We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$368
US$271
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Athlone Springs Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creggan Court(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$56
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hodson Bay Hotel(Athlone)
US$96
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Moate)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cooneys Hotel(Ballymahon)
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (910)
Filter reviews
910 results
Traveller rating
499
258
80
37
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
499
258
80
37
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshen partyreserved areacentral locationcentre of townlovely hotelnext morningbar foodbar staffboth nightsan evening mealrooms were spotlesshotel barlast weekendcouldn't do enoughgreat nightstayed here for one nightbreakfast was excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
802 - 807 of 910 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Stayed as part of a hen party and had a brilliant time. Hotel had a great hen package with B&B + Dinner + Bollywood class and discounted entry into niteclub. They reserved an area in the bar for us for lunch and that night for after dinner. Also reserved an area in the nite club for us. We were a large group so it was great that we didn't have to leave the hotel at all for the hen party and we all managed to stay together. Rooms are lovely and spacious. Seperate shower to bath. (Shower is huge) Reception staff were very helpful when one girl had to go to the doctor and organised everything for her. Food was lovely. Breakfast is until 11.30 on Sunday morning which is great - meant everyone could have a lie in. Hot breakfast food was made to order but there was a good selection including full irish and pancakes. Staff in residents bar were very nice and patient (not an easy job!). Hotel decor is very nice, lots of little sections in the bar which meant that you could have some privacy for a group. From check in to check out everything went very smoothly. Thanks for a great and very memorable hen weekend!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vandeleur79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2011

Dear guest,
We're really glad you and the rest of your group enjoyed your stay! It wa a pleasure having you here and we look forward to welcoming you back some time.
Kind regards,
Chris Vos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

From the minute we entered the hotel we were made to feel really welcome by a lovely receptionist. She was very helpful and good humoured.Room was spacious and clean. The breakfast next day was really nice. Could do with maybe another staff member on at breakfast time as the poor girl who was on, was run off her feet. Carpark Right beside hotel and no trouble gettin a spot. Overall we really enjoyed our stay in the Prince of Wales and would definitely go back there again when headin to Athlone.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rulynro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2011

Dear guest,
Thanks for your kind review - we very much appreciate your taking the time to write it. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay and that the staff looked after you so well! We hope to see you back here again soon.
Kind regards,
Chris Vos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

This was our 2nd trip to Athlone our first stay at the Prince of Wales won't be our last. had a 2 night stay B&B
This hotel is ideally located just across from the shopping centre in the center of town, friendly staff, lively bar and nite club, but if you are looking for a relaxing nights sleep don't let the fact that there's a nite club put you off ,the windows are well insulated and could only hear a muffled sound, or do as we did and enjoy the late bar serving till 2am. Rooms are comfortable, clean and the bed huge. the breakfast was nice good choice and friendly service but the fried breakfast was all a bit pale for my liking. We enjoyed our stay very much and plan to return later in the year.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ems41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and took full advantage of our great location in the centre of town. We've taken your comments about breakfast on board and I've since spoken to the chef and asked him to make sure breakfast is nice and crispy.
We hope to see you back here again,
Chris Vos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

stayed with friends. met at reception by 2 lovely girls to check in. dinner in bar that night but one steak was un cooked had it returned.. this happens.. but the problem we had was when the bar girl/waitress noticed my husband brought his drink from his room(half pint of cider.. not six cans!!) he wasnt told by her to not do that.. noo.. she allerted security who gave him a right goin over . we apologised. said didnt know we couldnt but when the bar girl came back and we asked why she didnt just tell us to not drink from our room she got manageress !! who was useless and just said without taking our side into consideration her staff were right.. then bar girl asked do we want our desserts in our room!! we nearly died as they then didnt want to serve us at bar til i took them aside with my friend to explain!! lady beside us havin her dinner was horrified. we had paid up so got a drink when we were then allowed and headed off down to seans pub for a real good night.passed the manageress when leaving.. (she was outside smoking with security very professional"!!")made a proper complaint to a proper manager in the morning.. still wiating for those desserts!! prince of wales please review your waiting / bar staff.. ladies only.. the lads were sound. both bar and manageral. some girls really have notions above their station!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conrecode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2011

Dear guest,

I'm sorry that you felt the need to write this review. I've spoken with your friends with whom you were travelling and we've come to a mutual understanding of how things occurred on the evening you ate in our bar. We've agreed that both sides could have acted a little differently, and we're looking forward to their return custom later on this month.

Our team were disappointed that you had to send back a steak, but as you say, it happens. However, personal drink being consumed in a licensed premises does not happen. A can of cider, not purchased on the premises, was taken out and opened at the table whilst sitting in a pub - it was not there during the starters and then it was during the main course, so this was a deliberate act and not a mistake. No pub would allow anyone to consume their own drink on the premises.

When you were leaving the bar and had desserts on order, so the staff kindly asked if you would like to have them served elsewhere in the hotel, such as in your rooms. This was a kind gesture taken up wrongly.

I do not feel that a public forum is the place for a commentary on an individual you do not know, and so I shall keep my opinions and the observations made by the hotel management and staff on your behaviour to myself. However, I do find it a pity that you felt you had to comment on one of our senior manager's simply doing her job in difficult circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

The fireplace very welcoming on a cold day .Very nice ambiance and pleasant staff .Value for money and welcoming .I will be back anytime I,m in Athlone .

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artynoreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubdutch, General Manager at The Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2011

Dear guest,
Thanks very much for taking the time to review us - it's very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back the the Prince of Wales in the near future.
Regards,
Chris Vos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews