We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful family experience.”
Review of Hodson Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hodson Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2011

My son had his wedding reception at Hodson Bay on 8th April and it was absolutely wonderful. From the minute we arrived the staff made it an occasion to remember. From the drinks reception on arrival - which also had a delicious array of tasty snacks and tea/coffee - to the check out the following day. The wedding meal was fantastic and served very professionally and quickly. Second helpings were offered to anyone able for more and the evening food was also delicious along with the wedding cake which was cut up for us. The dining room for the meal was decorated beautifully and the staff were a great help with advising on speeches etc. My husband and I had a lovely big room overlooking the lake and the bed was soo comfy. The following morning we all met up for breakfast - also delicious - and nothing too much trouble for the staff. Check out was effortless and we were sorry to be leaving. My brother and his family - including 5 small children and their parents - also had much praise for their experience. A wonderful family day made so special by Hodson Bay and their staff.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patriciatogher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HodBay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2011

Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to put forward such positive feedback. It was delightful to read that both you and your family had such a wonderful experience in the hotel, and we thrilled to have assisted in such a memorable occasion. We use feedback such as yours to help and encourage the team to perform consistently. I would especially like to thank you for the kind comments about our facilities and more so the comments regarding our Team, I will certainly circulate your kind words around the hotel and place a copy of your review in the Team facilities. If you ever have the occasion to return, please make us aware so I can personally meet and welcome you back.

Yours sincerely
Timothy Hayes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,937 - 1,943 of 2,204 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2011

Myself and my husband had our wedding at The Hodson Bay on 26th March this year. We could not have been happier with the service, the food and the professionalism of the staff all round. We were given personal care from a great team who have made it their business to be the best in the business. I would highly recommend The Hodson Bay Hotel. Sarah Aherne

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yewtree07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HodBay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for such fantastic feedback. We truly are fortunate in the Hodson Bay Hotel, to have met so many fantastic couples down through the years as we assist in the planning of their wedding day. We are delighted that that you left the hotel with such happy memories. we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for many years to come. May I take this opportunity on behalf of the management and Team I wish you both every happiness in your lives together.

Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

We had a great weekend in this hotel. Rooms clean, service great, food excellent. Staff some of the nicest we have come across and would recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faith53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HodBay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2011

Dear Guest

It was wonderful to read that there were many positive aspects to your stay, and I would also like to thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

We returned to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary..and such a wonderful experience..We had wonderful treatments in the very relaxing spa..Dinner in a very busy L'escale was first class, superb service by very professional staff.will def return for dinner for a special occasion as it is as good if not better than many local restaurants.
Breakfast was very nice, lovely choice, only negative was the chef on the hot buffet definiltely seemed under pressure and her manner was not up to the friendly standards of other staff members we had the pleasure to meet.
A wonderful suprise on check out was that our accomodation was compliments of the Hotel due to fact we had our Wedding there last year, a real nice gesture and most unexpected..Aine delivered this lovely news with genuine pleasure and warmth..I made my booking with Ruth who was extremely helpful and friendly lady.From check in we were made extremely welcome and special as as soon as I mentioned our name it was realised we were there to celebrate a special occasion..very personal and lovely to experience in this day and age..
Our room was a Retreat Room, without doubt the most comfortable hotel room i have ever stayed in and will def return.On our way home we remarked about how clean and well maintained the hotel is in particular the public areas and the leisure centre.
A heart felt thank you to all in the Hodson for a truly memorable stay and we are eagerly looking forward to planning a return visit.

Room Tip: Book spa treatments in plenty of time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matvala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HodBay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2011

Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for taking the time to put forward such positive feedback. It was great that both you and your husband had the opportunity to experience so many of the facilities the hotel has to offer. I am delighted that you had such a memorable stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon. May I take this opportunity to congratulate you both on your first anniversary and on behalf of the management and Team I wish you both every happiness in your future together.

Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

My sister and I had a wonderful stayin in this beautiful hotel. The staff were excellent. Dinner in the dining room was fantastic. We were there for a wine tasting on the evening we arrived which was great fun and most educational. The hydropool was so refreshing . I would rec. a visit you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ballyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HodBay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2011

Dear Guest

It is always very encouraging for the management and team at the hotel to read such positive comments. Our aim at the hotel is to ensure that each guest that visits the hotel, whether it be for one night or a family break, has the opportunity to experience all the facilities that we have to offer, and leaves the hotel looking forward to a return visit. I am delighted that you had such a good stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

spent 3 nights at the hotel with my mom and sister. it was only amazing.
all staff were so friendly and always smiling. the room we had was a lovely spacious room perfect for 3 people with large bathroom. food in the restaurant was outstanding would highly recommend. a nice hotel to chill out in and be away from the town

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claireannealley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HodBay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2011

Dear Guest
It was delightful to read such sincere comments, and we truly appreciate such positive feedback. At the hotel we are privileged to have exceptional staff, many of whom have been with us for a number of years, and they take great pride in the standard of service offered to our guests. I am delighted that you all enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.
Yours sincerely
Timothy Hayes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

My husband and I stayed a Fri and Sat night with the intention of having a totally relaxing break . We booked a standard double room and unfortunately were a little disappointed that it was not exactly luxurious. That said the bed was very comfortable and clean but otherwise the room was very basic so would be worth booking a more expensive room next time. We requested a dvd player and were told there probably wasn't one available, however they did manage to locate one but without a remote control so we could only watch the first episode on our dvd as there was no way to move on to the next episode.
On the plus side we found all of the Staff to be very professional and helpful, particularly in the restaurant where the standard of the evening meal was exceptional. Would definitely return but would book a different room next time.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mojo5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HodBay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2011

Dear Guest
We appreciate that there were many positive aspects to your stay, and I would also like to thank you for your comments. At the hotel we are always looking at ways to improve the service and experience that our guests receive when they stay with us, and we have found your feedback to be informative. I would especially like to thank you for the kind comments regarding our staff, I will certainly circulate your kind words around the hotel. If you ever have the occasion to return, please make us aware so I can personally meet and welcome you back.
Yours sincerely
Timothy Hayes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.8 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,987 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,118 reviews
3.7 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
3.7 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodson Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodson Bay Hotel

Address: | Hodson Bay, Athlone N37 XR82, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#3 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Family Hotel in Athlone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: £79 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hodson Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the gorgeous shores of Lough Ree and with 176 bedrooms, the 4-Star Hodson Bay Hotel is the premier choice for a divine relaxation getaway. With scenic lakeshore walks, championship golf courses and lake cruises on our doorstep, you’ll have a rich choice of enjoyable activities. For families, we have our fully supervised Penguin Kids Camp with fun and games to keep all our little VIPs entertained. Why not avail of our babysitting service and relax in our onsite spa? Or enjoy quality family time in our leisure centre complete with kiddies pool. 'Retreat at Hodson Bay’ is an area of the hotel which is exclusively for adults to ensure your stay is restful and that you are guaranteed peace and quiet to unwind in the beautifully-designed rooms. To revive and rejuvenate yourself, take advantage of our award-winning 'Spa at Hodson Bay'. Both of our restaurants offer mouth-watering local produce; and to end the day take a seat along our lakeview conservatory or enjoy our nightly in-house complimentary activities. The heart of the Midlands is a magical place, so treat yourself to a break in this picturesque setting and let our dedicated staff make your stay one to remember ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hodson Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodson Bay Athlone
Hotel Hodson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing