We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$436
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$152
Radisson Blu
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Athlone Springs Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creggan Court(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Grand Hotel(Moate)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cooneys Hotel(Ballymahon)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (915)
Filter reviews
915 results
Traveller rating
502
260
80
37
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
502
260
80
37
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshen partyreserved areacentral locationcentre of townlovely hotelnext morningbar foodbar staffboth nightsan evening mealrooms were spotlesshotel barlast weekendcouldn't do enoughgreat nightstayed here for one nightbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
787 - 792 of 915 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I stayed in this hotel for one night last week. I booked my room in advance via the interent and appartently secured a small reduction in fee by doing so to 140 euro/night. This was room only! I then tried to cancel the night about two weeks in advance only to be told that this was a new internet booking regulation and there were no refunds. This was conpounded by the fact that they were now offering the same room for a much cheaper price. The room itself as per the norm with this type of hotel was small and pokey, as it seems you are penalised for being on your own. My friends that shared had much nicer rooms and paid less than I separately. Beware lone travellers!

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank HarryHole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince-WalesHotel, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

Dear Harry,
Thanks for taking the time to comment. I can't respond to your exact circumstances, as I don't have the full details, however, we do run a special prepay promotion on our website. It's very clearly a discount offer that is non-refundable.
As with most hotels now, we do charge per room per night with the rate between single occupancy and double occupancy being only slightly different. In no way do we do this to penalise solo travellers, but the cost to us of having a second person in the room is small and therefore we do not penalise couples travelling together by adding an unrealistic price for two people.
Regards,
Chris Vos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Good place to stay in Athlone overall, especially with a cheap rate. Nice facilities and a fantastic receptionist called Vicki. The internet is completely rubbish though... my husband spent an hour trying to get on to do some work and was sent all over the place (lobby, boardroom) to try and find a signal to no avail. Better for them just to admit that it doesn't work and get it sorted soon!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Hoffs_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince-WalesHotel, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

Dear guest,
Our apologies for the trouble you had with our wi-fi connection whilst you were here. We have changed IT support companies, as our wi-fi was dropping its internet connection from time to time. This has now been rectified.
Regards,
Chris Vos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Stayed for two nights,on city deal break. Sunday Monday. From the moment we arrived Staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Reception, Room, Food and Bar were all excellent. Unfortunately restaurant wasn't open and food was served in the bar which was fine. Very reasonably priced in all areas. Thanks to all for a great break. We will be back.

Ann & George Monks

Room Tip: Our room was spotless clean with double glazing over looking new shopping centre, alittle noisey with windows open but fine when closed.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ge01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince-WalesHotel, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

Thanks very much for you kind words. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Regards,
Chris Vos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Plus's:
Located right on the main street in Athlone
Staff very helpful and friendly
Bar very nicely decorated and lively
Free into downstairs nightclub for hotel guests

Negative's:
The air-conditioning in the room was broken so it was an uncomforatable 26 degrees celcius for the whole weekend.
Dinner in the restaurant was very poor - 3 unfussy people did not finish any of the 3 courses served (garlic mushrooms not cooked, veg had the consistency of baby food, banoffee with no bananas etc). No atmosphere either.
Breakfast in bed was not as ordered (got a full Irish instead of a veggie breakfast)

I would stay here again if the air-conditioning was working in the rooms but I would avoid the restaurant at all costs (the bar food looked much nicer!).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmn12340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Very modern inside. Perfect location, beside town centre shopping centre. So close to the river for great walks. Free parking.
Would visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dublinvisitor77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews