We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Couldn't have been better”
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Stayed on the 22nd October with a group of friends and was very impressed with everything this hotel has to offer. Car parking spaces were tight but not really too much trouble. Receptionist was lovely, very welcoming and professional. The hotel is spotlessly clean from top to bottom. Bar and lounge area is lovely, very well decorated and bar staff very friendly and efficient. Would recommend the steak sandwich, cooked to perfection and very well presented, the perfect meal before a good night's partying. Bedrooms are lovely, very big room, huge bed, lovely big bathroom with seperate walk in shower, very modern and spotlessly clean. Nightclub is very good, haven't been clubbing for years but the place was packed and a great night. A special word of thanks to Dave the night doorman, very friendly and again very professional, resident's bar staff also very friendly at 4am!
Rang down and requested room service breakfast at 10.30am, was worried we may have missed breakfast but again, not a problem. Receptionist was lovely and a great breakfast delivered very promptly.
Would recommend this hotel to anybody, great value for the price and the product is first class, but what makes this place is the staff. Very friendly, efficient and couldn't have done enough for us. We will definitely return in the future, thank you for a great night.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 214, would recommend to anyone, however we had 8 rooms booked and everyone was ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Dear Guest,

I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in the Prince of Wales and appreciate all your positive feedback.

It is nice to see the little things noticed. We pride ourselves on our friendly efficient staff. I have passed your comments onto Dave.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Midlands and the Prince of Wales in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    227
    74
    28
    32
See reviews for
92
298
34
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

brilliant weekend for my daughters hen party..hotel surpassed all expectations and cocktail making class was fantastic..could'nt recommend it more

Room Tip: all the rooms we saw were fantasic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sodaev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay in The Prince of Wales and for taking the time to post a review.

I was delighted to see your kind comments regarding your daughters hen party. The guests were a pleasure to deal with from start to finish.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

booked a nite stay in the hotel,parking is located at the rear of the hotel,but it is very tight ,check in was effortless and made very welcome from the 1st second we walked in,the rooms are very big and the double bed is huge,the heating in the rooms and hallway's can be stuffy,especially in the bedroom at nite,it was quite difficult to get comfortable,a big fan is provided in the room so the management are doing something sort this out,breakfast is lovely and you get plenty,found it very busy both mornings but the staff were gr8 and always asked was everything ok,the location of the hotel is gr8 and is in the centre of the town,we did enjoy our stay and if back up in this part of the country will have no bother booking here again

Room Tip: there is a nite club under the rooms,we were over it and barely heard the music form it,so maybe ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cork_m30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review.

I appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff, bedrooms and breakfast. Due to part of the hotel being a protected building we were limited in the size of window when we were renovating. We have come across a lot of problems regarding the heat in the rooms, as you pointed out we have large fans or air conditioning units in the rooms to try address the problem.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales hotel.

With Best Regards,

Padriac Whelan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We had a wonderful stay in this hotel. It has a great location, central to everything. It also has so much on site, lovely restaurant and fab bar with lots of atmosphere and one of best niteclubs in the town. But the best aspect of this hotel was the staff. We have stayed in many hotels in lots of different countries but we found the staff here to be the most friendly, helpful and pleasant. They could not have done more for us and really made our stay. We will be back and have already told our friends. The only small downside was the breakfast could have been better but dinner and bar food was lovely

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RegtravelAandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and taking the time to submit your review.

I was delighted to read your positive comments about our bar, restaurant and nightclub. We are very proud of the friendless of our staff and a smile means a lot. We constantly review our operation and your comments regarding breakfast have been taken on-board.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Athlone and the Prince of Wales in the near future.

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed at this Hotel in Athlone for 2 nights.... This Hotel should be used to show other Hotels exactly how its done!! The Manager is Fantastic,Brialliant Fully switched on to customers needs...nothing escapes his eyes..from seeing Disabled people out of the building into their cars..opening doors for the elderly been friendly and thorough with all other customers..The staff are also second to none just shows how good the manager is they were so polite friendly helpful and professional at all times..The food is just Superb ...Breakfast was Beautiful ...Sunday Roast was perfection at its best ....The Hotel rooms are Beautiful ...There is nothing bad I can say about thid Hotel..we have recommended it since we came back to the U.K and lots of our friends have also stayed since and have told me they also are of the same opinion as myself... we travel around hotels most weekends and only wish we could find one to Compare ... We are looking Forward to our next Trip to this Beautiful efficient hotel
Olivia and Tony Smith

Room Tip: l of the rooms are of a high Standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Livi196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review.

I was delighted to read your positive comments in relation to the hotel and myself in particular, thank you. It was great that your friends found us good also.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales Hotel again.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Myself and my 2 friends ventured up for a one night girly break away, and it couldnt have been a more pleasurable experience!! Our check in was efficient, with the receptionist being extremely friendly and helpful, and after we got to our rooms there was even a courtesy call to make sure our room was ok! (a very nice touch in my opinion!)

The room itself was large considering there was twin beds and a camp bed, we had loads of space, not cramped at all. The bathroom was very well maintained, and the shower is to die for!!! Talk about power!!! Possibly the nicest hotel shower I have ever experienced!

We had a meal included in our package, the Hostess Kate was a delight, she also took our order and made our dinner very personal and took the time to chat with us, the food itself was delicious and the portion sizes were more than adequate!

After leaving Karma (the nightclub belonging to the Hotel) we had a few drinks in the Residents bar, which is very comfortable and the night porter was a pleasure to deal with, he was very accommodating towards the gang of us that were very reluctent to see the night end!!

All in all our one night stay was excellent, I would definately make this hotel my number 1 choice to stay in Athlone, everything from its Location (bang smack central!), to the staff and rooms was perfect. A great night was had by all :-)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ofelia69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review.

I was delighted to read your positive comments regarding the quality of our rooms, bar and nightclub. We recently introduced the courtesy call and find it very beneficial for ourselves and the guests. I have passed your comments onto our night-porter, as it can be a very tough lonely job.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales.

Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My Mum & I stayed at the Prince of Wales for a night during August. I can't fault anything about the hotel, staff were extremely friendly and helpful but not over the top, room was lovely, very comfortable and the food was divine. Would definitely stay again. Especially as it's right beside the shopping centre.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the the Prince of Wales Hotel.

It was great to read that your Mum and you enjoyed your recent stay at the Prince of Wales. We try our up-most to be friendly and helpful without being obtrusive.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.5 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
2.1 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
3.6 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince of Wales Hotel

Property: The Prince of Wales Hotel
Address: Prince of Wales Church Street, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#4 Business Hotel in Athlone
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#5 Family Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Prince of Wales Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with a big personality.We have 46 bedrooms and are a family run hotel which prides itself on friendliness and we take all feedback negative and positive to try improve and learn as we are going on. If you want a warm friendly welcome we are your hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Athlone
Prince Of Wales Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing