We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Getaway”
Review of Hodson Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hodson Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed here for two night in March this year. Was absolutely fantastic. There was 9 adults and two children aged 7 and 8. We all left on the Sunday with no regrets or complaints towards the weekend. The food was fab, rooms where very clean and comfy and we had an amazing view of the lake, pool was fabulous. Staff where more than helpful and seen as we barely left the hotel over the three days, two nights, they really did everything and more than was asked from them. Really wouldn't hesitate in going back here and would highly recommend to anyone thinking of heading off on a family getaway )

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EilisApril2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Dilleen, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

Dear EilisApril2014,

Thank you for a great TripAdvisor review.

Its great that we were able to meet your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should your travels next bring you to Athlone.

Kind Regards,

James Dilleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,431 - 1,437 of 2,242 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

There is a lot of postives about this hotel and they are getting so much right but they absolutely need to get their act together! They are so dis organised and with the exception of the L'escale restaurant there was nobody running the show and it really showed... staff running around like headless chickens, huge delays in ordering food and getting food, tables not cleared, etc etc. Kids club is great, the 2 hours complimentary toddler minding in the evening is great (albeit our little lad refused to be left), the food is good (room for improvement but good) Rooms (when we eventually got the family room that we paid for was ideal), Spa is nice, leisure facilities and pool nice. Setting is fab and the hotel is in a fab location. Would I go back.....yes if they trained their staff and upped their game. The standard of service was just appalling...the staff were very apologetic when you complained but that had worn thin by day 2. It's such a pity because everything else was very good.

Room Tip: Try get a room away from the function rooms if there is a wedding on....the noise may disturb your s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizM75_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Running a training course over a couple of days. Stay was great. Stayed in the new build by the swimming pool. Really well looked after by the team. Helpful, friendly and polite. Thanks to Jamie (who sorted some wifi issues for me) and Steve who made sure the the training room worked perfectly. Hope to return soon. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Dilleen, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

Dear NigelB01,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review on our Hotel.

Its great that we were able to meet your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should your travels next bring you to Athlone. Your positive comments will be passed onto the team.

Kind Regards,

James Dilleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Kids paradise! Just checked out after a great Easter break, our children are 8 and 4 and they adored the Kids Club especially Daire and Ollie! All the Staff are very friendly, helpful and professional. We stayed in the family suite and it is well worth the small upgrade, two rooms linked by a small "corridor", no doors between them. Double bed in adult room and children's room has a double and single, with no separate entrance, very spacious and perfect for our needs. The room isn't soundproof from hall noise, but it was minimal, we were on the second floor and would recommend it. We ate in the Waterfront bar on the first night-it was standard pub fare and just average, on the second night we ate in the restaurant and this meal was excellent. Very well suited to young families needs.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank MotherhenIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My family (2 adults 2 children) availed of a 3 day midweek break booked directly with the hotel. The check in process was seamless and the receptionist went to great lengths to explain all the options available, especially those for the kids.

Facilities wise the hotel is excellent and the kids really enjoyed the use of the pool (which can get very busy). Our room itself was spotlessly clean and spacious although noise from other rooms is very noticeable. The breakfasts were fairly standard fare but of good quality, and the kids loved the pancake machine (we weren't the only ones as there was always a queue for this). We had lunch and a dinner in the bar and the food was quite good although the service was a little bit slow - that said the staff though out the hotel were lovely, these guys really get the idea of service, its among the best I've ever received and they are a credit to themselves and the hotel management.

My only complaint, albeit a very minor one, is the bed was *extremely* soft and I really did not sleep well but that's a personal preference rather than any issue with the hotel/service. We'll definitely be back (just asking for a firmer bed!)

Room Tip: There seems to be a newer wing in the hotel and these may be better if you are looking for a quitter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndwhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I attended a wedding in The Hodson Bay Hotel in April and stayed in the wheelchair accessible room. Disabled parking spaces are beside the Leisure centre; hotel reception can be accessed using this entrance. The accessible room is in a quiet area, away from noise of guests using the lift. The bedroom and bathroom are both modern and spacious with beautiful views of Lough Ree. There is a Jacuzzi bath and grab rails in the shower, however a shower chair was not provided. On enquiring at reception I was informed this needs to be requested - this should be advised on check in. The thermostat wasn’t working in the bedroom and the heat was on continually – Reception later advised the room temperature is controlled at reception which is very inconvenient.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank AccessTravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We are a couple in our 60's and recently had occasion to stay at the Hodson Bay Hotel in Athlone. We will make this review short, the hotel accommodation was lovely, our double room was spacious, clean and comfortable.
The staff on the Reception Desk were most helpful, the breakfast was everything you could ask for and we would have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation to anyone who would like a holiday break. The location is ideal, it is scenic, quiet and beautiful.

Room Tip: We found that our bedroom on the third floor was in a quiet location but I would recommend checking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenpasteurs25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Dilleen, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

Dear greenpasteurs25,

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review on TripAdvisor about our Hotel.
It is feedback like yours that makes all the hard work worth while.

I will ensure to pass your kind words to the teams involved in making this occasion very special for you.

We look forward to seeing you again in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards
James Dilleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.8 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
2,026 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
4.2 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
965 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
3.7 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodson Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodson Bay Hotel

Address: | Hodson Bay, Athlone N37 XR82, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#3 Family Hotel in Athlone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: £96 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hodson Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the gorgeous shores of Lough Ree and with 176 bedrooms, the 4-Star Hodson Bay Hotel is the premier choice for a divine relaxation getaway. With scenic lakeshore walks, championship golf courses and lake cruises on our doorstep, you’ll have a rich choice of enjoyable activities. For families, we have our fully supervised Penguin Kids Camp with fun and games to keep all our little VIPs entertained. Why not avail of our babysitting service and relax in our onsite spa? Or enjoy quality family time in our leisure centre complete with kiddies pool. 'Retreat at Hodson Bay’ is an area of the hotel which is exclusively for adults to ensure your stay is restful and that you are guaranteed peace and quiet to unwind in the beautifully-designed rooms. To revive and rejuvenate yourself, take advantage of our award-winning 'Spa at Hodson Bay'. Both of our restaurants offer mouth-watering local produce; and to end the day take a seat along our lakeview conservatory or enjoy our nightly in-house complimentary activities. The heart of the Midlands is a magical place, so treat yourself to a break in this picturesque setting and let our dedicated staff make your stay one to remember ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hodson Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodson Bay Athlone
Hotel Hodson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing