We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Years”
Review of Hodson Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hodson Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New Years”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Spent New Years Eve at the Hodson Bay with all my family. What can I say but great. Food and service was excellent. Entertainment in the ballroom was A1. Breakfast the next morning was delicious. Left it too late for this year but will be back for next year cause will be booking early.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your charming review on Trip Advisor. I was really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Hodson Bay Hotel.

It was heartening to hear that everything was to the high standard we expect here on a consistent basis and your feedback is greatly appreciated. I will endeavor to pass on your kind words to the rest of team. Feedback such as yours boosts staff morale and enthusiasm especially in these tough times.

We would be delighted to see you return to the hotel for next years, ‘New Year’ celebrations. Please make sure to contact me on return as I would love to meet you in person and thank you for your valued custom and your kind words.

Yours sincerely,

Timothy Hayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,049
    522
    237
    111
    67
See reviews for
689
660
28
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My wife and I had our wedding here in October and all I can say is the staff were fantastic and out of their way and more to make sure we, and our guests were well looked after.

Every little detail for our wedding was perfect, from the drinks reception to the meal, the set-up in the ballroom would have made a grown man cry, it was just perfect! With a very nicely landscaped private garden for the wedding party right outside the ballroom, our guests could come and go as they pleased but never be too far from the party! The bar staff were excellent, always seemed to be one there when you needed one, and never had to wait around to order a pint.

Every single one of the staff were 100% on top of everything to make our day go smoothly for us and our guests.

We stayed in the penthouse, and it was also amazing with some of the best view across the lakes I have ever seen.

The jacuzzi in our en-suite was a great way to help shake off a hangover in the morning.

I could go on for hours writing about how great the Hodson Bay was, and how they made everything run like clockwork so we could enjoy our wedding without having to worry about anything going wrong.

For a 4 star hotel, we got 5+ star service. Will definitely be recommending and booking in again in the new year for a break and some spa treatments for myself and my wife.

Thank you Hodson Bay Hotel, your efforts will not be forgotten!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eoin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. I was over the moon to hear that you enjoyed your wedding celebrations here at The Hodson Bay Hotel and we feel very privileged to have shared in this momentous occasion with you both.

It was fantastic to hear that the customer service you received from start to finish was of such a high standard. We feel very fortunate to have such hardworking and diligent staff as part of our team and I was delighted to hear that all your needs were accommodated. I will make sure to relay your kind words to the rest of the team as it’s important for staff morale to get recognition for their hard work and loyalty.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the Management Team, I would like to thank you for your review and please god we have the privilege of welcoming you back in the near future. Until then, we wish you and your wife health and happiness in your new life together.

Yours sincerely,

Timothy Hayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in late October. The location is good, very peaceful on the lake. You would definitely need transport as it is a couple of miles from Athlone. We booked an upgrade to a lake view room which barely had a view of the lake but a great view of the roof of the spa and Gym. Our room had connecting doors and unfortunately the people next door were very loud especially after coming back from the bar at 1pm. Breakfast was buffet style and even though it was very busy the staff coped very well. The breakfast itself was good, could not fault it. The staff were very friendly and helpful. So overall a pleasant stay but not a 4 star.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sutton2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. While I appreciate there were many positive aspects to your stay, I was disappointed to hear that your room was not to your satisfaction. It was very unfortunate that I did not get to speak to you prior to your departure and perhaps I could have moved you to a more suitable room or offered you some form of recompense for any anxiety caused. Customer care and satisfaction is of utmost importance to us here in the hotel hence the reason we get a lot of repeat and regular guests.

I was however, delighted to hear that your overall stay was a pleasant one and that you found our food and our staff to be of the high standard we expect here on a consistent basis. I will endeavor to pass on your kind words to the rest of the team. Your feedback will be greatly appreciated.

We would love to see you and your family return to the hotel in the near future. If you do decide to return, please do not hesitate to contact myself or my PA and we can make the necessary arrangements for you and ensure your room is a more suitable one.

Yours sincerely,

Timothy Hayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

59 of us visited the Hodson Bay for a reunion weekend last week. From the first time I contacted the hotel in May to begin organising the weekend, they were extremely supportive and helpful. We were given a great value deal, which included a private dining room on the Saturday night (where the kids could run around without disturbing anyone) and a golf tournament for those interested.

It was obviously a very busy weekend at the hotel, but a lot of the family commented on how friendly and accommodating all of the staff were. I've received a number of texts and emails from people saying how much they enjoyed it.

We also got great help from the staff on the front desk in picking a location for the family photo (not an easy task for 59 people, 13 of whom are 6 or under).

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the top (3rd) floor overlooking the lakee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dermot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review on Trip Advisor. I would like to thank you and your family for choosing The Hodson Bay Hotel for your family reunion.

We feel very fortunate to have been so busy and I was delighted to hear that this did not affect our overall customer service skills. I will make sure to relay your comments to the rest of the Management team as it’s important for staff morale to get recognition of their hard work and loyalty to the hotel. We are blessed to have such a fantastic team on board and your feedback will be greatly appreciated.

We would be delighted to welcome you and your family back to the hotel in the near future. If you do decide to return, please do not hesitate to contact me as I would be honored to meet you all in person.

Yours sincerely,

Timothy Hayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed in the Hodson Bay Hotel last weekend 8th - 10th November 2013. I was part of a group of 90 people. It is a number of years since I visited this hotel and was not too sure how things might have changed here. I should not have had any worries. We had a fantastic weekend!!! From check-in until check-out I could not fault the hotel in any way. The hotel facilities, staff and food were all excellent.

I also availed of the Free Wine Tasting on Saturday, this proved to be great fun and very informative.

We had Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner in the hotel and the quality, presentation and choice of food was all excellent. I have to comment particularly on the breakfast, I have never before tasted fresh fruit SO FRESH from a hotel breakfast buffet.

I would have no hesitation in recommending the Hodson Bay Hotel to anyone. My advice is ENJOY EVERY MINUTE

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your lovely words on Trip Advisor. I was thrilled to hear that you had such a memorable time here at The Hodson Bay Hotel and we feel very privileged to have had your custom.

It was fantastic to read that you found our hotel facilities, staff and food ‘excellent’. I will make sure to display your kind words in our staff facilities as it’s important for staff morale to get recognition for their hard work and dedication, especially in these tough times, economic and challenging times. Your feedback will be greatly appreciated.

Finally, I would like to say that we would be honored to welcome you back at the hotel in the future. If you do decide to return, please do not hesitate to contact me as I would like to meet with you in person and thank you sincerely for your valued custom and your feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Timothy Hayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I stayed for two nights with my husband and our two small boys and had a lovely time. All staff members were friendly and welcoming. The room was nice and clean, with a lovely view for boat loving sons. Pool and gym are both top class!
Breakfast was fantastic both for kids and adults and the lovely girl who served us both mornings remembered our tea and coffee order and that we wanted a mix of white and brown toast- impressive!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OV_Strale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review on Trip Advisor. It was great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay here at The Hodson Bay Hotel.

It was heartening to hear that the customer service you received was of such a high standard and that all your needs were accommodated. I will pass on your kind words to the team as it’s important for staff morale to get recognition for their hard work and dedication. Your feedback will be greatly appreciated.

We would love to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Please make sure to contact me if you do return as I would love to get the opportunity to meet with you all in person.

Yours sincerely,

Timothy Hayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The hotel is very big and accomodates many guests of weddings and other functions. Despite being busy, the rooms are quiet and of large size. Nice spa and swimming pool facilities, with steam room and sauna. The reception can arrange various daily trips and siteseeing. There is a boat pick up just outside the hotel opposite the car park. The boat ride was pleasant and can also be arranged to reach the town, get off for a walk, and then get another boat later on during the day to return to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beatricec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. It was great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time here at The Hodson Bay Hotel.

It was fantastic to see that you got the opportunity to avail of the facilities on offer here at the hotel. We are very central to lots of family amenities as well as hosting many indoor/outdoor activities to keep both young and old entertained. We are constantly looking at ways to improve and meet our guests’ needs and our activities are always under review.

We would be delighted to welcome you and your family back to the hotel in the near future. If you do decide to return, please do not hesitate to contact me as I would love to meet you all in person.

Yours sincerely,

Timothy Hayes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.8 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
3.7 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
3.7 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodson Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodson Bay Hotel

Property: Hodson Bay Hotel
Address: | Hodson Bay, Athlone N37 XR82, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#3 Business Hotel in Athlone
#4 Family Hotel in Athlone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hodson Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the gorgeous shores of Lough Ree and with 176 bedrooms, the 4-Star Hodson Bay Hotel is the premier choice for a divine relaxation getaway. With scenic lakeshore walks, championship golf courses and lake cruises on our doorstep, you’ll have a rich choice of enjoyable activities. For families, we have our fully supervised Penguin Kids Camp with fun and games to keep all our little VIPs entertained. Why not avail of our babysitting service and relax in our onsite spa? Or enjoy quality family time in our leisure centre complete with kiddies pool. 'Retreat at Hodson Bay’ is an area of the hotel which is exclusively for adults to ensure your stay is restful and that you are guaranteed peace and quiet to unwind in the beautifully-designed rooms. To revive and rejuvenate yourself, take advantage of our award-winning 'Spa at Hodson Bay'. Both of our restaurants offer mouth-watering local produce; and to end the day take a seat along our lakeview conservatory or enjoy our nightly in-house complimentary activities. The heart of the Midlands is a magical place, so treat yourself to a break in this picturesque setting and let our dedicated staff make your stay one to remember ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hodson Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodson Bay Athlone
Hotel Hodson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing