We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent all round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Co Cork
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“excellent all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

Excellent Quality food well presented in a relaxed atmosphere well priced in a very central location friendly staff especially Sheila. Well done

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tyrone_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2011
Dear Guest,
Thanks you for taking the time to review us and for your positive feedback. We've passed your compliments on to Sheila who was delighted to be remembered. We hope to see you back in the Prince of Wales; remember that our best rates are always to be found on our website or by calling our reservations.
Regards,
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    224
    74
    26
    32
See reviews for
90
293
34
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

Posting this from my room 211.im only here a few hours and feel relaxed and welcome and thats what we all want .:) This hotel is clean well placed near shopping river castle etc food in the bar is second to none and the staff friendly and very helpfull . If you are looking for a hotel in athlone you wont do better for value location and service . Colm and jenni

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colm2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2011
Dear Colm & Jenni,
Thanks you for your kind words. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to the Prince of Wales.
Regards,
Chris Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

The management of this hotel are absolutely terrible. The manner which they dealt with our queries was pathetic.

The manager was one of the rudest people i have ever met.

The room service was 23 hours late & not cooked correctly...Dangerous

Do yourself a favor and dont waste your well earned money on this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sar51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubdutch, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
Further to your review posted above I’d like to address the 2 points that you make.
The first in relation to room service being 23 hours late: I don’t believe that this could have happened as you only stayed for one night. Secondly, it was myself, the Hotel General Manager, that dealt with your complaint. Considering the events I had to bring to your attention, I know that I acted in a professional and courteous manner at all times. I genuinely tried to deal with the situation in the best way possible and felt that I was more than fair with both you and your group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

Spent 2 nights in Athlone and found that the Prince of Wales Hotel has a great location. The staff were freindly and service minded. The rooms were as I had expected - I slept well and woke up refreshed. Great Irish food and attentive restaurant staff. I will definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohanKK5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review! We very much appreciate the time you've taken to comment on us. We hope to see you back in Athlone soon.
Regards,
Chris Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

We went into this hotel because it was the cheapest we could find in the area and needed a place to stay that night. Our room was £60, which was a great deal so our expectations were fairly low. The room itself was fine but at 3am, our drunken next door neighbours came up after spending a night at the hotel's nightclub. The walls were paper thin and we could hear their conversation (they couldn't find their keycard and ten minutes of searching and talking later, they realised it was in the door all along). It was fine as a lastminute option and the fact that it had free parking was a real bonus.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D-Dog101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor. We're sorry that other guests kept you awake during your stay. We have a Night Porter on call through out the night to assist if there are any issues, and he'd happily have come up to deal with your neighbours if you had rang him. We're pleased you found us good value for money and look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.
Regards,
Chris Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

just back from a girls weekend. Hotel is really well located, especially for the really good shopping centre. Lady on reception very nice and welcoming. Bar staff were only ok in the service stakes. food very good though and pleasant relaxing breakfast. Nightclub was very good.Room large and very clean.
would definitely return for a fun weekend.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenster1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2011
Dear guest,
Thanks very much for your kind review; we're really glad you enjoyed your stay. Spread the word and remember to check back to our website as we're always putting up new special offers!
Chris Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

Stayed as part of a hen party and had a brilliant time. Hotel had a great hen package with B&B + Dinner + Bollywood class and discounted entry into niteclub. They reserved an area in the bar for us for lunch and that night for after dinner. Also reserved an area in the nite club for us. We were a large group so it was great that we didn't have to leave the hotel at all for the hen party and we all managed to stay together. Rooms are lovely and spacious. Seperate shower to bath. (Shower is huge) Reception staff were very helpful when one girl had to go to the doctor and organised everything for her. Food was lovely. Breakfast is until 11.30 on Sunday morning which is great - meant everyone could have a lie in. Hot breakfast food was made to order but there was a good selection including full irish and pancakes. Staff in residents bar were very nice and patient (not an easy job!). Hotel decor is very nice, lots of little sections in the bar which meant that you could have some privacy for a group. From check in to check out everything went very smoothly. Thanks for a great and very memorable hen weekend!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vandeleur79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2011
Dear guest,
We're really glad you and the rest of your group enjoyed your stay! It wa a pleasure having you here and we look forward to welcoming you back some time.
Kind regards,
Chris Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.5 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
2.1 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
3.6 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince of Wales Hotel

Property: The Prince of Wales Hotel
Address: Prince of Wales Church Street, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athlone
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#5 Family Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Prince of Wales Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with a big personality.We have 46 bedrooms and are a family run hotel which prides itself on friendliness and we take all feedback negative and positive to try improve and learn as we are going on. If you want a warm friendly welcome we are your hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Athlone
Prince Of Wales Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing