ever. If you're thinking of staying there, then think no more,,just go. Situated 5 min walk from train station, and is adjoined to the Athlone town centre shopping centre which has shops like Coast, H&M, Zara, Promod and more. Underground carpark also.
There are also loads of pubs and another shopping centre all within walkin distance.
The beds are the most comfortable I've ever slept on, in ANY hotel, really amazing, and there was no noise during the night, no doors banging, no kids to be heard, no music or anything, just tranquility...despite there being a wedding there that day also.

Staff were extremely helpful and friendly and couldnt do enough. Everything was spotless and shining.. im currently trying to organise a stay over the christmas with the kids as they do kids clubs etc and i would love to see the hotel decorated for Christmas, its sure to be out of this world!

Just go..you WILL NOT regret it!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2010

I stayed recently in sheraton athlone and felt i should write a review to share my wonderful thoughts on the hotel. From the moment we arrived, were made feel like royalty. we were very tired from travelling and sarah at reception was so kind and friendly it really revived my mood...thanks sarah!!! We decided to eat in the La Provence the first night and not being a big fan of hotel restaurants, im so delighted my partner convinced me to go as it didnt involve leaving the hotel. Food was delicious and service was second to none, our waiter david was so pleasant and knowledgeable and restaurant manager Margaret was really professional and friendly while not intruding on our meal...she brightenend our night with her sincere greeting and showed equal attention to the other diners in the restauant...it is certainly a change to most hotel restaurants. Due to this we ate in the restaurant the second night too and would recommend the restaurant to everyone, i still talk about it!!!
This hotel is very well run and each and every member of staff and management is a credit to the general manager and its hotel owners, keep up the great work we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m0lly4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Wonderful Hotel in the town. We were on spa package. Our rooms were the best , comfortable spacious & had great views. The hotel stall very helpful & professional. The food was the great ( we had lunch, dinner & breakfast ) There is also s/pool & relaxing areas which are all very nice.
The purpose of our trip was to treat one of the ladies to a spa day. As we know this is a lovely but expensive gift. Having use spas for many years now I have a level of expectation & have never been disappointed There were many faults but the main one was the times advertised per treatment was not given. we were all finished in about 1hr 20 mins approx. one person was booked for 105mins. We did discuss this at the desk &2 people got reduction of 50euro ea.. ( we would have preferred to go away with the feel good factor having enjoyed our planned break,)
This a great Hotel and it is a shame that their Spa lets it down. I give the spa zero points & we paid for that!. We could have used one of our usual Spas & be sure of quality treatment for money

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smokielu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Rooms are clean, breakfast is what you would expect and location is excellent. One minor gripe was the staff at checkin telling us our reservation was no good, not so much the discrepancy itself as it was the manner in which they handled the matter. Could definitely do with treating their guests better when problems arise.

Room service was very overpriced and the soup arrived almost cold. Eating out would be a better bet.

That aside, I could not fault the property itself, it's very clean and the beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_savman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We were welcomed at reception by the very friendly receptionist. Our room was lovely - very spacious. Breakfast was very nice, as were the staff in the restaurant. We had dinner in the hotel on the first night and the food was nice but nothing special. The lounge was packed both nights and there was a band playing which added to the atmosphere. Pool area is very nice but more like a leisure centre than a relaxing spa! The hotel is actually in a shopping centre which was a very nice surprise and that made up for the lack of relaxing spa area! One thing I would say is that the curtains are terrible so expect to be woken up early by the light beaming in your (very large) windows..

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monty2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Just back from a 3 night stay in the Shearton, and we couldn't have had a better time. 2 kids 11 & 5 and wow did they have a ball. The kids club was so well run and the staff were amazing, a big thanks to Sonya and Brian. We never encountered one member of staff who wasnt helpful and attentive. Family room was spacious and luxurious, bathroom was another big wow. Meals in the restraunt were really good and again the staff were amazing, nothing was too much trouble. Location is excellent, walking distance to everywhere. We will be returning, hopefully soon!!! Big thanks to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable..

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baladke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,017 reviews
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.9 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Property: Sheraton Athlone
Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing