We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

I recently organised and attended a hen party for 28 guests to stay in the Sheraton, Athlone. Firstly, the location is perfect with the shopping centre adjoining the Hotel.(Very handy for any guests who were not interested in having a spa treatment). The spa staff and management were very helpful, polite and accomodating before and during our stay. I, being the maid of honour organised the party and they remained very professional despite the fact that I was contacting them every other day with changes, special requests cancellations to the list.
Having attended a hen party in another popular spa hotel where we were treated with contempt I was so plesently surprised that both managers and staff alike were highly professional and helpful. The treatments were fabulous and the staff in the spa were very patient and friendly. The spa itself is nice with lovely relaxation area and a nice dining area, there arent many steam rooms or saunas however, as we were all availing of treatments this did not matter and we enjoyed the pool and the relaxation area where we chatted and had a glass of champers.
The only small criticism I could make is that when we ordered food to the spa the staff failed to take room numbers along with orders and this resulted in the bill being put on the "bride to be" room, however the receptionist was very professional in dealing with this and had it sorted out when we discussed it with her upon checking out.
The staff and management are very professional whether it be in organising a projector I had requested the use of of or looking after us at dinner. I cant recommend the Sheraton highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SmithyCavan_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,089
    462
    143
    39
    24
See reviews for
353
694
51
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

We recently booked/stayed here for our wedding anniversary and overall were pleased with the experience. We found the hotel finished to a high standard (especially the Spa), very clean and all the staff were extremely curtious and helpful with the exception of one waiter at breakfast the first morning who seemed not to notice that my wife existed! We had a Deluxe room high up in the tower which was nice but here's some of the little issues - a bit smaller than you'd expect for a Deluxe, not enough hangers for the size of the wardrobes and the towels were small and hard, i.e. the bath towels were not much bigger than your average size hand towel! And I know I'm being really picky here but when staying in a 4* Deluxe hotel/room I expect biscuits with the tea/coffee facility in the room!! Otherwise the room was very good with the most comfortable bed I've ever experienced in a hotel and the bathroom was high standard with seperate bath and shower. Temperature controls worked well but trying to close the custains at night was unbelieveably difficult due to having the heavy curtains inside the net curtains.
Another niggly thing with this hotel though is the layout and the lifts. You take one from the car park (which also gives access to the shopping centre) and there's a 20m walk to reception. Just off reception there's 2 more lifts for access to the bedrooms, reception rooms and the restaurant, all up. You use the same lift to go down to the Spa and Leisure Centre but only 1 of the 2 does this, so coming from the bedroom to the Spa etc. you often have to change lift at reception! But that's not the end of it, to access the bedrooms you get off these lifts on the 2nd floor then walk through the crowds moving between reception rooms through a glass tunnel and then uless your on the "ground" floor of the tower it's yet more lifts (another 20m) - very frustrating!!
We'd booked the 2B&B/1D option and the food was good but again not quite what you'd expect - let's say a little inconsistent. At dinner we both tried and loved the soup and while my lamb was excellent, my wife's steak was a bit grizzly and tough. The food at the breakfasts was good although I always prefer fresh cooked to buffet but for a buffet it was good. The main problem at breakfast was that they didn't seem to be able to cope with the numbers and it was a little chaotic. They even reverted to the waiters going around with large pots of tea and coffee as they'd run out of smaller pots for individual tables!
The Spa however was sumptous and very reasonably pricied for the level of comfort and the treatments and you're guaranteed relaxation. There's also no rushing - our 1 hour treatments lasted more than 2 due to different relaxation rooms before and after. This did cause us to be quite late checking out but no issues with reception.
Overall we really relaxed and enjoyed our time both in the hotel and around Athlone and would go back, even if it was just for the Spa and we can both recommend Durty Harrys Bar in the town for one of the best pints of Guinness in a long time. The hotel gets a lot of the big things right but would be a supberb experience if they can sort out some of the little issues

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jande1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

Stayed in the Sheraton recently attending an event locally. Hotel is very central and parking was easy enough. Rooms were spacious and spotless. Staff were very helpful and friendly at all times. Definetely want to come back for a proper weekend break and see more of the area (had never been in Athlone before). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank penflex10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

just stayed at the Sheraton Athlone with a friend. Had a fantastic spa treatment, my first ever, and it was AMAZING !! the treatment, the facility, the leisure centre, the staff, the bar, the room, in particular the bathroom...best shower ever. If you're thinking of staying there, then think no more,,just go. Situated 5 min walk from train station, and is adjoined to the Athlone town centre shopping centre which has shops like Coast, H&M, Zara, Promod and more. Underground carpark also.
There are also loads of pubs and another shopping centre all within walkin distance.
The beds are the most comfortable I've ever slept on, in ANY hotel, really amazing, and there was no noise during the night, no doors banging, no kids to be heard, no music or anything, just tranquility...despite there being a wedding there that day also.

Staff were extremely helpful and friendly and couldnt do enough. Everything was spotless and shining.. im currently trying to organise a stay over the christmas with the kids as they do kids clubs etc and i would love to see the hotel decorated for Christmas, its sure to be out of this world!

Just go..you WILL NOT regret it!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

I stayed recently in sheraton athlone and felt i should write a review to share my wonderful thoughts on the hotel. From the moment we arrived, were made feel like royalty. we were very tired from travelling and sarah at reception was so kind and friendly it really revived my mood...thanks sarah!!! We decided to eat in the La Provence the first night and not being a big fan of hotel restaurants, im so delighted my partner convinced me to go as it didnt involve leaving the hotel. Food was delicious and service was second to none, our waiter david was so pleasant and knowledgeable and restaurant manager Margaret was really professional and friendly while not intruding on our meal...she brightenend our night with her sincere greeting and showed equal attention to the other diners in the restauant...it is certainly a change to most hotel restaurants. Due to this we ate in the restaurant the second night too and would recommend the restaurant to everyone, i still talk about it!!!
This hotel is very well run and each and every member of staff and management is a credit to the general manager and its hotel owners, keep up the great work we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m0lly4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

Wonderful Hotel in the town. We were on spa package. Our rooms were the best , comfortable spacious & had great views. The hotel stall very helpful & professional. The food was the great ( we had lunch, dinner & breakfast ) There is also s/pool & relaxing areas which are all very nice.
The purpose of our trip was to treat one of the ladies to a spa day. As we know this is a lovely but expensive gift. Having use spas for many years now I have a level of expectation & have never been disappointed There were many faults but the main one was the times advertised per treatment was not given. we were all finished in about 1hr 20 mins approx. one person was booked for 105mins. We did discuss this at the desk &2 people got reduction of 50euro ea.. ( we would have preferred to go away with the feel good factor having enjoyed our planned break,)
This a great Hotel and it is a shame that their Spa lets it down. I give the spa zero points & we paid for that!. We could have used one of our usual Spas & be sure of quality treatment for money

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smokielu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

Rooms are clean, breakfast is what you would expect and location is excellent. One minor gripe was the staff at checkin telling us our reservation was no good, not so much the discrepancy itself as it was the manner in which they handled the matter. Could definitely do with treating their guests better when problems arise.

Room service was very overpriced and the soup arrived almost cold. Eating out would be a better bet.

That aside, I could not fault the property itself, it's very clean and the beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_savman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.4 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Property: Sheraton Athlone
Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing