We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely B&B in central location”
Review of Roncalli B&B

Roncalli B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Athlone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roncalli B&B
Ranked #18 of 20 Athlone B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I stayed at this bed and breakfast last weekend while visiting Athlone for a friend's 50th. I found the location to be excellent, within two minutes of the centre of town and in such a quiet location you wouldn't know you were in town. The proprietor Ann made me feel very welcome and was so friendly and courteous, making sure that all was fine for me. The room was warm and the bed was nice and cosy, and after a night out I couldn't have asked for better. Breakfast was great and set me up well for the long drive home. I will definitely stay here again when visiting Athlone, cos it felt like home.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mags H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

My husband and myself spent New Years Eve and New Years day in Athlone, staying 2 nights at the Roncalli B & B. Roncalli B & B has a great location, free parking and very close walking distance to the city center of Athlone. The owner is very knowledgeable of the area and is very helpful with directions and recommendations of places to visit in Athlone and the surrounding area. She is most accomodating.The breakfast is included in the room rate and is superb. The rooms were very clean and comfortable with beautiful bed linens. This is a home away from home. I highly recommend Roncalli B & B for the place to stay if you are in Athlone.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Irvin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I was driving from to Dublin on my way back from Galway having made the same trip that morning and having had a working day in between and I felt my eyes start to close with the monotony of the motorway, so I took the next exit off it which led me to Athlone town. I decided to get some rest for the night. It wasn't long before I found Roncalli B&B tucked in at the end of a residential road, a stone's throw away from the bus station and local pubs and restaurants.

The first thing I noticed was how welcoming it looked from the outside, beautiful virginia creeper covering the house and a lamp light on in the porch which said to me "come in".

The woman of the house, Ann, greeted me kindly and told me she had a room to rest my head and showed me up the stairs. The room was just right, floral pattern quilt (as it should be in my opinion) and a cup of tea at the ready. I was at ease immediately, this was like visiting my granny's.

Ann informed me of a great place to eat for dinner - Top Deck Bistro - which was delicious at good value, after which I was back in my room in no time to settle in for a good night's sleep, which I got. The bed was really cozy and the surrounding area was quiet and peaceful.

The next morning I awoke to Ann's soft knock on the door which was a life saver as my alarm never went off and I had told her I wanted to be up early!

The highlight for me was entering the dining room on the way to the breakfast room... well she had candles lit and music playing, so calming and comfortable...

The full Irish was just what the doctor ordered and it was livened up considerably by Coco, Ann's lovely little poodle!

Thanks for a great stay Ann :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Maeve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

I was visiting family earlier this year and stayed at the Roncalli B and B while I was in Athlone. The hotel is in a great location within walking distance of all of Athlone's attractions. The feel was warm, and the rooms were cozy and comfortable. Breakfast comes with the room and is tasty and more than generous. The proprietor was charming and really gave me a feel of Ireland. I would definitely recommend this b and b.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kcub55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

I had the misfortune of staying there a few days ago. This place is horrid.

Quite an unfriendly "welcome" at the door. As soon as she opened the door to the bedroom I was hit by a very off-putting odour, that's when I really should have left. I thought that opening the window would clear the smell somewhat, but after leaving it open for a few hours the stink was still untamed. The bathroom was also far from ideal. The entire house looked like it wasn't done up for at least 30 years. The stuffed foxes were much better company than the rude proprietor during my stay.

For breakfast I started with a bowl of stale cornflakes. I then opted for the cheese omelette, which was a clearly microwaved, pale and soggy affair, which I couldn't possibly get through.

Definitely not children friendly. Not couple friendly. Nobody friendly. I was forced to pay upfront for the room and I now understand why.

When my partner tried to mention a few problems I had Ann refused to listen, told him to leave and closed the door in his face. She said that she has been 18 years in the business and she is happy with how she does things.

If there is any organisation in Ireland that regulates B&Bs they should certainly consider closing this place down.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Breathless60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Erika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Angelika A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
2,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.5 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,145 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
0.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roncalli B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roncalli B&B

Address: 42 Saint Francis Terrace, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Athlone
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing