We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay - friendly staff, lovely rooms and would definitely go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2012

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful towards us, the service was excellent and the rooms beautiful. We were here for a few weeks with work and the staff done everything possible to make us feel at home!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leannequinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Leanne,

Many thanks for your lovely kind review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed stay, it was a pleasure having you and your colleagues with us. If Dealz ever open a second outlet in Athlone don't forget to pay us a visit.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Athlone and the Prince of Wales.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

664 - 670 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2012

I stopped in this hotel for over a month with work and it is by far the best hotel i have ever stopped at. the team there were really friendly and accomodating and the restaraunt food is second to none. also, the location of the hotel is right in the town centre

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jleonard89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Jonathan,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments.

We were delighted to see that you and your colleagues enjoyed your stay. I appreciate it is not nice staying in a hotel for a full month, but we tried our best to make you feel at home and the whole group were a pleasure to deal with.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales and Athlone in the future.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Booked in at 5pm and given a lovely room. Spacious clean moder and very comfortable. Dining room closed but as residents they had a special area for dining and the food ws superb.........breakfast in the dining room was absolutely wonderful. An array of juice, fruit, cereal, porridge, pastries and also the full irish.......amazing. The staff from the recerptionist, Laura to the evening waiters, the breakfast waitress, made you feel welcome and happy. A must...in fact I would definitely return at the drop of a hat

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScotlandFartravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your lovely review of the Prince of Wales Hotel.

I was very pleased to read all your comments. I have passed them along to all the staff. We try our up-most to offer a "Céad Míle Fáilte".

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales and the Midlands on your next trip.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

A group of Family Carers from Westmeath and Longford attended a fabulous Christmas Party in The Prince of Wales Hotel in December 2011 organised by Longford/ Westmeath branch of The Carers Association. Carers were extremely impressed by the Coctails in the lobby on arrival, the meal was second to none and the carers were treated like royalty by staff who couldn't do enough for them. After the delicious meal, they were treated to the talents of the in house DJ who kept them well entertained for the night with his brilliant variety of music which had them on their feet and on the dance floor. The night was over too far too soon as far as the carers were concerned when the bus arrived to take them home. A memorable night was had by all and for all the right rearons. We would highly recommend the Prince for Parties for their professionalism and friendliness. Well done and thanks so much.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caroline p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Caroline & fellow carers,

Many thanks for your lovely review.

We were delighted to welcome your party to the Prince of Wales. I am glad that the carers enjoyed the night as you have a very important and often thankless job.

I am looking forward to welcoming the Westmeath and Longford branch back again next year for an even bigger better party.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Had my hen party here and was absolutely delighted with the hotel. First impressions were that the staff were so nice and helpful. Our rooms were all side by side on the one floor and were very comfortable and clean. The dinner and breakfast was perfect. The hen package organised by the hotel was brilliant and ran very smoothly. We didnt have to worry about a thing. I thought it was great that we had our own area in the bar, nite club and even where our rooms were which meant we didnt disturb or interfere with any of the other guests staying in the hotel. Overall we all had a great nite and would definitely recommend this hotel for its location and value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shelly111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments in relation to your recent stay in the Prince of Wales.

We were delighted that all went to plan for the hen party and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We cater to a diverse clientele from corporates to hen/stay parties and try our up-most to keep everyone happy.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Midlands and The Prince of Wales in the near future.

Best of luck with the wedding.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

stayed in hotel from 13th-15th feb 2012 valentines night meal was very tasty but a teens dance was across road from hotel and most were smoking in entrance to hotel and in toilets was surprised to see so many yound girls in hotel changing clothes in the toilet area to go to dance it was a pity because hotel had a good rep,but i would not recomend this hotel there was no door staff there is a night club wed-sun if you want a quite hotel go else where

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to send in your review.I was delighted to see that you had a great meal.It seems that the things that upset your stay were totally beyond our control. Unfortunately one of the neighbouring businesss held a teenage disco we would not have been aware of this taking place. 8 busloads of teenagers were dropped in the vicinity of our hotel from 8 pm onwards.Paul our bar supervisor did contact a member of our security team and he came in at approx 11pm and monitored the hotel door but at this stage most of these kids were gone to their disco. We also did alert the loacl guards as they were drinking cans etc in the chuch grounds ajacent to the hotel.Unfortunately we had no control whatsoever to the holding of this event and due to such large volmes it was very difficult to stop them entering our premises to use the toilets. I can understand how it may not have been pleasant to look at but also I may add that these events are not a regular occurance in the town. We do have a night club on the premises but we have double glazing on all our windows and we have added a second window to any room that could be affected by the night club but thankfully we generally do not have many noise complaints other than the normal ones that you would associate with being located in such a central position in a town centre. I hope you give us a second chance as it seems you enjoyed your stay other than the teenage disco that was beyond our control, if so please contact me direct at manager@theprinceofwales.ie so that I can make sure you are allocated a very quite room. Again I thank you for your comments as we do take all comments onboard and learn from them.
Regards
Padraic Whelan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Stayed here with my wife and another couple for 2 nights b & b 1 on the 10 & 11 Feb 2012 Evening Meal excellent hotel staff were friendly Great Full Irish Breakfast would Keep you fed till evening time will return and beside every thing

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eamon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,972 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
952 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,189 reviews
2.1 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Church Street, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#4 Business Hotel in Athlone
#5 Family Hotel in Athlone
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: £45 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Prince of Wales Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with a big personality.We have 46 bedrooms and are a family run hotel which prides itself on friendliness and we take all feedback negative and positive to try improve and learn as we are going on. If you want a warm friendly welcome we are your hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Athlone
Prince Of Wales Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing