We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary made super special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Westmeath
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Anniversary made super special”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

From the moment we walked through the door we were greeted with friendliness, information and professionalism. Our son had surprised us with champagne to the room for our 16th wedding anniversary from england, he said the service he received was second to none. The hotel upgraded our room, it was spotlessly clean, the meal in the restaurant was fabulous and the service was supreme. Cannot wait to go back and am recommending it to everyone. Central to every amenity, Athlone is a fabulous little place. Thank you very very much

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince-WalesHotel, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Dear Guest,
We are so pleased that you completely enjoyed your stay with. We look forward to seeing you back for another anniversary in the not too distant future.
Warm regards,
Chris Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    233
    75
    30
    32
See reviews for
96
306
34
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2011

After purchasing a livingsocial voucher which included a double room,meal for two and a glass of wine, we decided to book a room for Sunday night on Saturday morning.I made the mistake of mentioning said voucher at the start of my conversation with the member of staff who answered the phone. To my disapointment she told me the hotel was booked up due to the bank holiday but I could book on Monday or Tuesday instead. My partner and I cheecked out the availability on the web and discovered there were vacancies for the whole week.My partner got back on the phone and went through the formalities of the booking process but left mentioning the voucher until last. Again, as soon as she mentioned our deal, there seemed to be a problem that all the rooms were booked up.We were blatantly lied too as we had the hotel web page open in front of us and could see the empty rooms available. After threatening to go to consumer affairs and the media, the manager finally came up with a vacancy.The moral of the story is be careful when purchasing Livingsocial vouchers with the Prince of Wales as you'll only get a vacancy when it suits them. For anyone who has a voucher, the main resturant is closed duing the week so be prepared for nice bar food.The hotel was nice though and the food was OK. The rooms were clean and spaceous but very warm and loud due to the nightclub below.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarneyandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince-WalesHotel, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Dear Guest,
Apologies for the confusion regarding your use of the Living Social vouchers. The vouchers are accepted for any night of the week, but it can happen that all discounted promotions can be closed when there is very limited availability in the hotel.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back some time soon.
Regards,
Chris Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2011

attended a hen party weekend at this hotel in July. i have to say the meal and serving staff was fantastic, the receptionist bubbly and enthusastic, the Prince bar lively and spotlessly clean. the dissapointment was 'no hen party attire in Karma the nightclub' - why promote hen weekends on your website - when questioned a member of staff was not able to provide a satisfactory response other than hotel policy.... our hen party was a very small group of close friends, the bride to be wearing a sash and a mini veil. no other attire was worn. it was removed from her head by a member of staff in a vicious abusive and threatening manner and advised to read the small print of her booking form!! Extremely rude staff in nightclub - i was sworn at several times by the staff, the bouncing staff seemed to concern themselves a bit too much with the silliness of a hen party and when a actual fight did break out and we feared for our safety they were nowhere to be seen. A very very very disappointing venue for a hen party weekend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank violetroseDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Prince of Wales Hotel and taking the time to submit your review. We have tried to contact you personally to discuss your review but have had no success. If you would like to discuss this matter with us further i would be delighted to talk to you. You can contact me directly at: manager@theprinceofwales.ie or the hotel telephone number:
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, your meal and your visit to the Prince bar! We have passed on your comments to all the relevant departments. Thank you!
We are sorry that your visit to Karma did not meet your expectations. We have long held a policy of no hen attire in the club. To date we have never had any problems with any of the hen groups who have always been more than happy to remove any hen attire.
Many years of experience has lead us to this policy, one of the reasons is indeed for the Hen party's own enjoyment of their night.
With reference to the treatment you describe in relation to the staff you encountered in the club I would very much like to follow this up. If you could call me then maybe I could get some more details from you and investigate this in more detail. I would take all allegations of bullying staff or abusive staff most seriously.
I look forward to hearing from you in due course.
Many kind regards,
Louise Cunningham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omagh, Co. Tyrone, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed here on Fri 29 and Sat 30 July with wife and youngest son (14) under a two night B+B break secured through Topaz Breakaways - 65 pounds for two nights. We found the hotel to be excellent with very friendly and helpful staff. We also hit lucky in that we arrived at the beginning of the hotels special food and drink promotion night. Samples of all the hotels cuisine were on offer to both guests and visitors all evening. I was particularly impressed with the Strawberry Daquairi's which were worth the trip on their own. On Saturday night there were at least two hen parties staying, so there was not much sleep before 2.30am. Also our room was above the night club and facing out onto the front of the hotel, but thankfully the double glazing cut down on the noise impact. I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone wishing to stay in the area. Athlone has plenty to offer those wanting a short weekend break and value for money wise, the Prince of Wales is definitely worth checking out

Room Tip: Check out any offers like the one we secured through greatbreaks.ie
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince-WalesHotel, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Dear guest,
I'm delighted you enjoyed you stay with us, and that you were here just in time for our 'taste of the Prince' night was certainly an added bonus. We hope to see you back in the future and thank you again for your kind comments.
Regards,
Chris Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed here in April 2011. My stay was fine late booking but still got good rate for a single room. The room was a good size for a single and in good condition excellent shower in room. The hallways are a bit run down and dark and the lift could do with a facelift. Staff were good. The quality of the breakfast was terrible the hot food was the worst I ever had. Hotel ok for a quick stop over would not recommend if planning to stay around the hotel for a long period of time although its location is very good in the middle of Athlone.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golfer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince-WalesHotel, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments. We're glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. We have changed breakfast chef since April, as we did have a short period where we were not satisfied with the quality we were offering our customers. The rooms and corridors are getting a face lift over this coming winter, which will see an improvement there too.
Regards,
Chris Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I stayed at the Prince of Wales for one night recently. It was reasonably priced considering its town centre location. It was clean with very pleasant helpful staff staff. My room was comfortable but overlooked the nightclub entrance which meant noise from both inside the club and outside the front door until quite late. I had a snack in the bar and found it tasty and good value. I would have appreciated complimentary bottled water in the room but that is a small quibble. I would be happy to stay there when next in Athlone but would request a quieter room.

Room Tip: Rooms over the nightclub are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollym1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince-WalesHotel, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. When returning, if you ask for a quiet room, we have rooms away from the street in the back wing of the hotel and would be happy to assign one for you.
Regards,
Chris Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Stayed just one night and was quite happy with the hotel's decor, complimentary on-site parking and central location. The smallish double room (two people staying for several nights might find it a bit tight) but it had a spacious bathroom, came with tea/coffee maker, in-room safe, tv and working aircon! All staff we encountered were helpful & pleasant and the restaurant's food was nice. Breakfast was much better than dinner though and deserves a special mention - there was a large buffet selection of juices, cereals, fruits, meats, breads AND they ALSO offered a hot breakfast cooked to order! The lift needs refurbishing as it's at odds with the rest of the fairly recently renovated looks but apart from that it's a thumbs-up from me!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohjustpeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince-WalesHotel, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We've just launched a new dinner menu, so I hope - should you return - that you would see a change there.
Warm regards,
Chris Vos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,884 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.5 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,057 reviews
2.1 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
912 reviews
4.0 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince of Wales Hotel

Property: The Prince of Wales Hotel
Address: Prince of Wales Church Street, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athlone
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#5 Family Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Prince of Wales Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with a big personality.We have 46 bedrooms and are a family run hotel which prides itself on friendliness and we take all feedback negative and positive to try improve and learn as we are going on. If you want a warm friendly welcome we are your hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Athlone
Prince Of Wales Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing