We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hodson Bay Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$331
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Athlone Springs Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Prince of Wales Hotel(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creggan Court(Athlone)(Great Value!)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Cooneys Hotel(Ballymahon)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,282)
Filter reviews
2,282 results
Traveller rating
1,209
592
261
137
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,209
592
261
137
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubl'escale restaurantretreat sectionretreat roomwine tastingleisure centreolder partnew wingthermal suitelake viewfamily breakbusy hotelbar foodtop classmain restaurantlovely hotelgolf course
Filter
Updating list...
2,152 - 2,157 of 2,282 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2009

Just back from a girlie weekend in the Hodson Bay Hotel, and it was fantastic.
Food in the restaurant was fab, the Spa was wonderful, rooms very very comfortable, we wanted to bring the beds home! .
Staff very helpful and attentive.
Reception recommended and booked an Italian restaurant for us in town for the Sat night, Di Bella…. Another wonderful meal.
Staff very helpful and attentive.
Taxi in and out of town €12.
Cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TillyAnn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you have since returned to make many more happy memories at Hodson Bay Hotel. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2009

Stayed with my boyfriend for a weekend in Nov08, we had a really good time once I got over the the shock of the difference between how the website makes the hotel look and how the hotel actually looks! I feel the hotel is way overpriced too because the rooms are a big disappointment.
The leisure centre is modern and really great, as is the Spa (I had a lovely treatment there and would recommend a visit) but the actual hotel is quite shabby and old fashioned.
I was in particular very disappointed with the size of the room (so tiny!) and the facilities in the room (the only toiletry was a Dove shower gel bolted to the wall, not enough towels and the hairdryer was circa 1965). The room we had was an upgrade to a "lake view" room but I wouldn't pay for this upgrade, the view is good but the window was a dormer and we had to stand to see out (although even if we could have enjoyed the view sitting down we wouldn't have been able to because there were no chairs in the room it was so small).
The restaurant's food was excellent, along with the leisure centre and spa, it was a highlight. The staff in the bar were friendly and the bar was lively both nights we were there. Breakfast was very good too.
As I said above we feel the website is misleading & that we were overcharged for what we got so that left a slightly sour taste however we did have a good weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KarrieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed and that steps have been made to improve our services. In the interim we have made vast changes to our facilities and are continually seeking to improve on our customer satisfaction. We do hope that, if you have not already done so, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Hodson Bay Hotel to see these changes for yourself. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2008

I attended a xmas party nite here on the 5th Dec. It was fantastic, they had Brendan Grace as the entertainment with a DJ afterwards. My room was first class, i stayed in the new wing of the Hotel for only €95 for the night, very reasonable in these recessionary times. The Staff were so helpful on the night and attentive to all our needs. I finally crawled up to the room at 2.50 for a luxorious nights sleep. Breakfast was a1 the following morning and i had a chance to discuss the night before with the rest of our party and all agreed Brendan Grace was hilarious.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Toolonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you have since returned to make many more happy memories at Hodson Bay Hotel. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2008

The Hodson has a good reputation and is a fairly large hotel. I stayed there recently with my wife. I had a number of problems. We didn't sleep that well given that there was a wedding on in the hotel and also there were kids running around the corridor. The first sign of trouble was at around 10.30pm on the Saturday night when about six pre-teen boys were running around the corridor and knocking on doors including our own. We had gone to bed at 10pm as we were very tired. The next incident was at 4.30am when drunken revellers again hammered on our door on their way to bed. I know there is nothing that can really done about this but it certainly coloured my view of the hotel if this is typical of their wedding guests. The bathroom was poor. The toilet handle was loose and the water pressure was weak. The hot tap of the sink had a mind of it's own and spat water out intermittently. The shower head wasn't a great standard either. We had carvery food in the Waterfront Bar on the Saturday night. It was extremely dear (€29 for the two of us including bottled water). However it was very tasty and the ambience of the bar itself was nice. The price of the beer was reasonable although I was short changed by the barman and had to ask him to correct his mistake. The breakfast on the day we were leaving in the Octogon restaurant was excellent - although the sausages were fairly tasteless. The views of Lough Ree from this room are lovely. We didn't eat in the restaurants at all so I cannot comment on the restaurant food. Finally, the bill for the two of us for one night in a double room came in at just under €200. It was pricey enough. The bedroom was nice apart from the bathroom. Overall, I won't be back here again at peak time as there are far too many people around making noise. I will come back off peak if I can get a good deal though

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BurstYourBubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed and that steps have been made to improve our services. In the interim we have made vast changes to our facilities and are continually seeking to improve on our customer satisfaction. We do hope that, if you have not already done so, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Hodson Bay Hotel to see these changes for yourself. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2008

We had booked a 3 night weekend stay in this hotel following some positive recommendations and also due to its location; overall we were very disappointed with the service provided esp. taking the cost into account.
Hotel facilities were good - nice gardens and location (on the waterfront) but parking was next to impossible due to the limited number of car spaces. The room met our needs with a very comfortable bed (high point of our stay) and a good large TV; however it was not cleaned to a good standard and the shower fluctuated from hot to cold every time it was used regardless of the time of day. Our room (610) looked out onto a tin roof - we didn't really mind this until the last night when it rained resulting in little to no sleep. The spa/leisure area looked well appointed and clean (though we didn't use it) however it was strange that little to no information on the spa treatments/prices were available in the hotel itself; i would have booked a treatment if information was available. Food served in the restaurant was very good, however we were not asked what sides we wanted/how we wanted our venison cooked until we reminded the waitress. We had booked a table for 8.30 but felt very much in the way as the staff cleaned up around us (they take bookings up to 9). The carvery also closes at 9 and the room service menu is very limited. So if you want to eat after 9 (which i don't think is too unreasonable) you don't have many choices.
However our main issue was on booking out - we had prepaid on the internet but were presented with a full bill on checking out for a different package (3 nights + 2 dinners) to the one we had booked. We finally got this resolved but only after needing to open our suitcases in reception to find our receipts/visa bill - surrounded by other guests waiting to check out. During this time (11am - checkout was up to 12) there was just one receptionist; in addition a manager passed on at one stage - saw that she was busy with us, saw the long queue and heard the non stop ringing phones but did nothing to help.
Overall i really think this hotel needs to review its customer service. I wouldn't return as I dont feel we got value for what we paid. I'd recommend it to older couples and young families (as those ages groups seemed quite happy during our stay) but not to anyone booking/prepaying on the internet or wanting to eat after 9.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mmmmica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed and that steps have been made to improve our services. In the interim we have made vast changes to our facilities and are continually seeking to improve on our customer satisfaction. We do hope that, if you have not already done so, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Hodson Bay Hotel to see these changes for yourself. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews