We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hodson Bay Hotel Experience”
Review of Hodson Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hodson Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hodson Bay Hotel Experience”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Hotel booked for meeting on 13th April and from first phone call to final settling account......service was excellent, efficient, friendly, courteous and professional....I could not really have asked for anything more. The concept of dealing with staff who seemed to enjoy what they were doing was refreshing

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Dilleen, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2016
Dear Noel T,
Thank you for your lovely words on Trip Advisor. I was thrilled to hear that you had such a enjoyable experience at The Hodson Bay Hotel.

We feel very privileged to have had your custom and we would be honoured to welcome you back to the hotel.

If you do decide to return, please let me know as I would love to meet with you in person.

Kind Regards
James Dilleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,049
    522
    237
    111
    67
See reviews for
689
660
28
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The hotel was fantastic just had a holiday there , excellent food and all staff very polite and helpful . Our daughter who is 7 yrs old loved the swimming pool , a very relaxing holiday for all the family . We had a family room the views from our window were stunning .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Dilleen, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2016
Dear Dave P,

Thank you for a great TripAdvisor review.

Its great that we were able to meet your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should your travels next bring you to Athlone.

Kind Regards,

James Dilleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The hodson was a great spot, right on the lake shore, good food and comfortable bar. The staff were all very friendly and loads of areas to sit and relax. The pool area and gym were excellent, spotless dressing rooms and friendly staff. Room was excellent very spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent loads of choice in a lovely bright room looking out at the lake.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new part of hotel over looking lake or golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 72alliejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Dilleen, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2016
Dear 72alliejane,

Thank you for a great TripAdvisor review.

Its great that we were able to meet your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should your travels next bring you to Athlone.

Kind Regards,

James Dilleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
160 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Recently had around 100 colleagues at a 2 day conference here. Superb attention to detail, exceptional attentive service and fantastic food and accommodation. To top it all at a fair and common sense price.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanIelDMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Dilleen, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2016
Dear DanIelDMan,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review about our Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that all your expectations were met on this occasion and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hodson Bay Hotel again sometime in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards
James Dilleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I have just got married hear, all my family are from England so we all stayed there a few nights. The service and food was fantastic from start to finish and on the day of the wedding the rooms were fabulous it really did exceed are expectation. The staff were so friendly and helpful nothing was to much trouble. I will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hallrebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Dilleen, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2016
Dear Hallrebecca,

Thanks very much for the wonderful review about our Hotel.

We are delighted to have been able to share such a wonderful day with you and your family. Your review makes all the hard work worth while. I will ensure to pass on your positive words to the team here at the Hodson Bay Hotel.

If you decide to travel to Ireland again please do not hesitate to contact me as i would love to meet with you in person and thank you for your kind words about our Hotel.

Kind Regards
James Dilleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed as part of an overnight conference. Conference rooms were so warm we could barely breath. Water jugs gave us dirt into our glasses. The first day we were given stale sandwiches and soup so thick you could barely eat it. On the second day we had the same stale sandwiches and watered down soup with a lovely layer of grease on top.
One of our group didn't eat bread and to get a wrap was like we were asking for the waitresses first born.
Needless to say I wouldnt voluntarily stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank hfpoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I attended a wedding here during the month of April. The location is second to none. Great views and there is a golf course. A large function room well decorated. The hotel is very large with alot of rooms. The hotel was spotless and well maintained. The staff were very friendly and courtious. The food was very nice and tasty. I would highly recommend this hotel for any function especially weddings. The only downfall I found with thid hotel is that drink was very expensive there.
As I did not stay I do not know about rooms or breakfast but what I was told it was very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catwalk100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Dilleen, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2016
Dear catwalk10,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review about our Hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the wedding celebrations.

Can i recommend if you should ever decide to come to the Hodson Bay Hotel again that you check in and relax and avail of the many facilities we have to offer. Our Spa and Leisure center and of course our award winning carvery food and not to mention our beautiful breakfast display overlooking the lake and surrounding countryside.

We look forward to welcoming you back once again.

Kind Regards
James Dilleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.8 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
3.7 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
3.7 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodson Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodson Bay Hotel

Property: Hodson Bay Hotel
Address: | Hodson Bay, Athlone N37 XR82, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#3 Business Hotel in Athlone
#4 Family Hotel in Athlone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hodson Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the gorgeous shores of Lough Ree and with 176 bedrooms, the 4-Star Hodson Bay Hotel is the premier choice for a divine relaxation getaway. With scenic lakeshore walks, championship golf courses and lake cruises on our doorstep, you’ll have a rich choice of enjoyable activities. For families, we have our fully supervised Penguin Kids Camp with fun and games to keep all our little VIPs entertained. Why not avail of our babysitting service and relax in our onsite spa? Or enjoy quality family time in our leisure centre complete with kiddies pool. 'Retreat at Hodson Bay’ is an area of the hotel which is exclusively for adults to ensure your stay is restful and that you are guaranteed peace and quiet to unwind in the beautifully-designed rooms. To revive and rejuvenate yourself, take advantage of our award-winning 'Spa at Hodson Bay'. Both of our restaurants offer mouth-watering local produce; and to end the day take a seat along our lakeview conservatory or enjoy our nightly in-house complimentary activities. The heart of the Midlands is a magical place, so treat yourself to a break in this picturesque setting and let our dedicated staff make your stay one to remember ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hodson Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodson Bay Athlone
Hotel Hodson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing