We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter break”
Review of Hodson Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hodson Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Just returned from three nights at the Hudson Bay Hotel - we stayed in a family room, two adults and two children. The room was located in the old part of the hotel; it was absolutely tiny - ordinary double room with one extra single bed and a camp bed. The room was also very dated and basic.
We ate in the restaurant every night - food was good, not superb! One thing that annoyed me slightly was all the woodwork in the 'front of house and restaurant' was being painted - Easter week?? Showed a considerable lack of planning.
Leisure centre was very nice, children really enjoyed it. Overall it was a pleasant stay, but as a family that likes our weekend breaks, there are better family hotels out there with decent size family rooms.
I would find it difficult to recommend this hotel to a friend looking for a family break - but two adults looking for a quiet weekend away, staying in the new part of the hotel, yes I probably would recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HodBay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2010

Dear Guest

It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay in the Hodson Bay Hotel. It is unfortunate that we did not speak before your departure to discuss your concerns. I would hope that some day you will afford us the opportunity to make amends for your regrettable experience. If you should decide to return I would be delighted if you would let us know, so I could make the necessary arrangements to ensure your stay is a most enjoyable one.

Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,032 - 2,038 of 2,228 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2010

Stayed in the Hodson Bay Recently,had a wonderful time.Recetionist gave us a beautiful room on the retreat side of the hotel.Spent the afternoon relaxing in their swimming pool

.Had an enjoyable meal in their dining room,found the food fabulous and our waitress very friendly. Couldn't believe how busy it was.

Unfortunately couldn't get into the spa,told was booked out.will book next time.Looking foward to going back in the summer

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cleops2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HodBay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2010

Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to put forward such positive feedback. I use feedback such as yours to help and encourage the team to perform consistently. It would have been a pleasure to have met with you before your departure so I could have the opportunity to thank you in person for your kind words. If you ever have the occasion to return, please make us aware so I can personally meet and welcome you back.

Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

went to hudson bay for reunion of adopted russian childern, stayed for ond night, service in restaurant was ok, there was a party of ten adults and five childerine under the age of four, we had booked the tables earlier so they new before hand that children would be joining us, they seted us at the very back of the restaurant, witch was fine because we did not want to disturb anyone cosy night out, but the staff complained about the kids all evining they had us all on egde the childern are all quite good considering the ages,the staff went around all night making faces at each other and at the kids, every time we looked at them they had there eyes uo to heaven , never felt so unwelcome in a hotel before. it could only happen in ireland, been to lots of hotels all over europe they love familys and go out of there way to welcome them. we will never stay in this hotel again, when we did check out they tried to over charge us by €82 never again

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peggy048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HodBay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2010

Dear Guest

It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay in the Hodson Bay Hotel. It is unfortunate that we did not speak before your departure to discuss your concerns. I would hope that some day you will afford us the opportunity to make amends for your regrettable experience. If you should decide to return I would be delighted if you would let us know, so I could make the necessary arrangements to ensure your stay is a most enjoyable one.

Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

Returned to the Hodosn Bay Hotel again. What can I say except that it was just delightful. We again stayed in the Retreat Section of the hotel and it was fabulous just like before.

From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty except for the gentlemen that checked us in was very unprofessional in my mind. He kept pon saying how he admired my girlfriends handbag. I thought this was very unusual and a bit strange.

We again dined in the hotel restaurant on both nights and had a truly wonderful time. The presentation of the food was first class and it was nice to see that we were served by the same staff as before. The Manager William and the waitress Sinead were both very friendly and welcoming.

Breakfast on oneof the mornings was in our room and we woke up to a delightful site as w had a full frontal view of the bay area. It was perfect. te nextmorning we dined in the restaurant and we had a great selection t choose from.

We also use the spa and were welcomed by Emer who treated us liek royalty from teh moment we entered the spa until we left. our treatments were devine and we both enjoyed them.

All I can say is that we will definetly be returning to this hotel and can't wait to do so.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galwayirishguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HodBay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2010

Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to put forward such positive feedback. I use feedback such as yours to help and encourage the team to perform consistently. It would have been a pleasure to have met with you before your departure so I could have the opportunity to thank you in person for your kind words. If you ever have the occasion to return, please make us aware so I can personally meet and welcome you back.

Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Myself and my husband stayed here for my birthday/valentines weekend! It was gorgeous!! We stayed in the suite on the retreat side all i can say is wow!!!! We had a gorgeous view of the bay from our room, it was stunning waking up Saturday morning to the sun shining on the water! We went to the spa on Saturday and Sunday! Saturday- we both got a hot stone massage and wow!!!! it was gorgeous! Went to our own private hot tub and we were served champagne, strawberries and melted chocolate devine!! The girls in the spa are so nice! well done girls for having such a nice relaxing spa with very nice staff!!
We were supposed to have a champagne breakfast on Sunday morning but as my husband was driving us home on Sunday we asked if we could have it Saturday morning instead, the guy at reception/ restaurant manger( i think) said "NO, the wedding asked for champagne at the last minute" It was one bottle in a hotel that size! I'm sure there was one hanging around the place somewhere! He could have delt with it a little better instead of being so rude! The girl at reception sorted it and we got our champagne! I know it sounds so petty it was just the response that threw us wasn't expecting it at all just as we checked in!! He was just having a bad day we understand that but no need to snap at paying guests.
The Bar staff were amazing, so friendly and chatty, making us cocktails and just being nice! And the food was gorgeous!!
We had a fantastic weekend the retreat side of the hotel is just amazing! If your staying here splash out and go for the suite, but make sure its on the retreat side. Its all bran new!
We had a very romantic weekend and would defo recommend it!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hels_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you have since returned to make many more happy memories at Hodson Bay Hotel. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

This ia a very very basic hotel. You may as well stay in a B&B. Now i was here for a wedding and because i was family i got the room at a good price, €59 per person sharing. But the room is only worth €50 a night and no more, not €118. Very basic. Free internet is a major plus though. The staff are fantastic and the food is really nice. But the best way to describe this hotel is to simply say ' it lacked that special touch'. I like a hotel to have a 'touch' about it and things here were just basic basic basic. If the prices came down (a lot) to match the basic style then yeah i would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawkeye38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed and that steps have been made to improve our services. In the interim we have made vast changes to our facilities and are continually seeking to improve on our customer satisfaction. We do hope that, if you have not already done so, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Hodson Bay Hotel to see these changes for yourself. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2010

just back from a 2 day B&B (+1D) at the Hodson Bay. We made u our minds at the last minute to book a late deal, and indeed we did ok at €129 pp. We were upgraded to a rom in the new part of the hotel.Room was great. Everything was looking like we had landed on our feet. Headed into the "Fine Dining Restaurant" on the first night which was part of the deal (€44 pp three course tbh menu), a little steep I thouht to myself, but hey were on a break. I had copped the "AA Rosette" award plates on the way in the door, and was really looking forward to a good meal. On a scale of 1-10, it rated a 3. This was not rosetted food, or the chef was either off or had left. Anyway, the staff were friendly, an when we were finally asked if we enjoyed our meal, it was nearly an hour later in the bar. The girl behind the bar was a professional and clearly knew her job, and indeed was appalled that we did not enjoy the food. In the end we put it down to "picked the wrong day to eat" The following morning we headed down for breakfast.....I really could not believe it. Pretty much inedible. On check out. it was ok ok ok i will pass it on. CHEERS

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy_Hayes, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We appreciate that it was made some time ago, however, as part of a revised social media policy we want to ensure that each and every comment is reviewed and that steps have been made to improve our services. In the interim we have made vast changes to our facilities and are continually seeking to improve on our customer satisfaction. We do hope that, if you have not already done so, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Hodson Bay Hotel to see these changes for yourself. If you would like to return some time in the near future I would be happy to arrange your stay so please don't hesitate to contact me at thayes@hodsonbayhotel.com

Kind Regards,

Tim Hayes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.8 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
2,006 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,131 reviews
3.7 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
3.7 mi away
The Prince of Wales Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodson Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodson Bay Hotel

Address: | Hodson Bay, Athlone N37 XR82, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#3 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Family Hotel in Athlone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range: £68 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hodson Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the gorgeous shores of Lough Ree and with 176 bedrooms, the 4-Star Hodson Bay Hotel is the premier choice for a divine relaxation getaway. With scenic lakeshore walks, championship golf courses and lake cruises on our doorstep, you’ll have a rich choice of enjoyable activities. For families, we have our fully supervised Penguin Kids Camp with fun and games to keep all our little VIPs entertained. Why not avail of our babysitting service and relax in our onsite spa? Or enjoy quality family time in our leisure centre complete with kiddies pool. 'Retreat at Hodson Bay’ is an area of the hotel which is exclusively for adults to ensure your stay is restful and that you are guaranteed peace and quiet to unwind in the beautifully-designed rooms. To revive and rejuvenate yourself, take advantage of our award-winning 'Spa at Hodson Bay'. Both of our restaurants offer mouth-watering local produce; and to end the day take a seat along our lakeview conservatory or enjoy our nightly in-house complimentary activities. The heart of the Midlands is a magical place, so treat yourself to a break in this picturesque setting and let our dedicated staff make your stay one to remember ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hodson Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodson Bay Athlone
Hotel Hodson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing