We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We stopped here on way to Galway and had an upgrade to an executive suite without asking by friendly receptionist. Great value midweek deal for room breakfast and dinner. There was nothing not to like and will stay again as we visit Galway 3-4 times a year and will be happy to go via Athlone. The room was of a high standard and the town itself is very nice with some good pubs.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodtime4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2009

Dear Guest,

Thank yo for your kind review. We greatly appreciate your comments, and look forward to welcoming you back to the Prince of Wales soon.

Regards,
Chris Vos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (896)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

814 - 820 of 896 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2009

The hotel was ok. The room was clean but we had no towels in our bathroom, we rang reception but still didnt get them until the next morning. My main reason for writing this review is because of the staff, I have never come across anything like them, they were so so rude (apart from the girl on reception the morning we were checking out), the bar staff, the reception staff, the staff in restaurant, everyone. The noise from the disco below was unbearable. I will never stay in this hotel again and I wouldnt advise anybody to stay in it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abi123Galway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2009

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor. I tried contacting you directly over two weeks ago, as I wished to investigate your comments. Unfortunately you have not responded to my email, so I am unable to investigate your claims.

I can only assure you that the well-being of our customers remains paramount to the ethos of the hotel, and that any slip in any standards will always be actioned by the hotel management.

We look forward to continuing to welcome many satisfied customers through our doors to enjoy our lively ambiance and excellent value for money.

Yours sincerely,
Chris Vos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Athlone is a good stop off point for lots of destinations and I chose the Prince of Wales Hotel for one reason only.....I paid 65e B&B for a single supplement room.

Hotel is 3/4 star basic but they have made an effort to be a little cooler than average.

Room was comfortable, with great AC which was needed during a spell of very unseasonal muggy weather. Bathroom was nice and modern with a fantastic double shower - bit of a surprise for the business traveller not used to such treats.

I had dinner in the bar - which was well priced and tasted good. Breakfast was good - the coffee was great. All of the above should be the norm for a hotel at the 99e per night mark but for 65e this is a bargain.

Extra treat was location close to the shannon river where I had a great morning run. Fantastic. Will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgbentour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2009

Thank you for your review. You've highlighted exactly what the Prince of Wales is about - good service, good food & drink, a modern environment - and all at a very reasonable price when compared to our competition.

We hope to see you back in the Prince some time soon and keep checking our website for special offers.

Regards,
Chris Vos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

Top of anyone's list of requirements for a hotel stay must be a decent night's sleep. Don't go here if you want any shut-eye, it's unbelievable! The music started at 10 and did n't let up untill 2:30, with the shouting and roaring on the street to add to the cacophony of sound right up until 4 am on a Wednesday evening why bother to sleep at all? l know we didn't.
I complained to the reception staff ande was informed that the noise was from the nightclub below. What nightclub?No one had bothered to inform me ! I was offered a room at the rear of the hotel, but with no bed for my daugher and us unlikely to sleep at all, it did n't seem worth the trouble. I was just shocked that anyone could have put hotel rooms so close to a nightclub,and thought that this was acceptable. I'm not exaggerating,it was truly horrendous;the bass pounding through the walls. It's that Irish disease again,:greed -tack a hotel on the back of a pub, then..."How do we make more money outta dis?, I know,how about a nightclub too, lets call it 'Karma', the guests will love the irony,no need to worry about dem complaining, dis is Orland, anytin' goes here!" No wonder tourists never return. I had a long drive the next day and felt wrecked, Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spiltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2009

Thank you for your review. I had heard on the morning of your departure of your complaint regarding the noise and of your intention to comment on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry that you feel this way about the hotel - and apparently about the hotel trade in Ireland in general.

The Prince of Wales Hotel was reopened 5 years ago after an extensive rebuild as an entertainment venue, comprising of the Prince of Wales Hotel, the Prince Bar and Karma Club. The company invested in extensive soundproofing to minimize the effect of the bar and club on our residents. A majority of our clients and resident guests come to the Prince of Wales to enjoy our lively ambiance and our famous Karma club and Prince Cocktail bar.

I am sorry that your sleep was disturbed and that, due to the hotel being nearly full, we were unable to offer you a room with three beds in the early hours of the morning.

The hotel industry has been beset by 'developers' hoping for tax relief and a quick return on their investment within ten years.

These are the properties that are currently facing closure and possible job losses all over Ireland. The Prince of Wales is owned by a family with a long tradition in Hospitality and we are proud of the way we look after our customers in the hotel, bar and club.

Anyone who is aware of the industry is aware that any of us that are in it to 'make more money outta dis' are in the wrong industry.

We will continue to endevour to live up to our reputation as one of the more enjoyable places to stay in the midlands and as a venue for individuals and groups to come to for an enjoyable, lively stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We went to Athlone for 2 nights, on checking into the Prince of Wales hotel we were impressed by the friendly reception staff and the water feature in the lobby. We asked for an upgrade and were given room 205 which was spacious and had a great power shower. We were also provided with complimentary dvds which was a lovely extra as we had a child with us. We ate in the bar on the first evening, great selection for children and the food was tasty, as was the breakfast both mornings. On the second night we ate in the Thai restaurant closeby Kim Khoa which was excellent. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, the location is great with the new shopping centre just accross the street and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munster_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2009

Thank you for your kind review; we appreciate you taking the time to write in.

We hope to see you again before too long, and please remember to keep an eye on our website for current special offers - or better still, sign up to the newsletter!

Kind regards,
Chris Vos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We stayed in the hotel for two nights over the August bank holiday weekend. Car parking is limited we were lucky and got a space. Receptionist very friendly on checking in. Room was ok, bedroom decor well worn but clean, bathroom was great with a fab shower, room had air conditioning, a digital safe, tea/coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board, tv & dvd player, clock radio, hairdryer and internet connection. The bar always seemed very busy for food (we did not eat there). Breakfast was great, service was ok could do with being a bit friendlier. The hotel is in an excellent location right across from the new shopping centre. Taxi rank right outside the door on Castle Street. I would stay there if visiting Athlone again as it is very convenient to everything.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2009

Thank you for your overall positive review of the Hotel.

I've noted that you have rated us as 4 or 5 in all the individual areas such as Value, Rooms, Location, Cleanliness and Service.

We hope that, when you return to Athlone, you would stay with us again. Remember to visit our website - www.theprinceofwales.ie - to see any special offers that we are running.

Regards,
Chris Vos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

Stayed here in july ,what can i say other than from the minute you walk into the unwelcoming lobby,to the breakfast room the next morning,you see evidence of this hotel not been run properly, e.g. reception left unattended,floors dirty,bathroom not cleaned properly before arrival,breakfast room filthy,with stains of spillages evident on walls that had dried out rather than be cleaned,Staff helpfull enough but they seem to be leaderless and management of this hotel seems to be none existent.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank hoover205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2009

Further to receiving this review, we have tried contacting the reviewer directly through TripAdvisor. We have received no response.
We have asked TripAdvisor to investigate this review - as it seems to us to be a slur with no basis in actual fact. If the guest (if indeed it was a guest) had contacted us we could investigate these allegations; as it stands, they bear no weight.

We are a very popular - well kept 4* hotel displaying only the usual wear and tear that you would expect after 5 years open.

Failte Ireland inspected us within the last two weeks and have given us a higher percentage score this year than we received last year - we must be doing something right.

We are proud of our hotel and our team, including management that are always at hand, do their best to look after both the hotel and its guests.

Chris Vos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
2,023 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
2.1 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
3.7 mi away
Hodson Bay Hotel
Hodson Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Athlone
2,238 reviews
3.6 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Church Street, Athlone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#4 Business Hotel in Athlone
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: £44 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Prince of Wales Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with a big personality.We have 46 bedrooms and are a family run hotel which prides itself on friendliness and we take all feedback negative and positive to try improve and learn as we are going on. If you want a warm friendly welcome we are your hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Athlone
Prince Of Wales Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing