We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hodson Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hodson Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Enjoyable time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

My father was at a conference her late last year and when we were looking for a place to go he suggested here, now i was here a few years ago so he just reaffirmed it in my mind. my partner enjoyed the spa thoroughly enjoyed her treatment, we had a lovely walk by the lake and in the beautiful weather we are having its a real plus for the hotel. Myself not being a fan of carverys, we had decided to chance it, it was fresh tasty & busy for lunch and has made me reconsider my views on carverys (well in the Hodson Bay at least). We had dinner that night in the restaurant L'escale, I couldn't fault it, again tasty and i could see an improvement from my first time there a few years ago, not to say that it was bad back then, but something has changed. Breakfast was efficient and what you would expect. All in all we had a great time and will be back

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ryanadam82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Dilleen, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2016
Dear Ryanadam82,

Thank you for a great TripAdvisor review.

It makes what we do here in the hotel more worthwhile we are glad that you had such an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should your travels next bring you to Athlone.

Kind Regards,

James Dilleen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,036
    514
    232
    109
    63
See reviews for
677
648
27
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

No wifi in room, despite assurances to the contrary. Only Irish TV channels, incredible for a 4 star hotel in 2014. One of the few available channels scrambled every 10 seconds, so world cup unwatchable! Breakfast ok, but hotel should aim for quality rather than quantity: fresh summer fruit in season please, lose the tinned pears and peaches. Staff didn't seem to have a problem with one gentleman guest who wandered barefoot around the breakfast buffet; found this offputting, and I would expect hotel to deal with this. Plus side: nice room and view, staff efficient, if lacking somewhat in personality.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Gilda207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here with my other half for a weekend. We both enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel itself is in a beautiful location. The rooms had everything you'd need, no complaints about the beds or sleep quality and I admit I can be a tad fussy about this sometimes.
Didn't actually eat in the hotel which I regret after seeing so many positive reviews of it.
Staff were superb - very friendly. Sincere thanks to the reception staff especially.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Dilleen, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2016
Dear Sharon W,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit at The Hodson Bay Hotel.

It was great to see that our standard of customer service throughout the hotel was fantastic and I will make sure to display your kind words in our staff facilities. It is important for staff morale to get recognition for their hard work and dedication.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the Hodson Bay Hotel, Spa and Leisure.

Kind Regards,
James Dilleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Arrived down for 2night stay last sunday with my husband and 10 month old daughter. Weather was abs amazing so it made the hotel setting even more spectacular. The hotel is located right on the lake, so amazing view to wake up to each morning. The room itself was big enough, but it is a little dated. The TV didnt work properly and there is no fridge in the room, or wi-fi, both of which are standard in most hotels these days.
There are plenty of activities going on in the hotel, we availed of complimentary wine tasting with cheese and crackers on the monday which was lovely. There is also a kids room which was great for my 10month old daughter, lots of toys to play with.
The staff are helpful but overall not on the ball, slow to serve you in the resturant, slow to seat you at breakfast, slow to check in. Also we were asked at check in if we wanted a paper each morning which we said yes to but no paper ever arrived. Also the "welcome cocktail" isnt a cocktail, the hotel would be better off offering a glass of wine. The "cocktail" made us both feel sick it was so awful.
The windows in the hotel need a good clean aswel, our room was on the 3rd floor with amazing views but the window was filthy so kind of took away from it.
Overall an enjoyable stay, this hotel has huge potential if it was paid a little more attention!

Room Tip: Book a retreat room, in the new part of the hotel, no kids allowed so we couldn't avail but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RhonaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed for 1 night with Dublin Branch of Chelsea Supporters Club. Lovely location, friendly staff, very comfortable beds, nice pool for swimming. Staff very attentive and food great quality in restaurant. Will be back

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Dilleen, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2016
Dear David C,

Thank you for a great TripAdvisor review.

It makes what we do here in the hotel more worthwhile we are glad that you had such an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should your travels next bring you to Athlone.

Kind Regards,

James Dilleen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My review The hudson bay hotel is the most pleasent place i have stayed With myself and my partner Dawn Sutton who traveled from belfast She enjoyed her stay as well The loaction of the hotel is beauitful The hotel clean food is lovely and the staff is excellent And the company of the dublin chelsea supporters club made it a great nite to remember And to wake up to a excellent breakfast Well done to the chairman of the club Pat byrne in pick a excellent hotel I would stay again Thank u to all Joseph walsh and Dawn Sutton

Room Tip: Over looking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 650chelseajoe650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Dilleen, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2016
Thank you for a great TripAdvisor review.

It makes what we do here in the hotel more worthwhile we are glad that you had such an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should your travels next bring you to Athlone.

Kind Regards,

James Dilleen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We the Chelsea Supporters Club (cfcdublin@gmail.com) recently had an overnight with B&B and 1 evening meal to celebrate our 30th anniversary in this fabulous hotel.
The rooms were very spacious and the food was top notch, the entire staff at the hotel were very accommodating and very helpful.
Everyone of our members said they could not believe the quality of this hotel, for the price we paid, the main talking point on the morning of our departure was how everyone had enjoyed their stay.
We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new extension appear to be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Dilleen, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2016
Dear Patrick B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor about our Hotel. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit at The Hodson Bay Hotel.

It was great to see that our standard of customer service throughout the hotel was fantastic and I will make sure to display your kind words in our staff facilities. It is important for staff morale to get recognition for their hard work and dedication.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should your travels next bring you to Athlone.

Kind Regards,
James Dilleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.8 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
3.7 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
3.7 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodson Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodson Bay Hotel

Property: Hodson Bay Hotel
Address: | Hodson Bay, Athlone N37 XR82, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#4 Family Hotel in Athlone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hodson Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the gorgeous shores of Lough Ree and with 176 bedrooms, the 4-Star Hodson Bay Hotel is the premier choice for a divine relaxation getaway. With scenic lakeshore walks, championship golf courses and lake cruises on our doorstep, you’ll have a rich choice of enjoyable activities. For families, we have our fully supervised Penguin Kids Camp with fun and games to keep all our little VIPs entertained. Why not avail of our babysitting service and relax in our onsite spa? Or enjoy quality family time in our leisure centre complete with kiddies pool. 'Retreat at Hodson Bay’ is an area of the hotel which is exclusively for adults to ensure your stay is restful and that you are guaranteed peace and quiet to unwind in the beautifully-designed rooms. To revive and rejuvenate yourself, take advantage of our award-winning 'Spa at Hodson Bay'. Both of our restaurants offer mouth-watering local produce; and to end the day take a seat along our lakeview conservatory or enjoy our nightly in-house complimentary activities. The heart of the Midlands is a magical place, so treat yourself to a break in this picturesque setting and let our dedicated staff make your stay one to remember ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hodson Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodson Bay Athlone
Hotel Hodson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing