We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shhhaamazing!!”

Kin Khao Thai Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 110 Restaurants in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Thai cuisine, local style. That's local Thai not dumbed down Western style. Our great food, service and local beers and wines are waiting for you. Looking forward to seeing you.
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My partner and i dined her recently, and it was one of the best meals i have ever experienced. The menu had so much choice and made good reading material, it expressed all need to know's about Adam and Janya and how they founded Kin Khao.

The staff were really helpful and friendly, especially Vick and Adrienne, Vick with his quirky sense of humor and knowledge of the menu, and Adrienne with her great recommendations on food and wine and her welcoming. Both member's of staff were a pleasure to have serving us big pat on the back to both of them.

As for the food it was 5* quality and if you have not been here then you your missing out, we had teh mixed combo to start and my partner had the green curry and i had the yellow curry with noodles and fried rice. both finished with banana fritter.

Want to say a big thank you and congratulations to Adam and Janya on their award, they deeply deserve it with a beautiful restaurant and exceptional staff, keep up your brilliant work folks

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinKhao, Owner at Kin Khao Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Hi Laura You're watching too much X Factor!! The review is really appreciated. I try and show all of the reviews to the staff so this one will be shown too. Cheers Adam Lyons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

465 - 469 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Myself and a companion ate in this restaurant recently midweek and we were suprised to find the restaurant was full at 6.30pm. We decided to try the early bird menu which did not disappoint !. The satay chicken skewers were outstanding with a crunchy peanut sauce, A beautiful gluten free dish . The basil and chilli stir fry packed a serious punch , a lot of heat.

The welcome and attention that we received was truly faultless and special diet requirements dealt with in a very professional manner. This restaurant is an example of how customers needs come first and I cannot wait to go back ! . Well done to all involved.

Thank Catchphrase77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinKhao, Owner at Kin Khao Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Hi CatchPhrase Thank you so much for your review. As I say to all our reviewers, we try and get things right most of the time. However we are human! So it's great to see you so happy. We look forward to seeing you again, and again and again and again.........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were in Kin Khao in Athlone this evening. We had a delicious meal. Really enjoyed it. We 'll be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Madeline O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinKhao, Owner at Kin Khao Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Hi Madeline

Thanks for coming in. Reviewing us really helps spread the gospel so thanks again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We ordered a 2 course lunch menu ( it costs 9.95 euro.) The price is very reasonable but the quality of a food was very nice and great!!! The atmosphere of the restaurant was also wonderful!! We love this restaurant! !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hailey_hjkim2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinKhao, Owner at Kin Khao Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Hailey you're a star. I realised only today that I had not responded to your review. Spread the word. We try our best and love customers like you :)))))))

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Food here is delicious, Thai green curry with Jasmine rice is recommended. It's expensive For what you get. All side orders have to be ordered separately you don't get a choice of chips or rice with the main dishes they're all priced separately. Well worth a visit tho.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Edel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KinKhao, Owner at Kin Khao Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Edel I thought I had responded to your review ages ago. Huge congrats on your engagement more so that your beau was brave enough to do it in Kin Khao Thai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kin Khao Thai Restaurant also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to Kin Khao Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing