We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good B&B.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverview House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 20 Athlone B&B and Inns
Clifden, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good B&B.”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We had a nice stay at this hotel,in a big family room.
The room was very clean and warm.
The owner was very friendly.Breakfast was very nice and tasty.
Free wi-fi,free parking and for us the location was perfect as well.
Very good value for the money!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room number 1.It was erfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterH1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
fiumicello
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I had a nice stay at this B&B, we had a big family room with all amenities and the welcome was friendly, Breakfast was rich and yummy.
It would be a four star except only for the position on a main road, and the night curtains too thin: I didn't really sleep very well because of the noise and the light

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azulejoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonia, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This was our 2nd stop on our family tour. And our first B and B of the trip. The owner Carmel met us at the door and accommodated with any need. Suggested a nice restaurant in Athlone, where we enjoyed dinner that evening. Breakfast was good! The only negative was the shower, no water pressure. Kinda just trickled out.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MYRAandFELIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nampa, Idaho
Level Contributor
153 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Riverview with a group just yesterday and everyone agreed it was a grand experience! Carmel welcomed us warmly to their very homey B&B, which featured immaculate and nicely appointed rooms, comfy beds, lots of lounge space, excellent wifi connection, very convenient location just off the M-6 (midway between Dublin and Galway too), homemade scones, and a really wonderful breakfast buffet and cooked breakfast! It is just a quick 5 minute drive from downtown Athlone, featuring a long list of pub/restaurant choices (including 'Sean's', Ireland's oldest pub and 'Hatters Lane, our personal favorite restaurant in the city). We highly recommend a stay at Riverview B&B ... it is on our we'll definitely be back list!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishwriter1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Listowel
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2013

just back after 3 nights in riverview b&b carmel was a lovely host room was fantastic and added bonus cleaned every morning and beds made breakfast was lovely and situated very close to athlone would definetly recommend this place to any1 my little boy loved it too

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryToomey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Very welcoming hosts. Excellent facilities and very good breakfast. Loveley bedroom and comfortable bed. Very conveneintly situated for travelling across Ireland or for visiting
Clonmacnoise. Information readily available on where to eat in Athlone

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My daughter and I stayed here last night what a lovely place to stay the hostess was so helpful and friendly the rooms were excellent and the breakfast was second to none. We were so happy with our choice as we didn't know Athlone at all and just booked on line I would definitely recommend Riverview House

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
0.5 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
1.0 mi away
Shannonside House B&B
Shannonside House B&B
#1 of 20 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Riverview House Bed and Breakfast
Address: Summerhill, Old Galway Rd, R446, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverview House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 story red brick house located on the R446 on the west side of Athlone, 2 minute drive from M6 to Galway or Dublin. Free private parking. Free Wifi. All rooms en-suite with flat screen TVs & Tea/Coffee facilities. Garden for guests use. Credit cards accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Riverview House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing