We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“few days in Ireland”
Review of Hodson Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hodson Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Hotel setting very beautiful, lovely staff, good food,room very nice, very clean, what more do you need from a hotel!!We were on the top floor although room was a little small it was ok,saw the sun coming up in the morning over the lake, very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yvonne60wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,135)
There are newer reviews for Hodson Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,241 - 1,247 of 2,135 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Having stayed here in the past we were shocked and how much this hotel has changed over the last few years. The rooms in the original hotel which were tired and old fashioned have been revamped and our family suite was just perfect - Two bedrooms joined by a lovely corridor and plenty of storage space. The hotel has been listening to their customers and have mastered the family holiday experience. As an extended family group, it catered for all our needs, golf for the golfers, amazing spa for those who were after pampering, evening entertainment and fab food for night time. Most of all, for us, as parents, it was fantastic for our children. They are aged 9,7 and 3 and they were entertained and fed both morning and evening. The older 2 went to kids camp from 10am - 1pm and then again from 6pm to 11pm while we ate dinner. They loved staying up late to watch a movie with their new friends. The 3 year old was taken care of in the toddler room from 6.30pm to 8.30pm and he was delighted with Percy penguin and all the enthusiastic and engaging camp leaders. Have to give a shout out to Irene and Aoife who were just amazing at entertaining the troops.
On top of all the included camps etc we also got a free trip on the Viking cruise which went down brilliantly with all the gang. We were also fascinated by the water obstacle course and activities. Athlone has so much to offer, we were lucky to be there for the Medieval festival at the castle and a 5K Fun Run & Barbecue for Joinourboys.org. We stayed for 4 nights and could have definitely stayed longer. The service was friendly and accommodating, the services were excellent, the food was top notch and the overall holiday was very reasonable. We are already planning a return trip.

Room Tip: The gorgeous new wing of the hotel is for adults only - the original hotel is for families and while...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
10  Thank NaoiseH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We recently stayed here for 2 nights midweek and were not impressed. Upon check in the person dealing with us couldn't find our reservation initially and after numerous queries about our name it was eventually found, the receptionist didn't feel the need to apologies and seemed very disinterested. Our room was OK if a bit on the small side. The bathroom was adequate but the shower leaked all over the place. At breakfast the food was below par and the staff were obviously lacking training, the only exception was Robert (I think) who was excellent. The restaurant is the only redeeming feature and is managed well with good food and attentive staff. That is in complete contrast to the service in the bar area where the staff again obviously lacked training as basics were not being done, staff walking past tables covered in empty glasses without thinking of clearing them, waiting 40 mins + for service seemed the norm and the place wasn't busy. The hotel is in a lovely setting but needs major improvements.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank MikeCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We decided on the spur of the moment to take a detour to the Hodson Bay Hotel last Saturday while driving around the Athlone area and am I glad we did!

I am a bit of a stickler for service and having travelled a lot, I am very critical of the service we accept and particularly in Ireland. We just don't do it as well as we should and although that is a generalisation (and it's dangerous to generalise) I won't be moved from that opinion.

Thankfully there are exceptions and I came across one of the those exceptions last Saturday as I've said when we decided to lunch at the Hodson Bay. We've stayed at this fine hotel before and would fully recommend it but my review today focusses on the lunch and in particular the service we received and observed. Food was excellent and very reasonably priced but the manner in which it was served made it a really excellent experience.

We must give a special mention to Sean Watts, the barman who looked after us. A quiet and confident young man who was in complete control of a busy bar / buffet restaurant and did it without fuss. His ability to stay calm under pressure was clear but he never once lost sight of his customers. Eye contact, engaging, efficient etc. he had it all. I observed him with other customers also so it wasn't a "one off" and that impressed me.

Next time you're in Athlone, pop in to the Hodson Bay and if you're not staying then at least have a pint and some lunch. The service alone will make it worthwhile.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank PaulNimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel a few week ago for a night away, it is set overlooking the lake, it was really very relaxing and we enjoy the little walks around the grounds, the weather was lovely and all you could see when you looked out of the bedroom was boats and sun shining down on them, what a sight. We were given a warm welcome when we arrived which in my book is always important, the receptionist was friendly and chatty to us, we got a nice room overlooking the lake, the only down side was there was no A C and the room was very warm even with window open, it was difficult to sleep, but apart from that our stay was really a lovely relaxing experience, and the food was very good in the restaurant, All staff were excellent and we had a lovely lady serve us in the restaurant also, but as I said our down side was not having a proper night sleep, but we would return again and hope to do so soon. Thanks to all the staff well done guys!!!!

Geraldine

Room Tip: I think there is a new part in the hotel, so maybe the rooms there have A C, but the old part overlo...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Geraldine o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Geraldine

Thank you for your comment. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will some time in the near future returned to make many more happy memories at Hodson Bay Hotel. We were very fortunate to have had this unusual spell of hot weather during your stay, so my apologies on the temperature of your room. I can assure you that we try to make the necessary arrangements to ensure that all guests environment is as comfortable as possible. Hence, the reason we get a lot of repeat and regular guests.

Geraldine I appreciate all your positive feedback and really love your closing line "thanks to all the staff well done guys!!!!" its great to receive it, and it really helps with the on-going motivation of the team here. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hodson Bay Hotel some time in the near future.

Kind Regards
Tim Hayes
General Manager
Thayes@Hodsonbayhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Travelled to Hodson Bay as 2 families with small children...we had a fabulous time,children loved there stay..lots to entertain them including children's camps,swimming pools,boats on lake,the list is endless. Food in restaurant is fabulous and rooms are of good quality and the family had plenty of room,just want to end review by adding that staff were the most accommodating I have come across and I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank cillian25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Dilleen, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2016

Dear laurainne,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. We are glad that you and your family had such a memorable experience as a result of your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to us soon should your travels next bring you to Athlone.

I am proud to pass on your comments to the entire team here at the hotel.

Kind Regards,

James Dilleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Myself and my husband and two children 3&5 stayed for three nites in an interconnected room. Room was lovely children delighted that they had own tv and bathroom. Wi fi good in both rooms. Very clean and everything u could want. Fans outside window quite noisy but they have to be somewhere. Breakfast beautiful with loads of choice waiting staff very nice and no prob with doing anything for you. Restaurant food amazing chef very talented would recommend it to everyone. We brought our children in with us and they didn't mind which was great but we made sure we ate at 6 as to not annoy people but we could have ate later no problem. They boys loved the penguin and were excited to c him twice aday without fail. We had to wait especially for him!!! Pool brilliant changing rooms spotless and huge. Only gripe i would have is that tiny tots room a disgrace. Too small a room with one window and a few old and broke toys. Would nt leave my children there. I have sent a note to hotel about it. Such a pity on a beautiful hotel that the smallest guests would be though so little of. Just something for the hotel to note for future investment. Other than that we would definitely be back my 3 year old cried when leaving!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lynoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James_Dilleen, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2016

Dear lynoha,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review about our Hotel.
We greatly appreciate your positive and constructive feedback. Feedback like yours makes our jobs here worthwhile. Thank you for your wonderful comments on our many departments, i will ensure to pass this on to them.

I was disappointed to read that your expectations were not met on this occasion. I would like to apologies for this and i want to assure you we have intentions on refurbishing this area of the hotel by next summer hopefully.

We would love to welcome you and your family back once again to the Hodson Bay Hotel, Spa and Leisure for another memorable trip.

Kind Regards,
James Dilleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.8 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,940 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,085 reviews
3.7 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
3.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodson Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodson Bay Hotel

Address: | Hodson Bay, Athlone N37 XR82, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#4 Family Hotel in Athlone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: £78 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hodson Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the gorgeous shores of Lough Ree and with 176 bedrooms, the 4-Star Hodson Bay Hotel is the premier choice for a divine relaxation getaway. With scenic lakeshore walks, championship golf courses and lake cruises on our doorstep, you’ll have a rich choice of enjoyable activities. For families, we have our fully supervised Penguin Kids Camp with fun and games to keep all our little VIPs entertained. Why not avail of our babysitting service and relax in our onsite spa? Or enjoy quality family time in our leisure centre complete with kiddies pool. 'Retreat at Hodson Bay’ is an area of the hotel which is exclusively for adults to ensure your stay is restful and that you are guaranteed peace and quiet to unwind in the beautifully-designed rooms. To revive and rejuvenate yourself, take advantage of our award-winning 'Spa at Hodson Bay'. Both of our restaurants offer mouth-watering local produce; and to end the day take a seat along our lakeview conservatory or enjoy our nightly in-house complimentary activities. The heart of the Midlands is a magical place, so treat yourself to a break in this picturesque setting and let our dedicated staff make your stay one to remember ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hodson Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodson Bay Athlone
Hotel Hodson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing