We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel at a decent price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms, Nice Breakfast, very central, free parking brilliant for going shopping, brilliant if you are going to be staying in a group going out for the night, skip the queue into their night club, then free entry as well. down-sides are no gluten free bread for breakfast and no card reader in the bar so barman has to run off with your card for 10/15min trying to get the wireless one from reception to work...

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 863 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this hotel, really enjoyed it, very central location in the middle of town and yet very quiet at night. Was able to explore Athlone on foot. Car park very safe, Staff very helpful particularly Aishling in reception, she really knows her job. Made me feel like a family member. Food very good in the Prince Bar and the breakfast was lovely and plenty of it. Rooms very clean and spacious, housekeeping excellent. Great value for money. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria186635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was one of the best I had stayed in in Ireland. Rooms were large and the beds were great. Fantastic double shower and the spec was 1st class. Staff friendly and the food was great. There is a disco attached but it's in the basement and never heard a sound. Beautiful place for a base and Shannon cruise. Would defo return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Arrived at dublin airport, hopped on the direct bus(1hr 20 mins) to athlone. Hotel was great for a quick business trip. Breakfast was great. I can imagine that nightclub nights must be pretty grim if you like sleeping.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We only had an overnight stay at the Prince of Wales, more's the pity, because the hotel was very clean and comfortable and the bar food was great and breakfast excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a good central location in town so we were able to leave the car in the free car park and explore Athlone on foot. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

stayed in the prince for 5 days,very friendly staff always kept room clean and tidy and very nice breakfast as much as you could want,would recommend to everyone. the hotel has a nightclub and our room was two floors above it but we didnt hear any noise from it at all,great hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathleen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed at prince of Wales hotel for 5 nights was very impressed with the hotel everything about it was top notch staff were fabulous and couldn't not do anymore to help you and were all very friendly would highly recommend this hotel if your planning a stay in athlone

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howdie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,958 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.5 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
948 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,162 reviews
2.1 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Church Street, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athlone
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#5 Family Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: £45 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Prince of Wales Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with a big personality.We have 46 bedrooms and are a family run hotel which prides itself on friendliness and we take all feedback negative and positive to try improve and learn as we are going on. If you want a warm friendly welcome we are your hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Athlone
Prince Of Wales Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing