We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hodson Bay Hotel(Athlone)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Athlone Springs Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creggan Court(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Grand Hotel(Moate)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cooneys Hotel(Ballymahon)
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (910)
Filter reviews
910 results
Traveller rating
499
258
80
37
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
499
258
80
37
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshen partyreserved areacentral locationcentre of townlovely hotelnext morningbar foodbar staffboth nightsan evening mealrooms were spotlesshotel barlast weekendcouldn't do enoughgreat nightstayed here for one nightbreakfast was excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
642 - 647 of 910 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed here for a night over the bank holiday weekend and had a great time. The hotel is really nice and has everything you need. The staff a really nice and a special mention of thanks to the girl on reception who we checked in with.. She was so helpful and went out of her way for us..
We'll defintely be back again

Patrick

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay in the Prince of Wales and taking the time to write a review.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and have passed your kind comments along to all the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales & the Midlands in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Hotel staff were excellent, couldn't fault them. They went out of their way to accommodate us for every need. Even put on a complimentary breakfast when we accidentally slept through the regular one! Really couldn't speak higher of the service, location, cleanliness and generally everything.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Limerick_IrelandAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your lovely review.

We were delighted to read your positive review. We genuinely try our best to place customers needs first. Your kind comments have been passed along to all the team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Athlone and the Prince of Wales.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I was visiting for business, so the free and fast internet was very welcome. Breakfast lacked any cheese but that was all that was missing, the food was good and the coffee just right.

The bar downstairs was friendly and a nice place to start the evening but later on turned into a teenager hotspot, then into a full blown party place. Kick-out of the nightclub in the basement was 2:30am and for the 30 minutes after that the noise from outside ensured that no-one could sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back if possible
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam_in_the_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review.

We were delighted to read your positive review. For the summer months we receive a lot of students on language exchange on a Thursday night and they can have a good party but I understant that this may not be to everyones liking and I hope it did not detract too much from your stay. Being town centre and having a night club in the vicinity we sometimes get comments re noise but we have fitted any rooms that we thought noisy with an extra set of inner windows and air-conditioning so these windows can be kept closed. When back with us please request a room at the back or side of the building.

Thank you for your observation in relation to the cheese. We cook all our breakfasts fresh and would urge anyone who requests something not on our buffet to ask and we will oblige.

Again thank you for your constructive comments positive and negative and we look forward to having you back as a guest but in a "Quieter" room.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 2 days , wish it was longer, great service , bar food was fabulous , the staff was so friendly, the room was huge !! the hotel is so central ,free car park . would highly recommend this hotel , will be going back.

Bernie k

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your taking the time to write your review.

We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We always try to make everyone's stay a memorable one.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales in the future.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I stayed here for my hen party and I was so happy with the service, food and attention to detail... When I arrived there was a bottle of champagne in my room and a card from the staff saying have a great hen night... food was excellent, rooms were clean would recommend staying here..

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oaaggc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and your lovely review.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that we will hopefully see you back in the near future.

Best of luck with the wedding!!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales & the Athlone in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Padraic Whelan
Manager

Visiting Galway?? Drop into our Sister Hotel The Skeffington Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews