We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful”
Review of Shines Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shines Guesthouse
Ranked #14 of 20 Athlone B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I paid 135 euro to stay here for two nights. The room was frezen floor bord heating no such thing . And towls were filty . Yous have false advertising on your webpage. The stay was terrible i slept with my jumper on it was that cold and couldnt have a shower there was no hot water . When i rang the manger her attitude was diar and i was told there was nothing she could do . You try fool people with these rooms and when you get there.money you don't care what they say . It was like staying in a hostel . You have a wheelchair access room which didn't make sense as you have two flights of stair to get up so i dont no how a wheel chair is ment to get up there . Over all i wouldn't stay here ever again and the manger obviously doesn't no how to deal with customers

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lucy1771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2012

I followed the sign to reception UPSTAIRS only to see another sign telling me to go the bar DOWNSTAIRS to book in and then return UPSTAIRS again - I needed to connect to wifi (free) but there was no phone in my room so I had to go DOWNSTAIRS again to get instructions and back UPSTAIRS again with staff member. Room was very clean and tidy. No table or chairs in room. No reception on telly in bedroom - admittedly, this was the first night of the new 'digital only - no analogue' broadcasts - no central heating in the morning (and the radiator knob was missing so, I couldn't turn it on (if that was the problem). Very good nights sleep. Very good and tasty breakfast in the morning (but for some reason when I asked for milk for the tea she brought me out that awful UHT milk ugh!!!).
In spite of all the above I would go back again and would encourage others to do likewise.

Room Tip: Steakhouse underneath (same ownership) have a very nice, good value, menu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Was expecting great things from Shines but, alas, I was to be disappointed. First impressions were good - I was travelling alone but had a room with two double beds. However, on walking into the bathroom the stench that hit my nose was revolting! It was a mix of dead animals and blocked drains. A staff member came up to have a look on the 2nd day, made a pathetic attempt to unblock the sink (which wasn't blocked) and told me it was sorted. It wasn't! Other issues - the internet didn't work, I had to sort that myself by fiddling with the modem, the floor hadn't been vacuumed for what seemed like days, a fried breakfast was dumped on my table, having ordered nothing and the noise from outside was horrendous!

If you're thinking of staying here, don't - choose elsewhere!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed at Shines Guesthouse in late July 2012. It's a sweet little hotel, not the fanciest and some of the decor is a bit faded but clean, tidy, and looked after.

We often have trouble finding places to stay that don't require us to rent two separate rooms (and thereby blow our budget) to accommodate the two adults and three children in the family. They put an inflatable bed in the room for our smallest (10yo) and there was still plenty of space for everyone to move about.

The two girls who cooked breakfast were happy to make up what our three picky girls asked for and the price was 99 euros including breakfast for the five of us. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly in every way.

Room Tip: Ask for what you need! We found them very accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadGreenSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

As noted elsewhere, the Guesthouse is above the Shines pub; enter at the back of the building. Warning: entry is by an outside staircase to the first floor reception, i.e. no one is waiting to help with luggage. The guestrooms are spacious and comfortable; the bathrooms well equipped and quite large. The rooms at the back (low numbers) have no view to speak of but also little noise. There is a pleasant open common lounge with television. The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast room is large, the food is fresh, the choice is adequate and plentiful. Any special requests, such as decaf coffee and skimmed milk, were filled with a smile. The formerly mentioned retail has gone entirely and there is now a surprisingly good restaurant which can be entered through the pub or at the back, next to the Guesthouse stairs. Last orders for dinner are taken at 9 p.m. We stayed only 1 night, en route from Dublin airport to Connemara and found it an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToulouseorNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Stayed here for one night.
Room was rough around the edges with doors appearing to be unpainted, a few cobwebs and a clothes rail in place of a wardrobe.
Quite a lot of road noise from the front rooms.
Breakfast okay, but nothing special.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtrouardriolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

If you base your view of Shines Guesthouse on the outside, you likely won't go in, and will miss out on a very nice stay. The guesthouse is on the upper floors of a lively pub, a kebab shop and some minor retail, so we expected (from past experience!) either a noisy or noisome accommodation. We were pleased that was not the case, however, after entering the guesthouse through a stairwell to the rear of the pub. The guesthouse is much larger than expected, with large rooms and large, very clean bathrooms with large walk-in stall showers. The king beds were very comfortable with ample pillows. The guesthouse also had free, working wi-fi (a must when traveling off the cuff), and no noise could be heard from the pub at all even though our rooms were directly above the pub and a bandwas playing as we walked through after coming back from town. The location of the guesthouse is not ideal if you want to be in Athlone center (45 minute walk strolling idly, 35 if booking it) but we're walking types so it was fine with us. The breakfast (included) was excellent and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Parking was free behind the building. Not a bad little spot at all!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AshStanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
11.5 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
10.8 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,957 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
12.9 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,162 reviews
10.8 mi away
Arch House B&B & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shines Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shines Guesthouse

Address: Baylough, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Athlone
Price Range: £54 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shines Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shines Guesthouse is a finished to the highest standard offering you luxury of a hotel at bed and breakfast rates ..All our bedrooms host king size sleigh beds, full size cable TV, tea & coffee, under floor heating, free internet. We are located just 5 minutes from Athlone town centre. On our doorstep is Shines Bar, tesco express, take away cafe and a betting office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Shines Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing