We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay - Excellent for Families”
Review of Hodson Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hodson Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Certificate of Excellence
Co Meath, Ireland
1 review
“Great Stay - Excellent for Families”
Reviewed 15 April 2010

Having recently returned from The Hodson Bay, I felt compelled to state my experience of the trip. I travelled with my husband and 2 small children over the Easter weekend. Overall it was a fantastic stay. The kids were really well catered for with a kiddies club running each morning and evening. Both my husband and I enjoyed the restaurant facilities whilst the kids were given their evening meal with their new friends in the club. The food in the main restaurant was really top quality. We tried the carvery food on the second evening, which I must admit was disappointing but then again it was bound to a letdown compared to the restaurant food. The pool facilities were also very welcoming from the children. It’s the first hotel I’ve visited in Ireland which completely understood and catered to the needs to families with small children. We found the stay truly relaxing and enjoyable. In fact, we wanted to extend our stay but unfortunately work commitments prevented us from doing so. We will definitely return as soon as possible!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nidy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HodBay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2010
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to put forward such positive feedback. I use feedback such as yours to help and encourage the team to perform consistently. It would have been a pleasure to have met with you before your departure so I could have the opportunity to thank you in person for your kind words. If you ever have the occasion to return, please make us aware so I can personally meet and welcome you back.

Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,102
    553
    248
    121
    75
See reviews for
737
691
29
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We just had our wedding at this venue 20th Mar, and had the most amazing time. The management and staff are so friendly and helpfull. We ate in the restaurant on the Friday and Sunday nights and the food and service were fab. The day of the wedding the food was just as good. Everything was run with presicion timming. The older rooms in the hotel were fine but on the two occasions we stayed we we're in the retreat side of the hotel. These rooms are lovely and have great views of the lake. All in all a great hotel for a luxury break, a break with the kids ( they have a kids club ) and one of the best venues in the country for a wedding.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dodge1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HodBay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2010
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to put forward such positive feedback. I use feedback such as yours to help and encourage the team to perform consistently. I am delighted that we could be a part of your special day. I look forward to welcoming you both back to the hotel for many years to come.

Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Friendly staff, kids club, brilliant restaurant, lovely swimming pool and relaxing spa - what more can you ask for! We had a great time as did our children aged 12, 11, 5 and 3 yrs.
The breakfast is extensive and superb, the kids club staff are really friendly and have a genuine affection for children, the restaurant has excellent food and friendly staff , I could go on and on. We had a great stay and the children loved it and want to return!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyrone-lassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HodBay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2010
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to put forward such positive feedback. I use feedback such as yours to help and encourage the team to perform consistently. It would have been a pleasure to have met with you before your departure so I could have the opportunity to thank you in person for your kind words. If you ever have the occasion to return, please make us aware so I can personally meet and welcome you back.


Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We stayed there for one night. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
The food and service were 1st class.
The rooms were clean with very comfortable beds.
Lovely setting, the sun on the Shannon when we looked out of the window in the morning was breathtaking
Unfortunately we didn't have time to use the pool etc. will definately be going back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wyandotte3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HodBay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2010
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to put forward such positive feedback. I use feedback such as yours to help and encourage the team to perform consistently. It would have been a pleasure to have met with you before your departure so I could have the opportunity to thank you in person for your kind words. If you ever have the occasion to return, please make us aware so I can personally meet and welcome you back.

Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Just returned from three nights at the Hudson Bay Hotel - we stayed in a family room, two adults and two children. The room was located in the old part of the hotel; it was absolutely tiny - ordinary double room with one extra single bed and a camp bed. The room was also very dated and basic.
We ate in the restaurant every night - food was good, not superb! One thing that annoyed me slightly was all the woodwork in the 'front of house and restaurant' was being painted - Easter week?? Showed a considerable lack of planning.
Leisure centre was very nice, children really enjoyed it. Overall it was a pleasant stay, but as a family that likes our weekend breaks, there are better family hotels out there with decent size family rooms.
I would find it difficult to recommend this hotel to a friend looking for a family break - but two adults looking for a quiet weekend away, staying in the new part of the hotel, yes I probably would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HodBay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2010
Dear Guest

It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay in the Hodson Bay Hotel. It is unfortunate that we did not speak before your departure to discuss your concerns. I would hope that some day you will afford us the opportunity to make amends for your regrettable experience. If you should decide to return I would be delighted if you would let us know, so I could make the necessary arrangements to ensure your stay is a most enjoyable one.

Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

Stayed in the Hodson Bay Recently,had a wonderful time.Recetionist gave us a beautiful room on the retreat side of the hotel.Spent the afternoon relaxing in their swimming pool

.Had an enjoyable meal in their dining room,found the food fabulous and our waitress very friendly. Couldn't believe how busy it was.

Unfortunately couldn't get into the spa,told was booked out.will book next time.Looking foward to going back in the summer

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleops2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HodBay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2010
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to put forward such positive feedback. I use feedback such as yours to help and encourage the team to perform consistently. It would have been a pleasure to have met with you before your departure so I could have the opportunity to thank you in person for your kind words. If you ever have the occasion to return, please make us aware so I can personally meet and welcome you back.

Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2010

went to hudson bay for reunion of adopted russian childern, stayed for ond night, service in restaurant was ok, there was a party of ten adults and five childerine under the age of four, we had booked the tables earlier so they new before hand that children would be joining us, they seted us at the very back of the restaurant, witch was fine because we did not want to disturb anyone cosy night out, but the staff complained about the kids all evining they had us all on egde the childern are all quite good considering the ages,the staff went around all night making faces at each other and at the kids, every time we looked at them they had there eyes uo to heaven , never felt so unwelcome in a hotel before. it could only happen in ireland, been to lots of hotels all over europe they love familys and go out of there way to welcome them. we will never stay in this hotel again, when we did check out they tried to over charge us by €82 never again

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peggy048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HodBay, General Manager at Hodson Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2010
Dear Guest

It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay in the Hodson Bay Hotel. It is unfortunate that we did not speak before your departure to discuss your concerns. I would hope that some day you will afford us the opportunity to make amends for your regrettable experience. If you should decide to return I would be delighted if you would let us know, so I could make the necessary arrangements to ensure your stay is a most enjoyable one.

Yours sincerely

Timothy Hayes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athlone hotels
3.8 mi away
Sheraton Athlone
Sheraton Athlone
#3 of 9 in Athlone
1,918 reviews
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Athlone
3.4 mi away
Athlone Springs Hotel
Athlone Springs Hotel
#9 of 9 in Athlone
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
4.2 mi away
Wineport Lodge
Wineport Lodge
#2 of 9 in Athlone
1,064 reviews
3.6 mi away
Shamrock Lodge Hotel Athlone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hodson Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hodson Bay Hotel

Property: Hodson Bay Hotel
Address: | Hodson Bay, Athlone N37 XR82, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Athlone
#3 Spa Hotel in Athlone
#4 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#4 Family Hotel in Athlone
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hodson Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the gorgeous shores of Lough Ree and with 176 bedrooms, the 4-Star Hodson Bay Hotel is the premier choice for a divine relaxation getaway. With scenic lakeshore walks, championship golf courses and lake cruises on our doorstep, you’ll have a rich choice of enjoyable activities. For families, we have our fully supervised Penguin Kids Camp with fun and games to keep all our little VIPs entertained. Why not avail of our babysitting service and relax in our onsite spa? Or enjoy quality family time in our leisure centre complete with kiddies pool. 'Retreat at Hodson Bay’ is an area of the hotel which is exclusively for adults to ensure your stay is restful and that you are guaranteed peace and quiet to unwind in the beautifully-designed rooms. To revive and rejuvenate yourself, take advantage of our award-winning 'Spa at Hodson Bay'. Both of our restaurants offer mouth-watering local produce; and to end the day take a seat along our lakeview conservatory or enjoy our nightly in-house complimentary activities. The heart of the Midlands is a magical place, so treat yourself to a break in this picturesque setting and let our dedicated staff make your stay one to remember ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hodson Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hodson Bay Athlone
Hotel Hodson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing