We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent poor reviews made me nervous but we enjoyed our stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Recent poor reviews made me nervous but we enjoyed our stay.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

There are roadworks nearby at the moment and the hour that the night club disgorged people was very noisy on the front side of the hotel. However it was clean with big rooms (especially corner room) and friendly. We were anxious because of reviews submitted since we booked, perhaps that lowered expectations, but we were satisfied with the value. If you need quiet, get a back room or take ear-plugs though.

Room Tip: As far from the nightclub as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillLyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    238
    75
    30
    34
See reviews for
99
311
34
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portlaoise, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed Sunday 3rd August 2014. Unfortunately my husband had a serious eye injury from a triathalon he was in that day. The manager Padraic was absolutely fantastic to us and Aisling the receptionist.they couldn't do enough for us.i loved the hotel and service. The breakfast was chosen from a menu which is great as it's usually left sitting under a lamp for hours.our meal the evening before was also great.padraic was so down to earth and a warm personality as were all staff. Complimentary tea and coffee also when leaving.there was live music in the bar and it was hopping and lively. Can't wait to go back and would highly recommend the prince of Wales.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
648 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 650 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed here last week. From the outside it looks like a dank hell pit but it gets rapidly better when you get inside. Room was big, clean and the bed very comfy. The Shower was fantastic, so much so that i spent ages in it. The town itself is ok, i went for a nice long run down the waterfront, very pleasant. Beware of the roadworks in the town at present tho, very hard to navigate. Hotel itself is great tho so i will be back. Oh and yeah the night i stayed Ireland was roasting so the AC in the room when i got back from my run was incredible! There was a very hot bird on the front desk too, Always makes a hotel stay better!

Room Tip: if you are driving the roadworks will annoy you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockfist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

On first impressions of the Hotel, It appears to be closed down, there is no obvious greeting to guests or customers looking for a bite to eat or even knowing how to get to the hotel entrance.
It is dull, dark and in need of some TLC
We had some food in the bar, it was over prices but tasty, staff were ok.
The bar, toilet facilities and surrounding areas were very grubby, dusty and not maintained.
Over all, it might be nice to visit at night when you can't see the flaws, but want to enjoy a drink in the centre of Athlone Town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galwaygirl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Me and 10 other girls stayed here 3 weeks ago for my hen and I could not say enough good things about this hotel. From the minute we arrived we were made feel welcomed, we were all instantly very impressed with the staff and the hotel itself. Upon arrival we were very impressed with our rooms, they were nice and big and very clean. We had dinner in the restaurant that evening and couldn't fault our meal or service. We later went to the prince bar (in the hotel) and once again were impressed with the service and atmosphere. We later went into the nightclub owned by the hotel where we were welcomed with champagne in a reserved area and I have to say it was the best night I had in a long time. We really couldn't fault the hotel or the staff. Thank you for a great stay, I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaMT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickmacross, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here the last weekend in June as part of a hen night on the Saturday night. Reception staff friendly. Ideal location in the centre of town. Room was big and spacious but no air conditioning so it was hot hot hot in room. Room was at the front of hotel but by the time we were going to bed all the nightclub patrons had gone so we heard nothing! We were booked in for a meal at 5.00, 3 course meal, food was lovely. As part of hen night package we had a round of cocktails included, when asking could we have these with our dinner, we were told we couldn't have them until 7.00!!!!!! What's that all about????? Didn't stay in bar in hotel, went up the town. Came back to hotel for the nightclub. Breakfast was nice the next morning, cooked to order.

Would stay again as part of a group but don't think I'd be staying here for a romantic weekend!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babes-Ire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, Co Down
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Really handy to everything as right in town centre, lovely breakfast and even better steak in the Princes Bar, asked for a quiet room and was not disapointed, room was very large, very tidy and very quiet. The staff where very efficient, polite and helpful. Would go back tomorrow.

Room Tip: Get a room at back, NO view but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank germojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,919 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.5 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,099 reviews
2.1 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
932 reviews
2.1 mi away
Creggan Court
Creggan Court
#8 of 9 in Athlone
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince of Wales Hotel

Property: The Prince of Wales Hotel
Address: Prince of Wales Church Street, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athlone
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#5 Family Hotel in Athlone
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Prince of Wales Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with a big personality.We have 46 bedrooms and are a family run hotel which prides itself on friendliness and we take all feedback negative and positive to try improve and learn as we are going on. If you want a warm friendly welcome we are your hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Athlone
Prince Of Wales Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing