We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant ”
Review of Al Mezza

Al Mezza
Ranked #14 of 100 Restaurants in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Lebanese
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Restaurant ”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Hi every one :) just like to say this place is best place I know if u like try really nice food . It's something different , it's home made Lebanese food prepared by a Lebanese chef :) Every time we go there we comeback home satisfy and happy.

Helpful?
Thank marzena k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    46
    13
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One of my favourite spots in Athlone”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The food here is excellent and full of flavour. Once upon a time I used to eat almost weekly on Edgware Rd. in London which is pretty much Little Beirut, and the food in Al Mezza is every bit as good as anything I got there. In terms of starters/appetisers the vine leaf rolls are a must, the arayes was bursting with flavour, and the hummus was great too (and I can usually take or leave hummus). I went for a kafta dish for main course (I think it was called kafta bil souneye, or something along those lines) and again it was just full of flavour. Their spiced potatoes on the side are great too. We got a Lebanese red wine, which was a first for me, and I really enjoyed it.

A visit here is always a treat, and the only negative I can possibly say is that it seems a bit on the pricey side, but maybe I have just been spoiled by all of the cheap Lebanese food in London!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colman_OB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Absolute gem, can't wait to come again!!!”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Ate here last night & I only have compliments for the place. We arrived 30mins early for our table & they took us in no problem. Starters & mains were delish, didn't have room for dessert but the table next to us got a big slice of gooey chocolate cake- I was very tempted! The owner dealt with an extremely rude table next to us with poise & professionalism for a completely unjustified complaint (no pleasing everyone!). Next time we're in athlone, this place will be our first stop! 3 starters, 2 mains & a bottle of wine - €57! Excellent value for money too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Afay03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“My favourite in Athlone”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Al Mezza in Bastion street is my favourite Athlone restaurant. Set next to my favourite Athlone shop...the Bastion Gallery. The restaurant didn't disappoint on my latest visit however the Gallery was closed. Sign of the times, it's closed Monday and Tuesdays.
Al Mezza has late opening hours, serving from 17.30 to 22.00 ish.( closed on Tuesdays. )
All food very tasty and surprisingly non-expensive. The house wine goes down well. Lovely old house full of character. Try it.....you'll keep coming back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluetan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Good food, but not brilliant. It could have been better. Service can improve as well. Very expensive price.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TheDubliner_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Mezza also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to Al Mezza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing