We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really really enjoyed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kin Khao Thai Restaurant

Kin Khao Thai Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 97 Restaurants in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Thai cuisine, local style. That's local Thai not dumbed down Western style. Our great food, service and local beers and wines are waiting for you. Looking forward to seeing you.
Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Really really enjoyed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

What a fabulous restaurant. Food is absolutely delicious (my mouth waters as I write this post!). Service excellent, staff very helpful and helpful with orders as they know the menu. Great atmosphere. Very good value too.

Not only us, but every person in the restaurant seemed to enjoy their evening - overheard many compliments.

They do takeaway too .. wish I lived closer to Athlone!

Thank you to all the team - I look forward to visiting again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PlanesTrainsAutos09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    117
    31
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Athlone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Although we live here, this was our first visit. Fantastic! Really friendly staff, great service, impeccable timing. Everything on the menu sounded so good we had trouble choosing, so we went with the recommendations of a really friendly and helpful waitress. She asked us our general food preferences and then recommended a shared starter plate and two mains. Everything was excellent. I have never liked satay chicken, but the satay sauce here bore no resemblance to the watery peanut butter sauce you get elsewhere. I am a convert.
Given the taste, quality and portion size of the food it is also excellent value. Our only (minor) quibble was that the wine list is very short. Nonetheless the two glasses of white we had complemented the food well and were reasonable priced. We overlooked the beers and ciders and would probably have chosen one of those instead of wine had we been paying more attention.
We will definitely return. Whether you live locally, are visiting, or are passing on the M6 and are hungry, we can't recommend Kin Khao highly enough.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bazarov I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Great little resturant, off the beaten track in Athlone fou authentic Thai food. Well worth the visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Conribution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Fab food, fab staff, definitely the best Thai in Ireland !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I loved this restaurant. Three adults and two kids dined here and not a scrap of food left on any plate!! It's tasty, authentic and I so wish it was closer to home so I could utilise their takeaway!! We were served by a wonderful local girl called Adrianna and boy if you get her as your waitress you struck gold. She is super!!! She offered suggestions, recommendations for wine and she entertained the kids , all the while serving us yummy food. We ate off early bird menu which has plenty of choices, all the waiters and waitresses were busy at 6.30 this restaurant was nearly full but the service was superb. Do not miss this restaurant if in Athlone. Booking advised. ,

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Karentipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First visit but not the last...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We were in Athlone for 2 nights and decided on Kin Khao because we love Thai food and the other reviews were good. We were not dissapointed. Beef salad and fillet of haddock salad to start, both lovely and fresh with a nice kick of chilli. Stir fried duck special and the steamed chicken curry for mains, again both were excellent, original and full of flavour. For desert the homemade ice creams were the best I've ever had. Just sublime. Friendly staff,efficient service and great food. Will be back, hopefully soon.

Helpful?
1 Thank Niall_K77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kin Khao Thai Restaurant also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to Kin Khao Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing