We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wedding venue. Highly recommend”
Review of Hodson Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hodson Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great wedding venue. Highly recommend”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Attended a relatives wedding on Easter Monday 2014. Very professionally run hotel in wonderful setting beside Lough Ree. Staff are well trained, courteous and efficient. Check in was quick and easy. Rooms are modern, very comfortable and quiet. The meal service and quality of the food at the wedding was second to none. Bar staff did a great job serving us well into the early hours of the morning. Colin was the wedding coordinator and he did a first class job, very helpful and pleasant young man.
Had a great nights sleep on a very comfortable bed followed by breakfast the next morning was again top notch with an excellent selection and everything was clean and well presented.
Pool area is nice and the weather was warm enough to walk around the lake and pier area.
I'd give very high marks to the management of this hotel, they seem to be on top of everything. A definite A+++. Hope to go back there for some R&R in the near future

Room Tip: I had a room on the 1st floor away from the elevator. No view but very quiet. Rooms on the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewF-Irl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Dilleen, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2016
Dear Andrew-Irl,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great TripAdvisor review.

It makes what we do here in the hotel more worthwhile we are glad that you had such an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should your travels next bring you to Athlone.

Kind Regards,

James Dilleen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,066
    528
    240
    114
    69
See reviews for
698
671
28
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

a group of 8 of us stayed last weekend for a 50th birthday party and I have to say it was simply wonderful. I had heard so much about the hotel but never been before, however I will certainly be back.
Whoever is in charge of training the staff at your hotel is to be commended, they were simply wonderful, every single one of them, so friendly and helpful, they just couldn't do enough.
2 nights with you and I came home feeling like I had been on a weeks holiday.
Thank you so much and compliments to your entire team.
I also had a treatment in the Spa.... AMAZING
Shane

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Dilleen, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2016
Dear Shane197,

Thanks for such a great review about our Hotel on Trip Advisor,

I was delighted to read you and your friends had such a memorable time here at our beautiful Hotel. We always aim to exceed expectations and in your case this was no exception. It makes what we do here worth while.

Should you ever decide to stay with us again in the not to distant future please do not hesitate to contact myself as i would love the opportunity to meet with you in person and thank you for your great review.

Kind Regards,
James Dilleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

On arrival to Hotel We immediately felt relaxed, Stunning Location overlooking Lough Ree, From that moment right through we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, Checkin Great, Bedroom Lovely, Gorgeous Bar food and although busy we still relaxed and enjoyed the atmosphere which we wanted, Restaurant was also great on the Saturday Night, Breakfast was superb best I'd say, We will definitely Return, Thanks to the whole Team,

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MaryBGavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Dilleen, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2016
Dear MaryBGavin,

Thank you for a great TripAdvisor review.

It makes what we do here in the hotel more worthwhile we are glad that you had such an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should your travels next bring you to Athlone.

Kind Regards,

James Dilleen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We went to a wedding in Athlone and as the reception was at the Hodson Bay Hotel, we decided to stay there from Thursday to Monday. Apart from a wonderful, wonderful wedding, the stay at the hotel was marvellous too. Staff could not do enough for us, the food was to die for and the whole atmosphere was so relaxed even though the hotel was very busy. Breakfast was a real treat, the pool and spa was great and on the morning of the wedding I was able to have my hair done at the Enigma hair salon. There was even a whisky tasting session one afternoon and live music in the bar on Sunday evening. We were very sorry to leave on Monday lunchtime. One to visit again.

Room Tip: We were on the back of the hotel which did not bother us, but ask if you would like a view of Lough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Dilleen, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2016
Dear Rita H,
Thank you for your fantastic review on Trip Advisor . We feel very privileged to have shared in this happy occasion with you and that you all enjoyed your stay.

It was great to hear that you found the standards throughout the hotel to be of such a high caliber and I will endeavor to pass on your kind words to our team who always strive to exceed our guests expectations.

We look forward to the future and we welcome you back again if you or your family choose to stay with us here at the Hodson Bay Hotel, Spa & Leisure.

Kind Regards
James Dilleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Had a meal there yesterday bank holiday mon .very poor quality food.totally over priced for what is provided.food was overcooked and tasted of reheat, steak my husband said was good but burger and turkey meals were awful ,dry and Luke warm.have eaten there previously and found the food quite good but yesterday's was way below expectations. Both food and drink are way overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hymac903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

On the whole the Hodson bay works when you have 3 children and as long as they are happy then generally you, as a parent, are happy. We chose this hotel based on their reputation as family friendly and we wanted to give our kids a few days break to swim and have fun and in booking the Hodson bay we did just that. My children loved it and thoroughly enjoyed themselves. This is a really busy hotel, think airport busy and there are people everywhere at all times of the day. The breakfast room is unbearably hot and the windows are sellotaped shut so you can't open them, it's also noisy and cramped. One of the children in our party has some sensory issues and he had to leave it was so loud (at 9am). The restaurant is very busy too, we dined with our 2 year old who was really good (surprisingly!!) and they sat us at the back with all the kids, I have to say I don't mind this at all though I heard others complaining. The food in the restaurant was very well presented, it looked better than it tasted to be honest but it was perfectly fine - it's served with big bowls of mash which is a little old fashioned but it's kind of the vibe in the hodson bay. Lunch in the bar was horrendous, carvery...and nothing else, just carvery. Very dated and the whole area stinks of peas. We had soup as a last resort which was fine but all in all not a nice lunch experience, the bar is dark and dreary and although it's called waterfront most of it has no windows (at the back). We didn't have lunch there again but travelled to Glasson, much better.

Some really good points:
- kids club staff were great, enthusiastic and friendly. My son has allergies and nothing was too much trouble. Kids meals were fine, though I do think that the dinner is quite late for children and on the first night it was easily 7.40pm before they ate
- pool area and changing rooms are spotlessly clean and roomy
- service in relation to children was very good, when we asked for our toddlers dinner it was brought out right away and there was no charge for squash drinks
- Reception desk service was efficient and friendly


Some issues I had:
- the rooms are very inconsistent, we had 3 children and so weren't able to have a family room but had to have interconnecting rooms. My sister had 2 children (much older than mine) with her and so had a family room and it was much, much better than ours...it had a fridge (ours didn't) and a much bigger bathroom with seperate shower and bath. It had a sitting area and a dressing area whereas ours had barely enough room to put a suitcase to unpack.
- There are no childrens channels on the TV and the wifi is rubbish so we wanted our smaller children to chill out and watch a movie while the baby napped and this wasn't possible
- Some rooms are newly painted, some are not - those that are not have terrible water pressure and dated bathrooms
- The noise between rooms is incredible, there were children and adults up and down the corridor until 5am one night. We could also hear coughing and snoring from the room next door. However we were moved pretty promptly when asked the next morning
- kids club is up a steep stairs, on the first night there was a weddding at the foot of the stairs and as we were walking back from dropping kids off (with a running toddler) we accidentally barged into the bride and groom as they made their entrance into a room of waiting guests, so embarassing for us and if I was the bride I might have been annoyed with the hotel

So on the whole, if I could choose exactly what room I would be in and it wasn't on a long corridor but at the end of a corridor and not near the lift and it had been updated then I would probably go back for mid term or easter break. My children definitely enjoyed it but I didn't sleep much and was happy enough to check out to head home.

Note, the fatted calf and grogans in Glasson are great pubs for lunch about 10 mins drive.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not put near the lift or at the beginning of a long corridor! The first floor was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardigan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

What can I say! Got to hodson bay hotel and after seeing our room which was suppose to be deluxe suite we complained, view was non existent and we were given another room. Again, room was dated with furniture scratched and torn. An absolute let down in comparison to what the website advertises! We decided not to stay and are driving home as we speak!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veurbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Dilleen, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2016
Dear Verbu

Thank you for taking the time to review The Hodson Bay Hotel from your last stay with us.

Please accept our apologies for the shortcomings you experienced. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that you would use the hotel again when next visiting the area.

On a personal note, thank you for your feedback; it helps us to constantly improve our hotel product and services.

Kind Regards,

James Dilleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.8 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,847 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
4.2 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,034 reviews
3.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodson Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodson Bay Hotel

Property: Hodson Bay Hotel
Address: | Hodson Bay, Athlone N37 XR82, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#4 Family Hotel in Athlone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hodson Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the gorgeous shores of Lough Ree and with 176 bedrooms, the 4-Star Hodson Bay Hotel is the premier choice for a divine relaxation getaway. With scenic lakeshore walks, championship golf courses and lake cruises on our doorstep, you’ll have a rich choice of enjoyable activities. For families, we have our fully supervised Penguin Kids Camp with fun and games to keep all our little VIPs entertained. Why not avail of our babysitting service and relax in our onsite spa? Or enjoy quality family time in our leisure centre complete with kiddies pool. 'Retreat at Hodson Bay’ is an area of the hotel which is exclusively for adults to ensure your stay is restful and that you are guaranteed peace and quiet to unwind in the beautifully-designed rooms. To revive and rejuvenate yourself, take advantage of our award-winning 'Spa at Hodson Bay'. Both of our restaurants offer mouth-watering local produce; and to end the day take a seat along our lakeview conservatory or enjoy our nightly in-house complimentary activities. The heart of the Midlands is a magical place, so treat yourself to a break in this picturesque setting and let our dedicated staff make your stay one to remember ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hodson Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodson Bay Athlone
Hotel Hodson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing