We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
N.Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“lovely hotel centrally located”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed here last Sunday and Monday. We arrived at 3.30 on Sunday and were warmly welcomed by Michele on reception. We knew check in time was 4 O'Clock so were happy enough to wait. Michelle apologised for our wait and gave us little cards to get complimentary tea or coffee in the bar and stated we would get a really nice room. The room was large with a Queen size bed and single bed. There were two comfortable leather chairs with footstools so we could relax while having a cuppa in the room. The bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was large with his & her sinks, bath and separate large shower cubicle. Breakfast was very nice. Good selection of cereals, fruit, juices and bread and a good selection of hot breakfasts. The hotel was fully booked both nights we were there but I can honestly say we never heard a sound during the night . I would definitely stay at this hotel again although going from other reviews I would avoid weekends if you don't want to join the party.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N_IrelandFranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    234
    75
    30
    33
See reviews for
96
307
34
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had a great stay. Much better than expected and would highly recommend the hotel. The receptionist provided one of best check-in experiences I have ever had. The room was huge (bigger than our kitchen and living room at home).There were also some nice extra touches like a luxury shower, biscuits, toiletries and the WIFI was really fast. When I realised that the Karma night club was attached and it attracted a lot of stag and hen groups I was slightly concerned. However, I needed have worried at all as I requested a quiet room and got a great night sleep.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vourneentaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel for an anniversary trip. All the staff were extremely friendly and very helpful. When finding out we were celebrating our anniversary the receptionist arrived at our room with a complimentary bottle of wine and a card for us. This was the perfect start to what was a great stay! The rooms were spacious and clean and the food in the bar was of excellent standard. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen11l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

What a lovely stay we had at The Prince of Wales hotel Athlone,such a lovely couple of days for our mams 75th birthday .Staff were so helpful ,friendly and down to earth.Aishling on reception desk was fantastic and made us feel so at home ,when we checked in to our rooms we had a follow up courtesy phone call to see if all was ok ,she then arranged a lovely table in little alcove for our meal and sent in a bottle of Prosecco complimentary from hotel.The food was absolutely lovely but by far the breakfast next morning has to be the nicest scramble egg we ever tasted.A really lovely hotel we would highly recommend in the heart of town ,thanks to all the staff especially Aisling you represent Prince of Wales Ahlone to a great standard ,hopefully see you again in near future .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel last saturday night 16 August with 3 children and the noise of people on the street, the disco and a group of hens running up and down the corridor throughout the night ensured that none of us slept during the night. It was explained when we were booking in that there were 3 children in the party and yet they took the booking and placed us in a room right over the disco.

We had our evening meal in the bar and half way through a waiter slapped a sheet of paper stating that the table was reserved for a hen party from 9 p.m. which gave us 15 minutes to have our meal. When I queried the waiter about this, he stated that they have to keep the hens happy!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padraic W, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi thank you for your recent review. All i can do is apologize. Athlone is a very lively town and we are situated in the centre and heart of Athlone. We genuinely always try allocate rooms to the back of the hotel to families and people that request away from the street . I do not know how it was not picked up by us to allocate you a room at the back all I can think is due to the community games that we had a lot more families than normal staying and we did not have any rooms available at the back of the hotel.I did receive your comment card and have a response drafted to go in the post to you as we respond to all negative comment cards where possible.
Kind Regards
padraic Whelan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
480 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 337 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The outside of this hotel looks just dreadful (this may be due to dust and dirt from the nearby roadworks) and there is absolutely no indication of where the entrance to the hotel is. We mistakenly walked in through the bar doors at the corner of the building, when in fact the reception doors are at the side – and the doors open out right onto a busy laneway that leads to the car park! Parking is free for residents. Check-in was prompt and we got a room on the 2nd floor. Have to admit, the room was a bit dull, considering the price we paid for the accommodation (which was not cheap). There were all the usual facilities, i.e. tea/coffee tray, in-room safe, toiletries, towels and pillows. Just one thing – the Information Booklet in the room was badly out of date. There was information in it about a bog railway nearby but when we rang the number provided, we were told it had stopped operating many years ago. This needs to be updated, and we did put this on the room comment card. The bed was huge and very comfortable. Being a Friday night there was some thud-thud-thud from the bar on the ground floor, but we were so tired after travelling we just passed out and had a good night’s sleep. The shower next morning was an absolute dream. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice, and cooked to order. We both opted for pancakes with fresh fruit and maple syrup, which were delicious. Check-out was as prompt as check-in so we have no complaints there. This hotel is in the centre of Athlone and is ideal for getting to anywhere you wish. We do feel though that it needs a facelift both inside and out.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubTwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Upon Arrival (after a very long trip) we were greeted by the receptionists of the hotel who were extremely friendly in helping us get settled. the room itself was large with more then enough space for the two of us. the bathroom and especially shower facilities were second to none! We had both our evening meal and food the following day in the POW while the prices were reasonable the portions were more then generous. the staff in the bar were busy but still always helpful.

Only negative was the noise from the joining nightclub as we were at the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: rooms at back of hotel could be quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
0.5 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,063 reviews
2.1 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
913 reviews
3.6 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince of Wales Hotel

Property: The Prince of Wales Hotel
Address: Prince of Wales Church Street, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athlone
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#5 Family Hotel in Athlone
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Prince of Wales Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with a big personality.We have 46 bedrooms and are a family run hotel which prides itself on friendliness and we take all feedback negative and positive to try improve and learn as we are going on. If you want a warm friendly welcome we are your hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Athlone
Prince Of Wales Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing