We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Wedding!”
Review of Sheraton Athlone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Athlone
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
1 review
“Great Wedding!”
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Attended a wedding in this hotel back in October. We ended up staying for the weekend and i must say i was delighted that we did.

It was a little confusing to find hotel car park but once we did the car was parked up for the weekend. Checking in to hotel was a breeze and we checked into a room on the 3rd floor, the room had everything that you would expect in a modern hotel. Great to have the seperate bath and shower which isnt very commen place in Irish hotels.

The first night we stayed we were attending a wedding. I must say we had a fantastic experience. As me and my partner are newly weds we are fairly in tune with what is going on. The main banquet room is beautiful with really impressive lighting and it created a really warm atmopshere. The meal was tasty and the roast beef was the best i have had at a wedding, ever!. Service was effficent and staff were very friendly and attentitive.

The next morning we went down for breakfast a little less worse for wear. We were met by a vey friendly man who showed us to our seats. The breakfast had a good selection and the food was hot from the buffet.

That night we met up with wedding party and stayed in the hotel for the evening. The music in the bar was great. There was a one man band who was great craic and we ate their also and found the food again to be of good quality and resonably priced.

We really had a great weekend and i think this hotel is a fabolous location for a wedding. I know from speaking to my mates that they thought the same. Also i have to mention how friendly the staff were and they all seemed to enjoy their jobs.

We are planning to go back in the new year as we didnt really get to avail of the shopping centre which is in the same development and to visit the spa in the hotel. Athlone seems to be a busy town with plenty to do in it and around the area. This hotel seems to be very busy and i can see why!

The added bonus is its location as we only had to drive 1hr up the road and we were back in Lucan. Well done to the Sheraton Athlone and keep doing what you are doing.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances123Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,124
    480
    147
    42
    24
See reviews for
370
714
53
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Likoma Island, Malawi
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Sheraton for one night on our recent visit to Ireland. The town of Athlone is very beautiful and the people were wonderful. We left there and headed for Dublin, where my wife realized that she had left her pillow, a vest and coat. We called the hotel and spoke to one of the women who worked at the front desk. We were trying to figure out a way that we could pick up the items without having to retrace our steps. We told the woman that at the end of our trip we would be going to Galway and she said, "I live in Galway, I would be happy to take it back for you." We thanked her and when we arrived in Galway, true to her word, all of the items were there at the front desk (the Harbour Hotel). This woman's kindness did not surprise us after the wonderful experience we had at the Sheraton in Athlone. If you go to Ireland, you should visit Athlone and definitely stay at the Sheraton.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karinflights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We stayed at the Sheraton for one night. From the minute we entered the hotel we got a good feel as the reception is really modern with loads of seating areas and an open plan bar. On checking in the staff were really helpful. We had a deluxe room in the tower section, it is a bit of a walk and 2 lift rides to get there but it was worth it as when we got to the room we were delighted. The room was really clean with full glass corner windows. It was in a really quiet location as we were on the 7th Floor. The bed was so comfortable. There is an ensuite with separate shower and bath. The bar area was really nice and the food was good. Great location for shopping in Athlone also as you only have to take a walk up an escalator to get to the shops as hotel parking is shared with the shopping centre. It was a buffet breakfast and there was loads of food which was topped up all the time. One thing I would say is that I felt sorry for the man serving the tea/coffee as he had to keep going round to each table (keeping in mind that all tables were full) and there was a bit of a wait (not his fault). Think it would be easier to leave a pot of tea/coffee on each table:). On check out the girl couldnt have been more helpful and offered help on what shops to go to and checked to make sure we had a discount card which could be used in some of the shops.
Overall a great hotel bit pricey but would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenMurIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

Three of us stayed here for one night. Great location (5 minutes from train station) and friendly staff. However, we were charged €177 for a one night stay (b&b) in one room. The third bed was a sofa bed (as described at booking), unfortunately this was rather uncomfortable. At that price, one expects everyone to get a good night sleep.
A couple of other tiny issues - the bar/lobby is quite modern and open, which is fine, except on this very cold night we would have loved a cosy place to sit and eat. There were chilly draughts coming from the front door as people entered the hotel. There was also an overcharge on the bill, although this was rectified quickly when pointed out to the waitress.
Overall, would recommend if the price was right.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinMED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2010

I stayed in The Sheraton Hotel, Athlone with a group of 11 girls to celebrate a birthday for one night. From the moment I rang the hotel to enquire about vacancies I felt they were very helpful and welcoming. When we arrived at the hotel we got a lovely warm welcome. Over our stay there we found the staff very helpful, friendly and courteous and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is lovely and comfortable, in a great location and the rooms great. Food was excellent and the music in the bar on Saturday night was brilliant. I'll definitely be back...

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueoneill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Stayed for two nights with three kids. Our first impressions were 'wow!. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. However breakfast and dinner were a huge disappointment. The dining room was cold and unwelcoming. The breakfast was a buffet and everything looked so unappetising. The spa and childrens club however were superb. They just need to work on the restaurant and this would be an amazing hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MabelDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonGeneralMgr, General Manager at Sheraton Athlone, responded to this review, 6 November 2010
Dear "MabelDublin",

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback on your stay at The Sheraton Athlone Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, we have a great team here in the hotel who are genuinely dedicated to providing a level of hospitality which makes each and every guest feel special during their time with us.

It’s great to hear that your family enjoyed The Adventure Club, which is in it’s second year of operation and getting more popular with repeat guests all of the time. It is available throughout the summer and on all midterm breaks as well as during a period of the Christmas.

We were very disappointed to here that you did not have a positive experience in our La Provence restaurant. While we do receive a lot of positive feedback on our breakfast and dinner service, it is clear that we must now work to ensure consistency for every guest. The kitchen, restaurant and management teams are meeting regularly along with myself in order to implement training and service standards to ensure that this level of consistency is achieved.

If there are any specific areas of improvement which you would like to recommend I would be delighted if you couild contact me here at the hotel on 00353 9064 51000.

Yours Sincerely,

Johnny O’Sullivan
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2010

This is a fab hotel - all was perfect during my stay - and great location, walking distance to everything!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cerdon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.8 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.4 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Athlone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Athlone

Property: Sheraton Athlone
Address: Gleeson Street, Athlone, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#2 Business Hotel in Athlone
#2 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#3 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Athlone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A local landmark in Athlone thanks to its 12 story glazed tower, Sheraton Athlone Hotel is a unique hotel in Ireland. Offering all of the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, including 167 luxurious bedrooms and suites, with many affording spectacular views over the River Shannon and Ireland's lakelands, as well as outstanding spa facilities. Health & Leisure facilities include a remarkable aquatics area with 18m pool, 3 feature pools and state of the art fitness equipment. Sheraton Athlone Hotel is located beside the Athlone Town Centre shopping centre giving it prime location, and only 70 minutes from Dublin, which makes it perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Athlone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Athlone Hotel Athlone
Athlone Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing