We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$371
US$273
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creggan Court(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hodson Bay Hotel(Athlone)
US$122
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Athlone Springs Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$76
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Moate)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cooneys Hotel(Ballymahon)
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (910)
Filter reviews
910 results
Traveller rating
499
258
80
37
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
499
258
80
37
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshen partyreserved areacentral locationcentre of townlovely hotelnext morningbar foodbar staffboth nightsan evening mealrooms were spotlesshotel barlast weekendcouldn't do enoughgreat nightstayed here for one nightbreakfast was excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
699 - 704 of 910 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed here before , always a lovely place , from convenient car parking , friendly staff , good service .This time was great , beautiful room , lovely clean hotel , staff friendly and courtous , good value for money , centre of town , good carparking , what more could u ask for ,, excellent

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomCavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review.

We were delighted to see you enjoyed your stay in every aspect. We strive to offer a friendly homely well run hotel and take all comments on board positive & negative.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales & the Midlands.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed at the hotel for nights while doing some work in Athlone found the stay very nice, clean and the food was great. Only one issue there was a lot of noise in the corridor outside my room on the last night which the hotel staff seemed to ignore, but if you have to stay in Athlone this is the place must be a really beautiful place in the summer months

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulandalisonlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

Thank you for your positive comments in relation to your stay. I have also asked the night porter to carry our more floor walks to monitor noise. Athlone and the Prince of Wales are beautiful like most of Ireland when we have a "rare" bit of sunshine.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales soon.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful towards us, the service was excellent and the rooms beautiful. We were here for a few weeks with work and the staff done everything possible to make us feel at home!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leannequinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Leanne,

Many thanks for your lovely kind review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed stay, it was a pleasure having you and your colleagues with us. If Dealz ever open a second outlet in Athlone don't forget to pay us a visit.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Athlone and the Prince of Wales.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I stopped in this hotel for over a month with work and it is by far the best hotel i have ever stopped at. the team there were really friendly and accomodating and the restaraunt food is second to none. also, the location of the hotel is right in the town centre

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jleonard89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Jonathan,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments.

We were delighted to see that you and your colleagues enjoyed your stay. I appreciate it is not nice staying in a hotel for a full month, but we tried our best to make you feel at home and the whole group were a pleasure to deal with.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales and Athlone in the future.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Booked in at 5pm and given a lovely room. Spacious clean moder and very comfortable. Dining room closed but as residents they had a special area for dining and the food ws superb.........breakfast in the dining room was absolutely wonderful. An array of juice, fruit, cereal, porridge, pastries and also the full irish.......amazing. The staff from the recerptionist, Laura to the evening waiters, the breakfast waitress, made you feel welcome and happy. A must...in fact I would definitely return at the drop of a hat

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScotlandFartravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your lovely review of the Prince of Wales Hotel.

I was very pleased to read all your comments. I have passed them along to all the staff. We try our up-most to offer a "Céad Míle Fáilte".

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales and the Midlands on your next trip.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews