We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average experience”
Review of Thyme Restaurant

Thyme Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 121 Restaurants in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

I have already reviewed this restaurant but the owner contacted me by email and asked to remove my review because he didn’t like it.. I removed it and spent two days wondering why I did!!
I stated that the restaurant itself looked tired... it did look tired with paint falling off the outside of the front of the building!
I also said the staff were preoccupied chatting to each other huddled in the corner where their small bar is located.. and guess what?? They were and when they weren’t the service was abrupt.
I also mentioned that the kids meal was outstanding, probably the best I’ve seen.
Our own meal was average. It was. Good food but nothing special.
I’d heard so much about this restaurant I really expected to be blown away. I wasn’t.
This was an average meal in a tired dinning room. My review is here to stay. I hope it helps fellow dinners make a more informed choice when dining in Athlone.

3  Thank karl p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbjc, Owner at Thyme Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Hi Karl,

I would like to apologise again that you did not enjoy your experience with us. I asked you to remove the review and asked what date you were in our restaurant so that I could look into the matter further. I never said I "didn't like" it (not that I do, as I said to you already we take great pride in what we do!)
Our building was painted in October 2017. There had been extensive building work carried out both in Athlone and the building next door to our restaurant since December 2017 (as a matter of fact the front of our restaurant was indeed a building site from December 2017 up until May 2018). Thank you for bringing it to my attention that we may need to look at doing it again prematurely.

I am sorry that you did not get the service that you should of, it's something that I will investigate further. Delighted that your kids meal was outstanding and it's an awful pity that we didn't blow you away. Maybe next time, as I stated in my email to you I would hope that you will try us again some day,

Kind Regards,
John Coffey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Found it by chance but glad we did. Excellent food & service and very friendly in the typical Irish way. Well worth a visit.

1  Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

Receptionist at the prince if wales hotel phoned the restaurant for us as they were about to close for the evening. Well they accommodated myself and friend and took care of us for the evening like we were celebrities. We had the 2course menu for €24. We shared starter and desert. The food is just incredible. The presentation I have never experienced before. Looked too nice to eat. Wine also beautiful and very reasonably priced. Can't say enough about this restaurant. Thank you all for a wonderful evening. Can't wait to visit again.

Thank doloresm593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

This is the best starter I ate so far.
Just feel like in heaven ,wonderful meals.
I absolutely will come back again.

1  Thank O7525YCchristinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

Great value menu.Ham hock delicious and beef would melt in your mouth.Staff were excellent service excellent with a smile.Ambiance was cosy and comfy.I will be back again.

Thank DMcCabe83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thyme Restaurant also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to Thyme Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing