We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superb Family Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hodson Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hodson Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
meath, ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“superb Family Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Booked a three day stay at the hotel with wife and three kids(4,3 and 6months). We were first attracted to the hotel because of the facilities provided for the family. They advertised the "Penguin Club" which provided activities for 3 hours in the morning and up to five hours in the evening. Furthermore, there was also the facility for a "Tiny Tots" club which catered for children from 6 moths up to 4 years. This was from 6.30pm to 8.30pm. The children really took to the clubs and we let them decide whether they wanted to go or not and all they wanted to do was to go to the club. The evening club provided games and activities in the play room and also outdoors in front of the hotel. The baby was well looked after in the evening which provided a pure luxury for mammy and daddy to enjoy a delicious evening meal in comfort.
Everyone had a great time and the accommodation, facilities and food were exceptional. The staff and management were extremely pleasant and helpful at all times. The hotel room(222) we got was ideal with a mini entrance with main bedroom, twin room and bathroom off it. With the baby, it was essential that we had a fridge. This request was dealt with and within an hour. The initial family package included 3 nights B&B and two evening meals with the kids club included. Because the children were having so much fun, we booked a further two nights and we had a ball. The hotel is very clean and the grounds are ideal for small walks with the kids. There is also a "Viking Cruise" which goes from the front of the hotel and travels into the heart of Athlone with an option of getting off and getting the next cruise back. The kids really enjoyed the trip with viking swords and helmets available on the boat.
The food was excellent. There is a huge selection in the morning with a fine selection of fresh fruits, cereals and hot food available. Because of the luxury of the kids clubs, the evening meals were a joy and all in all, we really enjoyed the five nights. Oh, nearly forgot, the swimming pool an spa were also excellent. Very clean changing areas and well staffed. The wife enjoyed two hours of relax in the thermal spa and the kids loved the pool. In all, we had a great time and we'll definitely be returning next year. Thanks to all the staff for a truly lovely stay. See you next year..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanhogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for such upbeat and positive feedback. Both you and your family seemed to have really enjoyed your time at the hotel and of course the complimentary trip on the viking boat really gives you the opportunity to experience beautiful views of the lake. Thankfully we are in a position to be able to facilitate each guests needs whether it’s a family holiday, group night away or a short romantic getaway. I am delighted that both you and your family had such an enjoyable stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you all back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,026
    510
    223
    108
    62
See reviews for
669
638
25
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We booked the 2 night B&B 1 D Family package where grandparents stay free. We arrived early so our room was not ready which was to be expected so we all had lunch and we received a phone call around 1 to tell us our rooms were ready. We were put in rooms very near each other both rooms were clean and one of the rooms bathroom had been recently renovated the other rooms bathroom was dated but both were clean.
The kids went to the kids club at 18.00 (Girl 8 boy 5) and played games and were given their dinner there, the kids all eat together in a specially made up table in the breakfast room them more games and then a movie, normally our kids are not keen on kids club but they really liked this one and it was very well run (it was available in the mornings too but we went off on day trips instead). With the kids in the kids club the adults could all dine together in the restaurant which we ate in both nights the food was very good.
The leisure center and Gym were super never too busy and the leisure centre staff were very helpful. In general all the staff were friendly and helpful - we all had a really good stay and we will be going back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spainfor4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your review of the Hodson Bay Hotel, and such positive feedback. Our grandparents staying free has proven a huge success this summer, as has our Penguin Club. We look forward to welcoming both you and your family back to the hotel for many years to come.

Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

I brought my mom and my sister here for their birthday's in April and really had such a great weekend. The spa is lovely, the food is great, the rooms are clean and really comfortable. The staff were brilliant, it was such a great treat and I was so glad it exceeded my expectations. We even got to do some wine tasting! Such a lovely weekend. Highly recommend this place, even for families with children they have lots of activities.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spacedudette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to put forward such positive feedback. It was delightful to read that all your family had such a pleasant experience in the hotel. We use feedback such as yours to help and encourage the team to perform consistently. I would especially like to thank you for the kind comments about our facilities and more so the comments regarding our team, I will certainly circulate your kind words around the hotel and place a copy of your review in the team facilities. If you ever have the occasion to return, please make us aware so I can personally meet and welcome you back

Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
424 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

This weekend away was really nice we thouroughly enjoyed ourselves. The hotel itself is very friendly staffed however the room quality I do not think is the best that we have encountered while it isnt shabby it certainly isnt luxurious..This would be a great hotel for summer if you took a trip there just do not expect to many frills very family orientated rather than romantic...Staff were great though....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter201026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Dear Guest

We appreciate that there were many positive aspects to your stay, and I would also like to thank you for your comments. At the hotel we are always looking at ways to improve the service and experience that our guests receive when they stay with us, and we have found your feedback to be informative. Perhaps you might like to drop me a line to thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com and we can discuss your feedback in greater detail. If you ever have the occasion to return, please make us aware so I can personally meet and welcome you back.

Yours sincerely


Timothy Hayes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

The hotel is much bigger than I thought but the staff are very professional and courteous so you feel you are in a more intimate setting. The best thing I can say about the hotel though is how well the kids club was run it reflects really well on the management of the hotel. There is a good ratio of minders to children and the staff are genuinely enthusiastic and energetic. My wife and I felt safe leaving our son (4.5 yr old) in their care and I can't pay a better compliment to the hotels competency than that.

A couple of minor points where I think the hotel fell down. They did not return the recent VAT (Goods and Sales tax) reduction. The receptionist looked totally unconvinced herself when she explained us that the VAT reduction had been factored into the prices in advance. Second, our room had no fridge which is an inconvieniance for those bringing baby food.

Our biggest issue might not be a problem at all for most visitors. It was that the bar menu unavailable during our three night stay. There is a fancy restaurant in the hotel but with a year old baby in tow its not a good mix. On our first day we were told the bar menu was unavailable due to a large corporate booking and normal service would resume the following night. We had the carvery for dinner that night which is not something we'd opt for given choice. The following night the bar menu was again unavailable and there was over an hours wait for the restaurant, it was too late to make plans so we ended up with room service, which was in fairness good value and quality. Night three we left the hotel in torrential rain to eat at the Athlone Springs Hotel (we had stayed there before and knew it was good). I feel for such a family orientated hotel that there could be a happy medium offered between the Bain Marie and fine dining.

To finish on a positive, I would return but maybe I'll wait until my youngest is ready for the kids club and I can enjoy the restaurant.

Michael

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulanerDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to put forward such positive comments. We use feedback such as yours to help and encourage the team to perform consistently. I have taken your comments on board in relation to family dining and bar food. However I feel you may not have been advised of our tiny tots club which runs from 6.30 to 8.30 each evening and takes babies from 6 months to 4 years, this allows for parents to dining in the restaurant. It would have been a pleasure to have met with you before your departure so we could have had the opportunity to thank you in person for your kind words. If you ever have the occasion to return, please make us aware so I can personally meet and welcome you back.

Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

Just back from 3 nights at the Hodson Bay. Staff are really friendly and helpful. Its a very busy hotel with a lot of hustle and bustle but it has a nice vibe about it. Some parts of the hotel are old and in my opinion could do with being updated ie. the bar and bedrooms in the old part. However the pool area is fantastic. It is really clean bright and modern with lots of extra water features that can be turned on, even in the kids pool. We had a family room which was not very luxurious but was comfortable and fine. The only downfall was the outside window was dirty and also the blind inside. One day our room was not cleaned until after 6:30pm. However, beds were comfortable. Third bed was a camp bed. The restaurant food is gorgeous, with nice attentive staff. Breakfast was v. busy but good. The kids club runs from 10-1pm and 6-11:30pm and lunch and dinner for kids was all included in the package- very good value and kids enjoyed it and made friends. A kids playground would be a great addition to the hotel if they could build one. It is a short drive (about 15mins) into Athlone town. There is a nice shopping centre etc. We also had a free activity included and chose the boat trip, which was nice. The hotel is situated by the river and there is a nice little maria. I think they could make more of these feature though, as it is a bit drab. Its a pity the car park is so close to the scenic area, as it could be a really tranquil place except for all the cars and activity so close by. There were two weddings while were were there. All in all, we had a lovely stay and would definitely return. Staff should be commended on their friendliness!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah1196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Dear Guest

It was wonderful to read that your family enjoyed your break with us. We have taken your recommendations and passed them to our local county council which own the car park and marina situated at the front of the hotel. Our aim at the hotel is to ensure that each guest has the opportunity to experience all the facilities that we have to offer, and leaves the hotel looking forward to a return visit. I am delighted that your family had such an enjoyable stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back. If you ever have the occasion to return, please make us aware so I can personally meet and welcome you back.

Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellaghy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

Found the staff to be rather stressed out though it was a very busy weekend. They were friendly though and the kids club staff were amazing....totally felt at ease leaving my 3 kids there for a few hours.
Had a family room which was clean but basic, though it was really good of the hotel to provide a dvd player for the kids.
Great location for kids, they thoroughly loved the pool, the pedal boat, paddling in the lake, the kids club activities and looking at the boats.
Breakfast was a bit disappointing as its generally one of the things I most look forward to when staying away. The croissants were all stuck together as though no one had bothered to separate them....ok petty i know but still.....also the butter, though gorgeously piped comes to the table practically frozen. I asked the waitress for another butter as the first one was so hard and my 7 year old was struggling to put it on his toast.....the waitress went into the kitchen and must have put it in the microwave for about a minute and presented me with a little bowl of pure liquid melted butter, i know she tried to be helpful.
Dinner in the restaurant was very good and probably the best thing. The worst was the frozen butter incident.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronagh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comments following on from your recent stay here in the Hodson Bay Hotel. I use feedback such as this to help motivate and encourage the team to perform to the highest level consistently. Obviously, on this occasion you have not experienced the true Hodson Bay experience and all of the team would like to extend our sincerest of apologies to you. I would like to assure you that this is definitely not the normal standard of service we strive to offer any guest. Should you wish to discuss this matter in greater detail please drop me a line to thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com, and I would be happy to discuss your concerns.

Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.8 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
3.6 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
3.7 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodson Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodson Bay Hotel

Property: Hodson Bay Hotel
Address: | Hodson Bay, Athlone N37 XR82, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#4 Family Hotel in Athlone
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hodson Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the gorgeous shores of Lough Ree and with 176 bedrooms, the 4-Star Hodson Bay Hotel is the premier choice for a divine relaxation getaway. With scenic lakeshore walks, championship golf courses and lake cruises on our doorstep, you’ll have a rich choice of enjoyable activities. For families, we have our fully supervised Penguin Kids Camp with fun and games to keep all our little VIPs entertained. Why not avail of our babysitting service and relax in our onsite spa? Or enjoy quality family time in our leisure centre complete with kiddies pool. 'Retreat at Hodson Bay’ is an area of the hotel which is exclusively for adults to ensure your stay is restful and that you are guaranteed peace and quiet to unwind in the beautifully-designed rooms. To revive and rejuvenate yourself, take advantage of our award-winning 'Spa at Hodson Bay'. Both of our restaurants offer mouth-watering local produce; and to end the day take a seat along our lakeview conservatory or enjoy our nightly in-house complimentary activities. The heart of the Midlands is a magical place, so treat yourself to a break in this picturesque setting and let our dedicated staff make your stay one to remember ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hodson Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodson Bay Athlone
Hotel Hodson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing