We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Prince of Wales Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hodson Bay Hotel(Athlone)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Athlone Springs Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creggan Court(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Grand Hotel(Moate)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cooneys Hotel(Ballymahon)
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (910)
Filter reviews
910 results
Traveller rating
499
258
80
37
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
499
258
80
37
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshen partyreserved areacentral locationcentre of townlovely hotelnext morningbar foodbar staffboth nightsan evening mealrooms were spotlesshotel barlast weekendcouldn't do enoughgreat nightstayed here for one nightbreakfast was excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
791 - 796 of 910 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Lovely hotel with good suite at superb price. meals and breakfast provided at very decent price if booked and paid in advance.

Hotel has own parking lot which is great for hotel in town centre

Athlone was lovely place with lovely friendly people.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CummingDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2011

Dear guest,
Thanks for your kind words. We're really glad that you enjoyed the hotel and also enjoyed your time in Athlone. We hope we get the chance to welcome you back. Keep an eye on our website for our best offers!
Regards,
Chris Vos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

I would give this Hotel a 5* plus rating. Everything about it was good I could not fault it on anything

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ChrisGreg0ry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2011

Dear Chris,
Thanks you for your kind words. I'm delighted you were so well looked after. We hope we get a chance to welcome you back to the prince of Wales before too long.
All the best,
Chris Vos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

really nice hotel,lots of features in room including a dvd player and an extensive library of movies available for just a deposit....well impressed!

Room Tip: reception so helpful specially Vicky!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blueboo1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2011

Hi Blueboo,
Thanks for taking the time to review us here. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and have passed on your compliments to Vicky! We hope to welcome you back.
Kind regards,
Chris Vos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

This is the type of hotel that has it all! Not one of your normal 4 star hotels with nice rooms but no real atmosphere. From a beautiful buffet lunch or a evening high quality steak you can guarantee nice food throughout the day. This seems to be a popular hotel with both locals and tourists who come and go all day.Although i travelled for business i would come hear again for short break. Central location with shops / entertainment on your doorstep.

Room Tip: Any room should be comfortable and affordable
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darin1471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2011

Dear Bobbydarin,
Thanks so much for your kind review. We appreciate that you have taken the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Regards,
Chris Vos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

I use the Prince of Wales regularly for personal travel and have used it recently for work. I consistently find the staff to be friendly and helpful, the quality of rooms to be top notch, and the attitudes to any (rare) issues I might raise always helpful - as if my complaint is just another opportunity for the staff to impress me with good service.

The rooms are quiet and comfortable, with the DVD player a nice touch, particularly if you are travelling with family. The in-room wifi actually works as well (unlike other hotels I've stayed in).

The Prince Bar does nice pub grup, and Athlone town has some amazing little eateries to explore as well, which the staff have always been happy to guide me to.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaraghOBrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2011

Dear Daragh,
Thank you for your on-going visits to the Prince of Wales Hotel and we're delighted that you have enjoyed your stays with us. Please don;t hesitate to contact me when coming again, and I'd be happy to look after you with our best rates.
Thank you for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
Chris Vos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews