We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Exceeded Our Expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Prince of Wales Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Omagh, Co. Tyrone, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel Exceeded Our Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed here on Fri 29 and Sat 30 July with wife and youngest son (14) under a two night B+B break secured through Topaz Breakaways - 65 pounds for two nights. We found the hotel to be excellent with very friendly and helpful staff. We also hit lucky in that we arrived at the beginning of the hotels special food and drink promotion night. Samples of all the hotels cuisine were on offer to both guests and visitors all evening. I was particularly impressed with the Strawberry Daquairi's which were worth the trip on their own. On Saturday night there were at least two hen parties staying, so there was not much sleep before 2.30am. Also our room was above the night club and facing out onto the front of the hotel, but thankfully the double glazing cut down on the noise impact. I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone wishing to stay in the area. Athlone has plenty to offer those wanting a short weekend break and value for money wise, the Prince of Wales is definitely worth checking out

Room Tip: Check out any offers like the one we secured through greatbreaks.ie
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince-WalesHotel, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Dear guest,
I'm delighted you enjoyed you stay with us, and that you were here just in time for our 'taste of the Prince' night was certainly an added bonus. We hope to see you back in the future and thank you again for your kind comments.
Regards,
Chris Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    222
    74
    26
    32
See reviews for
88
289
34
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed here in April 2011. My stay was fine late booking but still got good rate for a single room. The room was a good size for a single and in good condition excellent shower in room. The hallways are a bit run down and dark and the lift could do with a facelift. Staff were good. The quality of the breakfast was terrible the hot food was the worst I ever had. Hotel ok for a quick stop over would not recommend if planning to stay around the hotel for a long period of time although its location is very good in the middle of Athlone.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince-WalesHotel, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments. We're glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. We have changed breakfast chef since April, as we did have a short period where we were not satisfied with the quality we were offering our customers. The rooms and corridors are getting a face lift over this coming winter, which will see an improvement there too.
Regards,
Chris Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

I stayed at the Prince of Wales for one night recently. It was reasonably priced considering its town centre location. It was clean with very pleasant helpful staff staff. My room was comfortable but overlooked the nightclub entrance which meant noise from both inside the club and outside the front door until quite late. I had a snack in the bar and found it tasty and good value. I would have appreciated complimentary bottled water in the room but that is a small quibble. I would be happy to stay there when next in Athlone but would request a quieter room.

Room Tip: Rooms over the nightclub are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mollym1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince-WalesHotel, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. When returning, if you ask for a quiet room, we have rooms away from the street in the back wing of the hotel and would be happy to assign one for you.
Regards,
Chris Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Stayed just one night and was quite happy with the hotel's decor, complimentary on-site parking and central location. The smallish double room (two people staying for several nights might find it a bit tight) but it had a spacious bathroom, came with tea/coffee maker, in-room safe, tv and working aircon! All staff we encountered were helpful & pleasant and the restaurant's food was nice. Breakfast was much better than dinner though and deserves a special mention - there was a large buffet selection of juices, cereals, fruits, meats, breads AND they ALSO offered a hot breakfast cooked to order! The lift needs refurbishing as it's at odds with the rest of the fairly recently renovated looks but apart from that it's a thumbs-up from me!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohjustpeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince-WalesHotel, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We've just launched a new dinner menu, so I hope - should you return - that you would see a change there.
Warm regards,
Chris Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

I stayed in this hotel for one night last week. I booked my room in advance via the interent and appartently secured a small reduction in fee by doing so to 140 euro/night. This was room only! I then tried to cancel the night about two weeks in advance only to be told that this was a new internet booking regulation and there were no refunds. This was conpounded by the fact that they were now offering the same room for a much cheaper price. The room itself as per the norm with this type of hotel was small and pokey, as it seems you are penalised for being on your own. My friends that shared had much nicer rooms and paid less than I separately. Beware lone travellers!

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryHole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince-WalesHotel, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Dear Harry,
Thanks for taking the time to comment. I can't respond to your exact circumstances, as I don't have the full details, however, we do run a special prepay promotion on our website. It's very clearly a discount offer that is non-refundable.
As with most hotels now, we do charge per room per night with the rate between single occupancy and double occupancy being only slightly different. In no way do we do this to penalise solo travellers, but the cost to us of having a second person in the room is small and therefore we do not penalise couples travelling together by adding an unrealistic price for two people.
Regards,
Chris Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portrush, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Good place to stay in Athlone overall, especially with a cheap rate. Nice facilities and a fantastic receptionist called Vicki. The internet is completely rubbish though... my husband spent an hour trying to get on to do some work and was sent all over the place (lobby, boardroom) to try and find a signal to no avail. Better for them just to admit that it doesn't work and get it sorted soon!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Hoffs_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince-WalesHotel, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Dear guest,
Our apologies for the trouble you had with our wi-fi connection whilst you were here. We have changed IT support companies, as our wi-fi was dropping its internet connection from time to time. This has now been rectified.
Regards,
Chris Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Stayed for two nights,on city deal break. Sunday Monday. From the moment we arrived Staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Reception, Room, Food and Bar were all excellent. Unfortunately restaurant wasn't open and food was served in the bar which was fine. Very reasonably priced in all areas. Thanks to all for a great break. We will be back.

Ann & George Monks

Room Tip: Our room was spotless clean with double glazing over looking new shopping centre, alittle noisey wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ge01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince-WalesHotel, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Thanks very much for you kind words. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Regards,
Chris Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.5 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
2.2 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince of Wales Hotel

Property: The Prince of Wales Hotel
Address: Prince of Wales Church Street, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#4 Business Hotel in Athlone
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#5 Family Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Prince of Wales Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with a big personality.We have 46 bedrooms and are a family run hotel which prides itself on friendliness and we take all feedback negative and positive to try improve and learn as we are going on. If you want a warm friendly welcome we are your hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Athlone
Prince Of Wales Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing