We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice way to pass an afternoon”

Viking Ship Cruises
Ranked #1 of 3 Tours in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come back 1,200 years and join the Vikings on a replica Viking Ship. Cruise up the River Shannon to Lough Ree (1hr 15min) or down river to the monastic settlement and round tower of Clonmacnoise (1hr 30min one way). Experience the religous and Viking history attached to this area. Hear live commentry on Viking hoardes, on the beauty of the river, its flora, fauna, bird and fish life. Fun and excitement for all the family...Departs from Athlone Castle and tickets are available on board.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice way to pass an afternoon”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Nice, spacious boat. Complimentary tea and coffee. Beautiful scenery. Very good for kids. Not so exciting for a group of adults, but a nice way to pass an afternoon.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank crow84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    82
    9
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vikings on Tour”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I took a group of EF European students on the Viking Boat on Friday 30.05.2014. I have to say living in Athlone my whole life I thought I might be boring for me. How wrong I was. Michael and his shipmate really made it an experience not to be forgotten. Michael filled us with historic information on all the landmarks we passed as we cruised the Shannon. His shipmate stayed on deck wandering around chatting easily with all the passengers. My group of teenage students loved every minute of the trip. We travelled to Hudson Bay and back again but I have promised to return again an do the Clonmacnoise Trip. There is complimentary Tea and Coffee on deck. Alcohol, soft drinks and snacks are available at a small charge. Viking hats and Swords are available for the little ones at a very reasonable price (€5 for the set). I would highly recommend the Viking Boat and will be boasting about it to everyone I meet.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CintaScal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lazy day on the river”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Good trip with a very knowledgeable guide , would definitely recommend it. It's nice that its suitable for family's and not just adults.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DublinTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athlone
2 reviews
“Staff party”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Organized a trip for a group to glasson. The boat was great. Lots of fun! Very hospitable and informative staff. Looking forward to returning soon! Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank pauliewallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athlone
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Reformed Viking Warrior Captains this boat!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

He must have been one in a former life because his knowledge is so vast concerning this tribe and he tells their story so well. It's a real pleasure to travel with Michael as he brings you up river and relates the history of their time in Ireland. HIs boat is a Heritage boat and is of all wooden construction but up to date with all safety gear as required . You are protected from the weather if it is inclement but still in contact with the waters edge. His masthead of a dragon tops off a craft dedicated to the Vikings and is the Captains pride and joy. If you travel upriver with him do ask him to tell you about Rindoon Castle and Safe Harbour further upstream and well worth finding your way there afterwards.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank patmorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Viking Ship Cruises also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to Viking Ship Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing