We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Call the hotel direct for rates as they offer good rates rather than mess about booking on the net. Excellent showers. All the live skysports in the bar. Slightly short staffed in the bar area, but not too bad as they aknowledge you, which is all we want initially. Great value and better than hotels in area. Free parking too.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sid-Roastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubdutch, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2011

Dear Sid-Roastie,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip adviser in relation to your recent stay in The Prince of Wales.

I appreciate your comments regarding our great value. In the current climate we are constantly reviewing our rates and do our best to offer good value. I will review our rostering but thankfully our bar staff acknowledged you which is very important to us.

We hope to welcome you back to The Prince of Wales in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Padraic Whelan
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (897)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

755 - 761 of 897 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2011

Myself and my wife stayed for 1 nite using a livingsocial voucher .For this we got 1 glass of Champayne ,1 glass of wine a 2 course meal and bed and breakfast for €79 total, unreal value .Hotel was nice,room was nice with big bed and massive shower.staff very friendly .Did some shopping in nearby shopping centre and after our meal we drank in the bar where there was A DJ .My wife enjoyed some coctails at the bar and we had a great nite.We would plan to stay here again as its only 1 hour car journey for us.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

thank you for making our stay in your hotel so nice . the staff were fab and so friendly and we realy enjoyed the breakfast . We will be back again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We got to stay at the POW by way of a voucher deal and I was half expecting to not be given the same service as everyone else.... how wrong I was. First off the staff are fantastic cant do enough. we had two babies and they were very helpful with everything from food to sleeping arrangments. The hotel is great family rooms are massive. Theres not too much outside noise even though its on a mian street of a busy town. If you dont want noise youve to close the windows otherwise youll get the full brunt. The lift is not massive but the foyer has a lovely fountain internet access and papers. Theres shops on your doorstep, the castle is about 5 mins walk away and theres an hour long river cruise for €10 per adult and kids free. Theres plenty of shopping and eating to be done. Back to the hotel. The rooms are great, double sink, double shower with massaging heads, one pity our room had no aircon but had a fan thank god, other rooms may have air con but not ours. food is great and according to the hubby not a bad pint of heiniken either ( my cpat morgans was yum). Our room was ideal for kids as the room was huge and little man ran around most of the night. The rooms also had a dvd player, it was a godsend. Wifi is included and super fast. Brakfast is a choice of fry up, french bread, fruit croissant etc etc great value great hotel will definatley go back.

Room Tip: Rm 201 massive not too near the road spotless clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BootzB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Fantastic welcome by new manager who met us on arrival as we prepared for our charity event tomorrow morning starting off from the town hall and civic centre right across the road from the centrally located hotel.
Hopefully judging by our reception this will be the start of an annual event
WE WILL BE BACK

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaelthompson247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I booked into the Prince of Wales late one night and was greeted by friendly staff that couldnt have been more helpful.
The room was clean and nicely decorated in muted tones, with a comfortable double bed that had a brown leather headboard.
The bathroom was even better and had the best power shower I have ever had the pleasure to use.
You dont really get a view staying in the Prince but I didnt feel I needed it being quite happy with the room itself and I had the television to amuse myself if I needed to look at something.
Inside the wall unit there were facilities for making tea and coffee as well as an ironing board and iron.

There was a great choice at breakfast.
Guests could serve themselves from a selection of breads, cereals, fresh fruit , yoghurt, cheese and even some smoked salmon from a self service counter to start with.
I had a small Irish breakfast on my second morning and was pleased with the quality of the ingredients and with the way they were cooked and served.
It looked like they were using good quality local ingreedients.
On the first morning I had the pancakes but they were heavier and dryer than I would have liked, the Irish breakfast was definitely the better choice.
The price for staying at the beginning of the week was quite reasonable and the hotel was busy.
On the way down in the lift on the first day one of the other guests commented to me that it was a lovely hotel and was very reasonable for the standard it was offering.
The atmosphere was good in the hotel and anyone I dealt with was very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frieze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2011

Dear Guest,
On behalf of the management and staff here in The Prince Of Wales hotel I would like to thank you sincerely for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay.
I was delighted with your opinion of our staff, bedroom facilities and bathrooms.
We continually strive to improve all of our products on offer and are constantly trying new items on our breakfast selection.We currently have a fairly new kitchen team in place and we are very proud that we homebake our breads pastrys and all of our breakfasts are cooked fresh.We do our utmost to source local produce whenever possible.
Hopefully we will see you again in the near future and again thank you for your positive feedback.

Padraic Whelan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

A group of friends recently stayed at this hotel. Unfortunately we had a berevament and some of the party had to cancel last minute, there was absolutely no problem with this the staff accommodated us in every way they could and even put a bottle of bubbly in my daughters room (she was the bride to be) to make up for the events that had overtaken her weekend. Food, staff, rooms couldnt be faulted.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesolodublin_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you choosing to stay in the Prince of Wales hotel and for your recent review of your experience.
Again our condolences regarding the bereveament .I was delighted to read that you and your group had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone in the near future.

Padraic Whelan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
2,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
2.1 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,242 reviews
3.6 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Church Street, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athlone
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: £44 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Prince of Wales Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with a big personality.We have 46 bedrooms and are a family run hotel which prides itself on friendliness and we take all feedback negative and positive to try improve and learn as we are going on. If you want a warm friendly welcome we are your hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Athlone
Prince Of Wales Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing