We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs a face-lift”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“needs a face-lift”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

hotel in centre of athlone. bar area/restaurant relaxing, however the lift areas and corridors could definately benefit from some new carpet and paint. Bedroom and bathoom a decent size. shopping centre and good little pubs nearby. Great breakfast either 'full Irish' or own choice. Piping hot and served with a smile. Reception staff very helpful with directions to visitor attractions within the neighboring counties, and even phoned to check opening days/times for us. There was a dvd plaers in the room. Unfortunately the 'library' in hotel was limited and outdated, but we simply went to the extra vision nearby and rented a film, and hotel reception left it back for us the next day! It's a good hotel as a base for touring about to see the area, and I look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    233
    75
    30
    32
See reviews for
96
306
34
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Thank you so much to Padraig and all the staff at this amazing hotel. I went here with a group of friends for my 40th birthday last Saturday nite. We had an amazing meal in the restaurant and drinks in the bar followed by the niteclub. Everyone had a great time and the rooms were big and spotless. Thanks again to all the great staff will definitely be back you all made my birthday very special and one to remember.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Stayed here last night and was pleasantly surprised. The Reception area was dated however the receptionist was very pleasant and rang me in my room to check that everything was in order. My room was large with all the usual facilities (tea & coffee, safe, tv etc) however the bathroom which was clean had a fold-able shower screen that was ineffective leaving a pool of water on the floor after using the shower. Would say here again.

Room Tip: Top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
narnia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

This hotel is right in the heart of the town which might seem problematic but there is a free carpark for guests. They cater for solo travellers which is a joy in Ireland where everything is priced for couples (whats up with that). I have always got a reasonable price here and always at the last minute. The rooms are smart and very clean. Decent TVs, free wifi. The staff and lovely and very helpful. The bar food is decent and very reasonable. Breakfast is standard fare. I would always choose this place if in Athlone. Bargain.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank solotraveller353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Friendly relaxed staff :-), evening menu limited, but tasty. The burger is a full meal. Very clean, wide corridors. Loved the bar decor. Rooms spacious and bright. Offered great value.

Room Tip: Room 214, very spacious room, great shower. No view. Bright and well furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martinwh2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed here early May 2012. It was a great location right in the centre of Athlone. I booked via their website. once booked the reservations staff telephone me to confirm whether we wanted 2 twin beds or a double bed.
Rooms were comfortable and clean, the power shower was awesome.
Breakfast delicious, enjoyed the pancakes, staff very friendly and efficient.
The girl on reception was lovely too.
Liked the added touch of receiving complimentary tea and coffee at the bar.
Parking is free with your booking although it is a little crowded, as I think it is a public carpark too.
We booked a double room, my daughter stayed for free the put a very comfortable camper bed in the room for her.
Overall highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThelmaNiceCycleTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to write a review.

I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and will pass your kind comments onto all concerned.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales & the Midlands in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bunclody
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2012

A group of 30 of us from the Bunclody/Kilmyshall Drama Group descended on the hotel for a night's stay. Right from the start we could not have been made more welcome. The receptionist greeted us with smiles and efficiency. The rooms were bright and clean and breakfast was great. When we wanted to party into the night, the bartender was accommodating and made sure we had an area where we wouldn't disturb other guests. Altogether a most pleasant experience and we'll happily stay again next time we make the All-Ireland Drama Finals!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milliesmomwexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review.

It was a pleasure to deal with your group and indeed everyone who stayed during the all-Ireland Drama Festival. I think ye kept Dermot our night porter busy one or two nights in the bar.

Looking forward to next years event all ready and to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,884 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.5 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,057 reviews
2.1 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
912 reviews
4.0 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince of Wales Hotel

Property: The Prince of Wales Hotel
Address: Prince of Wales Church Street, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athlone
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#5 Family Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Prince of Wales Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with a big personality.We have 46 bedrooms and are a family run hotel which prides itself on friendliness and we take all feedback negative and positive to try improve and learn as we are going on. If you want a warm friendly welcome we are your hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Athlone
Prince Of Wales Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing