We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal !!!!”
Review of Thyme Restaurant

Thyme Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 99 Restaurants in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent meal !!!!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We had one of our best meals ever at Thyme in Athlone last Sat night and because of it we are already talking about going back to stay in Athlone just to eat at this restaurant.
The restaurant is quiet small but we never felt crowded.Over the evening three different staff approached our table and each one was friendly and very knowledgable about the menu, the staff all seemed to be very experienced or at least well versed in the menu.
We found it difficult to choose because between the specials and the menu we were spoiled for choice, we settled on potato cake starter and the scampi and both were brilliant but the pork belly main course was the winner, it was perfect. I had the chicken from the specials and while it was excellent I was jealous of the pork.
The food was presented so well and tasted just as good as it looked. One of the things I really liked was even though it was a small restaurant we never felt rushed or that our table needed to be re-used so hopefully Thyme is busy enough all week long and will survive these tough times. We will be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    135
    35
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
1 review
“Delicious !!!!”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Food and staff first class!!!! Great atmosphere, great prices.Food looks and taste unbelievable! Would definitely recommend to my friends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Went here recently for work party, had three courses for 27 euro. I personnally wouldnt be rushing back. Seats were very compacted, where food was been served across people, when passing by servers were tryign to squash themselves between chairs as the restaurant felt the need to keep a third of the restaurant free for people that were coming in of the street. Was squashed and compart, not much comfort if you had to get up and go to the toilet.
Food wise, got soup and a selection of breads to start, the soup was a little luke warm, but tasty and the selection of breads were lovely. The main was ok, wouldnt be to my taste. The desert was lovely as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mary999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My husband and I went there for dinner as we had read the reviews on TripAdvisor .We were not disappointed ,the food was beautifully presented and very tasty indeed.it certainly looked a work of art on a plate.The waitress was very friendly and recommended a few good bars to go to that night for live music.We would have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant for a meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My wife and I realy enjoyed our meal here .Nice cosy restaurant and the food was great.The girl who served us was very friendly and accommodating. A very pleasant evening.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank robbie152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thyme Restaurant also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to Thyme Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing