We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Just back from a weekend in the Prince of Wales Athlone with a group of golfers. Have to say fantastic service at reception in the restaurant and in the bar , Restored my faith in Irish hospitality

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review.

You and your fellow golfers were a pleasure to deal with. We strive to get the good old "Céad Míle Fáilte" welcome across to all our guests and I was delighted to see you noticed.

Hopefully see you next year.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 863 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed here last nite for a party,we had booked a double room for me and husband,on our arrival the staff at desk were so nice than we got to our room and the room was fab,big and spacious was well impressed with it.room was cosy and warm and bathroom was huge 2 sinks and bath and shower we were well impressed at the room for the cost of it.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Dear Pauline,

Thank you for your recent stay and submitting a review of same.

We pride ourselves on our facilities and staff. We are delighted that you found our rooms of a high standard.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Id like to thank all the guys at the Prince for such a welcomeing stay for my first ever visit to the wonderful courtry and Athlone with such great people and sites which I wiched I'd had more time to explore.
To arrive with St P day in first few days was good to see a National Pride,
The Hotel staff etc were like family by the time i'd been there a week or two
Recption were attentive and always wanting to go the extra mile, even trying to move me to a more relaxing room cheers Debbie!!! and thanks for making me laugh when Id started to use local slang within few days.
Breakfast was my best time of the day not just the quality of the food but the attentiveness of people like Melisa and others I sadly cant remember there names, cheers for makin my days bright cheerful and what ever I ordered was fresh and wholesome, love the spring onion garnish on the food I was presented, Chef Kevin I belive(sadly im now a size larger )
Bar staff and Food superb just the right portions and price, with the meals guys cheers for making my stay relaxing.
Lunch I was always at work so never had the pleasure and people told me they used it as their watering hole for lunch was like being at home
Cheers to the guys behind the scenes that do the washing up, preping the food and cleaning the rooms
As I was working far from home in the UK I can safely say Padriac the guys in your team made me feel well at home and not want to go home, spoilt me rotten.
All our guys staying here while working in Athlone have said the same
"YOU WILL LOVE THE HOTEL"
Miss you all guys hope to see you soon
Regards John Evenden (Rev.)

Room Tip: go for the back rooms as they are queiter than the front when night club or bar open late. they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank englishspirit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Dear John,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

I think everyone misses their chats with you on the quiet evenings. We try our best to make people feel at home here and I am delighted we succeeded with you.

Hopefully we will see you again.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed at the Prince of Wales Hotel for 2 nights . We found the staff to be very friendly and helpfull. The room was very pleasent and quite . The breakfast was lovely and we also had dinner in the bar which had a wide choice of a menu. We will be back for sure and really looking forward to going back. The town was very friendly and people were very pleasent and lots of little shops to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theresawalsh19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review.

We are delight to see you enjoyed your stay. We listen to all feedback and do our best to action any comments or observations by our guests.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales & Athlone soon.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night in April. Internet booking was cheap and easy. There was no information on car parking on the website so I had to ring the staff. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. I had the same experience when I checked it - staff were pleasant and helpful. Despite the good rate that I got on booking the hotel looked to be very busy. Well done to the hotel for not over charging when a lot of people staying.
The hotel room was nice - clean and comfortable (though not luxurious) Like another reviewer stated rooms were well sound proofed and sleep wasnt disturbed by other guests after wedding/golf night out. We were also worried when we saw there was a disco down stairs but not a sound could be heard from the room.
I missed breakfast the next morning but didnt have brunch in the bar which was good and reasonably priced.
I would stay again in this hotel as it has a great central location, nice staff and good rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryaneire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

Thank you very much for pointing out to us about our car-park. I was not aware of it and it has now being rectified on our website. We generally keep our rates as reasonable as possible and we do reap the reward of having a busy hotel.

A lot of people believe that the hotel will be very loud due to the night-club but fortunately the owners has invested heavily in sound proofing, of course we do have the normal noises associated with being in the center of the town.

Again we were very happy to see you enjoyed your stay and please contact me directly on your next visit so I can upgrade you to a more luxurious room at manager@theprinceofwales.ie

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Athlone and the Prince of Wales.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Recently returned from a mid week break at the Prince of Wales, our third. The hotel was as good and the staff as friendly as ever. We had a front room this time with a nice view of the church. The sound proofing was excellent so there was no traffic noise. A nice feature of the room was a low level light beside the en-suite door- very useful at night for old and young! The breakfasts were as good as ever and we had all our evening meals in the Prince bar, the food not only tasted terrific but the presentation was excellent.
Athlone is a lovely old town with very nice riverside walks, but is also good touring centre, we went to Galway one day and explored around Louhg Derg on another one.
We would realy recommend a stay here.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Have recently stayed at prince of wales hotel and were well looked after by all the staff who were excellent ,rooms were very comfortable and clean, food was excellent and was very reasonable as were the drinks in the bar. Will be staing at prin of wales any time we are visiting Athlone,and would highly recommend this hotel to anybody visiting athlone.

couple from Dublin

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay and more important that you will be back to us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Midlands and The Prince of Wales in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,956 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.5 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
948 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,162 reviews
2.1 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Church Street, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athlone
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#5 Family Hotel in Athlone
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: £45 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Prince of Wales Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with a big personality.We have 46 bedrooms and are a family run hotel which prides itself on friendliness and we take all feedback negative and positive to try improve and learn as we are going on. If you want a warm friendly welcome we are your hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Athlone
Prince Of Wales Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing